Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

5 Movies I Have Rewatched So Many Times

Click this button to read more post on my Top-5 list

This month’s top 5 is inspired by my fellow movie blogger, the successful Scott at Front Room Cinema. He had these mumbling posts which always have great idea to mumble. At first, I wanted to do top 3 TV Series but I have been discovering interesting British TV series lately, so I delay that top 5 because it might change after I saw those hilarious series. Scott’s mumble about To Rewatch or Not To Rewatch intrigued me to write this top 5.

I am a re-do person, meaning that I don’t mind re-watching movies or re-reading books up to the point that might turn people to boredom (I will do rereading post next month)…but not me. The reason is not because I want to explore the movie to get into more details…the reason is simply because I love the movies too damn much and I hardly find it boring even after viewing it for so many times.

This will be a list of 4 movies and 1 miniseries that almost feel like a series of movies.

Let’s begin🙂

 

#5 Terminator (1 and 2)

I do not own the movie but TV often rerun it and I always end up watching it when I have nothing to do. Those two movies (ignoring the other 2) are still as amazing as the first time I saw it. It’s like the movies were made nowadays instead of back then in the 80s and 90s.

 

#4 Spirited Away

I love everything about this animated movie by Ghibli. This is my first Ghibli and the reason why I adore Ghibli more than any other animation studios. The story is interesting and not guessable, although I have to admit that the story is VERY Japanese but I don’t mind at all. The art…ow my gosh, it is AMAZING, it is still the most amazing art I have seen in animated movie.

The language is also easy to follow (although not as easy as Ponyo), I even rip it to create an MP3 version of the movie and hear it so many times in my MP3 player like an eBook. Listening to it in MP3 treats my ear not only to the language but also to the beautiful back-sound.

 

#3 The Matrix

What can I say about Matrix?? Hmmm…let’s see, I have nothing to say but the fact that this is the best Sci-fi movie Hollywood ever created. I know many people will disagree with me but that is how I feel about Matrix. I was awed of how unpredictable it was when I first saw it…and now, I am still awed with the visual effect and of course the story.

As I have said it in my review, I practically remember all the conversation in this movie because I watch it too many times.

 

#2 Sherlock (BBC)

This is not a cinema movie, but we can still treat it as movie because each episode is 90 minutes (just like movies in cinema). When my friend lent me the downloaded file of Series 1, I was blown away of how great Benedict was as Sherlock. He was the most perfect Sherlock for me, exactly how I imagine him to be if he ever jumps out of the book.

Sherlock BBC is hilarious, serious and fun all the way…I watched the first series in 2011 and had probably rewatched it more than 5 times over the year, and to no one surprise, I have watched the second series (which was released in January 2012) 3 times and I will watch more in the few months to come.

Indonesia finally decides to release the original DVD soon…and I will buy it despite the fact I have seen it so many times (I only buy original DVD when I know I will watch it over and over again).

 

#1 Breakfast on Pluto

When Scott asked me my favorite rewatched movie, to my own surprise I immediately answer Breakfast on Pluto. Out of all Cillian’s movie, I love this one the most…the movie that turned me into a Cillianiac.

There are many things about Breakfast on Pluto that captivated me more than his other movies, he is brilliant there (which I still think as his best act so far), the supporting actors are believable, the soundtracks are amazing, and the story is fun and thoughtful at the same time.

I first saw it in 2010 and I think I have seen it more than 10 times since then…in fact, writing this makes me want to see it again😉

 

Honorable mention: Alien (all 4 of them), Ringu, 28 Days Later, Shaun of The Dead, The Lord of the Rings, and Die hard.

It’s your turn to share your favorite rewatch in the comment below :)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

28 comments on “5 Movies I Have Rewatched So Many Times

  1. Fariz
    February 23, 2012

    For me:
    1. The Shawshank Redemption. All-time personal favorite.
    2. The Silence of the Lambs. Hopkins and Foster’s performances were incredible, deserved to be watched multiple times. And in a highly entertaining movie too.
    3. Se7en. I love the atmosphere.
    4. The Social Network: For me one of the most brilliant movies ever.
    5. The Dark Knight.

    Actually, I believe there are a few more, but only these 5 I can think of right now.

    • Novroz
      February 23, 2012

      Thank you for sharing your list, Fariz.

      I love all the movies in your list (except for social network, I haven’t seen it yet) … but those are very serious movies and prefer rewatching fun movies than serious movies😉

      I rewatched them occasionally. Great list Fariz.

  2. TBM
    February 23, 2012

    1. Bringing up Baby–love Hepburn and Grant
    2. His Girl Friday–Grant and Russell are amazing in the film
    3. The Silence of the Lambs–my mom worried about me when I was a teen–I love this movie.
    4. Fight Club–Fincher’s best film in my opinion
    5. Cat on a Hot Tin Roof–Newman and Taylor were superb in this film

    There are many many more, but I followed the rules.

    • Novroz
      February 23, 2012

      Thank you for sharing your list TBM🙂
      In your list I have only seen Silence of The Lamb and I love that movie eventhough I have only seen it twice.

  3. Nekoneko
    February 23, 2012

    Mine are:
    1) “A Chinese Ghost Story” (1987) – One of my all time favorite films and probably the one most responsible for my current movie tastes.
    2) “The Mark of Zorro” (1940) – Tyrone Powers and Linda Darnell…. such a great romantic couple… in such a wonderfully swashbuckling movie.
    3) “The Adventures of Robin Hood” (1938) – Errol Flynn and Olivia DeHavilland… the greatest swashbuckler film ever made… period.
    4) “The Bride With White Hair” (1993) So much an amazingly romantic fairy tale romance…. with great martial arts and the saddest yet most romantic ending in any film I’ve ever seen….
    5) “Out of the Past” (1947) Robert Mitchum and Jane Greer. The best “Film Noir” I’ve ever seen. None can beat it….

    Weird that thereisn’t even a single horror movie in my top 5… but these are the ones I can always watch over… and over…. and over.😉

    • Novroz
      February 23, 2012

      It is indeed unusual Miyuki😉
      I was expecting at least one real horror movie or goofy horror here.

      I almost put Ringu in my list but then I remembered I have seen terminator more than ringu.

      Your list is great, you have such wide span of year. Thank you for sharing your list Miyuki🙂

      • Nekoneko
        February 24, 2012

        Hahaha!! I have such wide tastes thanks to all the oodles of movies I watched on TV when I was younger…. there used to be such amazing variety to choose from back then… not so much anymore. Now most all the channels show only the same recent movies….

        Sorry that I got my PHP “bold” coding all messed up on my comment too… that will teach me to be more careful when I type comments in the morning while I’m still a little asleep.😉

        • Novroz
          February 24, 2012

          Same here! even worse. The TV mostly showed movies that have been reran for a thousand times and meaningless Indonesian soap opera. I am this close to paying CableTV.

          Hahaha don’t worry, I will fix it when I publish my new post😉

  4. rtm
    February 23, 2012

    What?? 28 Days Later is only in Honorable Mentions? I’m shocked Nov😀

    Well for me I think the first thing that comes to mind is Sense & Sensibility, but I actually haven’t seen that in over a year. Right now I’ve been rewatching a lot of Gregory movies, ahah. Well let’s see, if I were to do a top five, it’ll probably be:

    – Sense & Sensibility
    – Batman Begins
    – Phantom of the Opera
    – Return to Me
    – Roman Holiday

    • Novroz
      February 23, 2012

      I like 28days later but not more than Breakfast on Pluto…you REALLY need to see that movie Ruth!! It’s a fun movie all the way.

      Honestly, I am suprised to see Batman Begins in your list, I have expected the other 4. Thank you for sharing your list Ruth

  5. le0pard13
    February 23, 2012

    I totally understand this passion for certain films, and the need to re-watch them. In fact, I did re-screen one of my faves this month: Christopher Nolan’s ‘The Prestige’. I won’t list them (way too many), but ‘The Matrix’ and ‘The Terminators’ you mention are on it. Fun post, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2012

      Ah you remind me that I need to see The Prestige too. I always forget that I want to see it whenever I go DVD hunting.

      Hehehe I also rewatch a lot of movies but these 5 are the most often ones. Glad to know Matrix and Terminator are also your fav rewatches🙂
      Thank you for sharing it Mike.

  6. Caroline
    February 23, 2012

    I have seen most of yours but haven’t rewatched them yet. The one I’m sure to rewatch is also Breakfast on Pluto. It’s soo good. Here are mine
    White Oleander
    Picnic at Hanging Rock
    Portrait of a Lady
    King Arthur
    The Fabulous Baker Boys
    That’s probably a list that will surprise you.🙂

    • TBM
      February 23, 2012

      Wow…I also love the Fabulous Baker Boys. I don’t know if I’ve met another person who knows and likes the movie that much. Cool! I haven’t seen it in a few years, I should add it to my list.

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2012

      I am so happy to hear that, Breakfast on Pluto really deserves second or third viewing🙂

      I haven’t seen any movies in your list. I will make sure to search for them, especially The Baker Boys since you and TBM seemed to enjoy it a lot.
      tHank you for sharing your list Caroline.

  7. Scott Lawlor
    February 23, 2012

    Brilliant post Novia, so cool to learn about your fave re-watches… Glad to see a bit of Cillian in there too!!

    Thanks for the link as well… very kind indeed

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2012

      Thank you Scott.
      Well…Cillian shows up in many lists I have written😉

      Ah…don’t mention it, you gave me the idea🙂

  8. Castor
    February 23, 2012

    Great idea for a post Novia! Mine are:
    – Training Day
    – Blackhawk Down
    – Wedding Crashers
    – Saving Private Ryan

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2012

      Ow dear…I forgot Saving Private Ryan, I should put that in my honorable mention soon.

      Thank you for sharing your list Cas. You know, I thought you have more serious movies than this😉

  9. Andina
    February 24, 2012

    Great topic, Novroz. The TV played Terminator so many times! But if you asked me my favorite re-watch, then…
    1. Jerry Maguire : Watched it since teenager when my sis obsessed about it. now it’s one of my fave movies ever
    2. 10 things I hate about you : a teen movie for teen me years ago, funny movie
    3. 500 days of summer : another from my fave
    4. Friends (TV series)
    5. How I Met Your Mother (TV Series)

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2012

      Thank you for sharing your list Andina.

      I know…in fact, too often!!
      You have 2 TV Series in your list, I love one of them which is FRIENDS (I forgot to put it in my honorable mention). I have been wondering about the second Series, my friend also likes it so much. I hope I can see it one day.

      • Andina
        February 26, 2012

        How I Met Your Mother is pretty funny, just like friends. I hope you do!

  10. kelly
    February 24, 2012

    The first three I have watched soooo many times as well😀

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2012

      Those three are timeless movies (well, all 5 of them for me😉 )
      Thank you Kel.

  11. Parlor of Horror
    February 27, 2012

    Terminator and The Matrix would be on my list, also.
    Prerequisite: There would probably be no Terminator if it wasn’t for ‘Westworld’. There would probably be no Matrix if it wasn’t for ‘Lawnmower Man’ and ‘Dark City’. If you haven’t seen these movies, you should check them out.

    • Novroz
      February 27, 2012

      Thank you so much for the recommendation, Michael. I never heard of those movies, I will make sure to search for them. Old movies are very difficult to find here.

  12. The Focused Filmographer
    February 29, 2012

    Great subject here Nov, and I love the fact that you can rewatch Terminator and The Matrix over and over again.

    For me, I can watch BIG, Shawshank Redemption, The Italian Job, National Treasure, and Batman Begins over and over again! oh, and Gladiator!

    • Novroz
      February 29, 2012

      Thank you T🙂

      Ow I would love to see Big again, it’s been such a long time. I love seeing young Tom Hanks.
      Thank you for sharing your list T.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2012 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads