Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Peaky Blinders Series 2 – An Opening Post

Peaky Blinders Logo

As I have written in my latest Murphy News, Peaky Blinder series 2 will start this year…well this month to be exact.

It was aired on October 2, but I didn’t have to watch it that soon because I was on Holiday. I have just watched few hours ago and I have to say that I am liking it so far.

Just like in series one, I am not going to write a review for each episode because that will give a lot of spoiler to such a great TV show. Writing second episode here only means I have to spoil episode one….I will have to hold myself till all 6 episodes already been aired.

The first episode of the second series started strong. We immediately see two major enemies of the Shelby. Let’s move back a bit. This second series takes place 2 years after the first one (10 reasons why you should watch peaky Blinders) where the Shelby business has grown. However, just like everything in life, the taller you become the harder the wind blow. Someone has been watching Thomas and wants him to work for him/her (not known yet) by force. On the other hand, Thomas wants to expand the family business to London. Some members of his family are against his decision but Thomas is still the controller of that small family gang. Despite his touching speech about the business being a modern company where women will be heard, he still proceeds regardless what the women plead.

New enemy

New enemy: don’t know much about them yet

We can also see that Thomas still has feeling for Grace. I am waiting for to show up tho not sure when. Apart from Grace, I am also waiting for Tom Hardy’s character. It’s going to be great seeing Cillian and Tom together again🙂

Overall, Peaky Blinder series 2 still centered on the Shelby, especially on Thomas…but like series one, Steven Knight manages to make it interesting and somehow feels like an all around series.

The series still maintains its other great quality like the cinematography, the color tone and the great music. However, I still think that Cillian’s accent is a bit off sometimes. Arthur (Paul Anderson) still has the best accent so far. I haven’t heard the Burmy accent yet but somehow Arthur sounds the thickest of all.

There are a lot of old faces but we also see some new faces (looking forward to that). one thing for sure, Cillian has stated that he would love to continue playing his character:

“I think the Beeb are cottoning on to the fact that this is something that needs to be supported and allowed to grow,” Murphy says. “That’s what the American networks do so well. Steve’s got this worked out up to the beginning of the Second World War, and I would love to keep playing this character until then.” (Radiotimes.com)

Dear Cillian, I will wait for the series…because of you and because of the story.

Cillian

Sam Neill returns as Chester Campbell and it seems that he has something up his sleeves, we don’t know what is it yet. Aunt Polly also has something she hides from the family and somehow I feel that the newest member of the family (John’s wife) will have more role in the family. Can’t wait to see more of them through the next 5 weeks.

Here’s the trailer:

If you live in England, do watch it every Thursday…if you live somewhere else, go find a way to watch it (like me).

The Shelby Brothers

The Shelby Brothers

Series Detail:

Writer: Steven Knight Cast: Cillian Murphy, Helen McCrory, Sam Neill, Paul Anderson, Joe Cole, Annabelle Wallis, Sophie Rundle

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

18 comments on “Peaky Blinders Series 2 – An Opening Post

  1. Genki Jason
    October 6, 2014

    Hmm, I still haven’t finished the first season despite starting it! I’ll have to watch it and catch up.

    • Novroz
      October 6, 2014

      Oh…how come? I like it even if there’s no Cillian in it (but of course Cillian makes it even better😉 )

  2. donna finney
    October 6, 2014

    Hi, I met Cillian on 20th October at the National Theatre after his performance of Ballyturk. He was lovely. Have a picture if you would like me to email it🙂

  3. Binky
    October 10, 2014

    I just heard of this show the other day, and I’ve got to say Peaky Blinders is one of the weirdest titles I’ve ever heard.

    • Novroz
      October 10, 2014

      The title is based on the Shelby’ sew razor blades in the peaks of their caps, they used that to harm their enemy during fight.

      • Binky
        October 11, 2014

        Okay thanks, I had no idea!

  4. ruth
    October 11, 2014

    This series is now on Netflix streaming! How violent is this Nov? I’m curious to check it out but w/ gangsters usually it’s pretty brutal. Still though, I might still watch it w/ Cillian and Tom Hardy in it!😀

    • Novroz
      October 11, 2014

      In my opinion, it’s not violent at all. There are some scene because it is about gangsters after all…but it’s not the main thing, it relies more on the story

  5. Alice Audrey
    October 11, 2014

    I can tell the writing is incredibly tight just from the way you have to works so hard not to spoil it.

    • Novroz
      October 13, 2014

      It’s not about tight or not but the beginning of the new episode means a spoiler for the previous episode

      • Alice Audrey
        October 17, 2014

        But a lot of TV shows don’t have much problem with that.

  6. TBM
    October 17, 2014

    I finally watched series one and really enjoyed it. And the Nick cave music was fab. Haven’t started season two yet, but I have been recording them.

    • Novroz
      October 18, 2014

      Yaaaiiii…I am glad you like it🙂
      I haven’t seen it all yet, only the first epsiode. I am waiting for it to finish then watch them all in one go.

  7. Caroline
    October 18, 2014

    I missed when it was on TV but I prefer to watch series when they are finished. I’m looking forward to it.🙂

    • Novroz
      October 20, 2014

      Me too! because I can watch them nonstop😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2014 by in Cillian Murphy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads