12 Years of Love: How L’Arc~en~Ciel (ラルク アン シエル) remains as the best band in my heart for the past 12 years

Happy 12th Anniversary to me 🙂

12 years!!! WOW!! This is by far the longest time I have ever been obsessed with something…12 years and still going strong.

I don’t remember when was the exact date and month when I started loving Laruku more than any band ever exist on earth…but I do remember the year clearly, it was 2001.

I have been in love with Tokusatsu and Anime since I was in elementary school, and then I found Dorama in Junior High…however, I still haven’t heard Japanese Music apart from Anime and Dorama soundtrack. One day, I went to a kind of Japan entertainment convention and saw a poster of Japanese band. Even though I haven’t learned Japanese at that time but I knew enough that Japanese people can’t pronounce foreign language without changing it into Japanese kind of pronunciation. At that time, I was sort of mocking at the poster, I said “Japanese!! They can’t even say that word and they chose that word for their band’s name”. But somehow the name stuck in my head even though I myself didn’t know how to pronounce L’Arc~en~Ciel.

Few weeks later…I saw a video on MTV and I straight away remember that strange name “hey…this is the band with that difficult name!!” and I remembered thinking “They have good tune, I quite like it.” The video was Stay Away and this video is one of my top 5 favorite video by L’Arc~en~Ciel.


…and then, when I was watching Samurai X, I heard one of its closing theme songs and I -who had only listen to Hyde’s voice once- recognized the voice even before the name of the song and the band were shown. Hyde has beautiful voice that can easily be recognized. The song was The Fourth Avenue Café.

Even after finding those 2 songs, I was still not intrigued to find out about the band…but the name still stuck in my head along with Hyde’s beautiful voice.

The love kicked in when I saw Ring-0: The Birthday. The soundtrack at the end of the movie completely mesmerized me like no song ever did. It fitted the movie perfectly with its eerie and mysterious feeling. The violin and the way the vocalist sang the song was perfect. As the song went on, I recognized the voice… “Oh My God, I think this is the band with that difficult name!!” The song was beautiful in its own way…everything about the song was (and still is) perfect. I thought, at that time, how can a song be so mysterious and beautiful at the same time? It was so new for me…me who had listened to quite a lot of bands was hypnotized by the song. The song was called Finale and it sipped into my heart so deep and created one huge love room for the band that soon would become the ONLY band I listen to every day for the past 12 years.

Maybe some people would say…what? This song is beautiful? You’ve got to be kidding me!! Well, all I can only say that love is blind.

After falling deeply in love with Finale, I started looking for their album…but I was out of luck. I went to an internet rental and asked the owner to download some songs by L’Arc~en~Ciel. The man found 15 tracks, he said it was difficult to find their songs…and I loved ALL 15 songs he had found for me. The songs were:

  1. Honey
  2. White Feather
  3. Butterfly Sleep
  4. Driver’s High
  5. Perfect Blue
  6. As If In a dream
  7. Spirit Dream Inside
  8. Blurry Eyes
  9. Stay Away
  10. Anata
  11. Natsu no Yuutsu
  12. Shi no Hai
  13. Wind of Gold
  14. Flower
  15. Snow Drop

Those 15 songs completed the love I have toward Laruku An Shieru – ラルク アン シエル (how the Japanese pronounces L’Arc~en~Ciel)

I finally found a place that sold Laruku’s pirate stuffs…I bought as many pirate VCDs and CDs the minute I found that place. And then I learned that they also sell original stuffs by order. So I promised myself to change all the pirate stuffs into original ones as time goes.

My first Original DVD (Japan version) was Shibuya 7 Days and it cost a lot!! After that, I only bought Overseas Version which was half the Japanese version…BUT all the CDs that were released after 2003 are Japanese Version. They cost more than the Japanese version but I feel more satisfaction owning Japanese Version CDs than the overseas ones. Now that Laruku has gained more attention in my country, Sony Indonesia has kindly released Indonesian version DVDs … yaaaiii \(^_^)/ they are less expensive. And Sony has also become nice by not changing the CDs anymore. I remembered buying the Japanese version of AWAKE (their 10th album), it looked so nice and beautiful but the Indonesian version was so flat. All My Laruku’s Collection can be read here> A Collection of Love.

Time seemed to lose its power on the love I have toward Laruku because it has been 12 years now and I still love them as much as I was in 2001…even more after I saw them LIVE.

I know that the main reason why I – then, now and most likely forever – love them is because they keep changing their music style without loosing their signature sound…they evolve but they are still who they are. Their music is theirs and they haven’t made bad songs. I love ALL their songs and that’s why I can’t make top 5 or 10 or even 100 out of their songs.

I am a proud L’Arc-addict!!!

I will wait for their return to Indonesia…I miss them so much and can’t wait to sing along with them again. Their concert is the best Live I have ever seen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

List of ALL my posts about L’Arc~en~Ciel> here

29 thoughts on “12 Years of Love: How L’Arc~en~Ciel (ラルク アン シエル) remains as the best band in my heart for the past 12 years

  1. I keep smiling everytime you said “the band with that difficult name”. My reaction is similar with you: why, why using this French word? What’s wrong with Niji? Well, I called you, pelangi then. The first time I like this band is when I heard ‘Ready Steady Go’ (OST Fullmetal Alchemist) and from there I discovered Honey, Stay, and lots of Hyde’s solo (oh, he has such nice voice).

    1. I think it’s a fortunate thing that they use French word because I might not remembered them if they used Japanese word 😉

      Although I love Hyde’s voice but my fav member is always Yukihiro ❤

      I didn't follow Hyde's vamps, only his solo. I heard that Vamps is going to do a world tour, I hope they'll come to Jakarta….I just want to see Hyde even though I dont know any vamps songs

  2. The only place I’ve ever heard of them is on your blogs. To me,the music sounds somewhat like some band from the 1970’s. but I don’t know who. Sort of a classic rock feel to it.

    1. Hahaha…no surprise there 😉 but they gain more popularity as time goes. They held a concert last year on Madison Square Garden…but the audience was nothing compared to Indonesian audience 😉

      I also think they have a classic rock sound, I always like classic rock more than modern ones, however they evolve and start putting modern sound lately (of course without diminishing their style)

  3. Hey. it’s been a while since you did a Laruku post. I really like hearing how you got into them in the first place. I mean, you mentioned in passing, but I didn’t really see the progression before.

    Isn’t that last video the one you are in? I tried to spot you in the crowd, but couldn’t tell for sure.

    1. I know 🙂
      There’s so many to write and They sort of forgotten (in my blog not in my ears or heart)…I will try to review concerts and albums I haven’t reviewed in the next months.

      Yup 🙂 that’s the one! ah….the video has just been deleted 😦
      I was somewhere in minute 2.

  4. Oh my!! That’s got to be a record Nov! I thought I’ve been such a longtime fan of GB but clearly that’s not the case any more ahah.

    1. I am a loyal fans 🙂
      I know it will be the same with Cillian and The Mighty Boosh…but even so they can’t replace L’Arc~en~Ciel. Love them more than all my entertainment idols 🙂

  5. I like Finale, just listened to it here. Very nice.
    I can’t remember, did you ever mention why they chose to give their band a French name?
    I have a few bands I’ve been listening to for quite a while but not with the same passion.

    1. Yaaaiii…that song has such a big impact on me.

      I read about it long time ago and a bit vague now, if I am not mistaken…Tetchan chose the name because he wanted a French name. I need to read that again tho…not quite so sure.

      To be honest, I also listen many bands for years, like The Beatles etc, but none with the same passion toward Laruku….I am not saying they are better tham The Beatles but I love them more.

  6. Hi, congratulations on your 12 years. I’m their fan only for 1,5 years and I used to comment on your blog a lot (maybe you are not remember ^^). But then I had many things to do and I can’t check blog regularly as well as don’t find information about them as much as previous time. But one thing remain, I still watch their show with passion, excitement and listen to their music with joy. I agree with you one thing ” Laruku is not the best band in the world but it is the best in my heart”. Forever, it never changes.
    God bless us, Laruku fan !

    1. Hi Darc…hisashiburi 🙂
      I do remember you, I remember most of my fellow Laruku fans.
      I try to keep up with their news through their twitter and facebook…otherwise I wouldn’t knoe anything as I also don’t have a lot of time browsing around.

      May you love Laruku as long as I have been 🙂 I doubt other band can replace them in my heart.

  7. Happy 12th L’Arc birthday Novia! 12 years and still counting… going stronger and getting even more exciting! Congratulations! Surely on the next world tour they would not forget Indonesia.
    xoxo

    1. Thank you Kathleen 🙂
      Yup….12 years and going strong!! I am pretty sure they will not forget Indonesia on their next tour 😉
      I heard rumours that VAMPS is going to hold a world tour, I hope they will stop by in Jakarta too. Not a fan of VAMPS (I hardly even know their songs) but I love to see Hyde again (I don’t care about KAZ at all)

      1. Yeah, also heard about VAMPS’ world tour and also hoping they’d consider Philippines. Not also a huge fan of vamps, though I like some of their songs.

        1. I have only heard three songs and I think they are too American, I mean they sound similar to most American bands. I like my Japanese band to stay Japanese 😉 (and my American bands to stay American)

  8. Hello! This is the first time I tripped over your blog through a friend, and I just celebrated my 10th year with L’Arc. 🙂 I’m Filipino and I traveled to Bangkok to watch them and I celebrated my 1st L’Anniversary of seeing them live. I’ve seen the Indonesian footage of My Heart Draws A Dream and I was near tears at that song and I wished I went to Indonesia instead. Happy anniversary fellow Cieler! 😀

    1. Hello Yukkie 🙂
      10 years? that’s as long as I am … love to meet another long timer 🙂
      Some of my friends also went to Bangkok and they were a bit worried that the show in Jakarta would be bad…but they got a great surprised and said it was much better than Bangkok, they were worried for nothing.
      However, the queuing up was WAY better in Bangkok than Jakarta!!

      Do come here the next time they have another world tour….but I hope they will also come to Philippine 🙂

      Happy anniversary to you to ((hug))

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)