Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mount Cikurai Part 2 – Where The Love Begins

This is a VERY VERY Late post. This hike happened back in 14-16 August 2015. Even though it’s really late but I still have to write it because it has a love story behind it😉

I once wrote this in my Instagram:

We met on a mountain, we tried to know each other more on a mountain and we went to mountains for our honeymoon trip…hopefully, we will go to many more mountains as we grow old together

This mountain is the mountain when we tried to get to know each other better. BUT..this is still going to be another hiking post not a love post😉

Early August 2015, I was supposed to have long weekend (From 14 to 17) so I asked a friend to go to Mount Lawu in Central Java…but suddenly the holiday was changed, I had to come to school on August 17. We moved the trip to a closer mountain, Mount Cikurai in West Java. I was the one who proposed it and because I had gone there (Back in  July 2014) so I asked my friend to take me through a different route. In 2014, I took Pemancar Route, in 2015 I went through Bayombong.

This friend of mine is actually my future husband. We met on my trip to Mount Rinjani (back in December 2015)…he was one of the committees who held the event. I had no feeling at all toward him, I didn’t even remember him back then. But somehow we kept in touch through whatsapp. Long story short, we got to know each other better little by little. I knew how I felt about him but I didn’t know how he felt about me, that’s why I asked him to Mount Cikurai (mountain can really help someone knows others better). He immediately said yes. I didn’t want to go just the two of us, so I asked my fellow coworker to go along. Fortunately he said yes…so one woman two men, a very small group.

Onoy (my coworker) and I relied so much on him because he was the one who knew the way to Mount Cikurai through Bayombong. We arrived at Garut around 5 am and began our hike around 9 am. I never expected that the trek will be so dry. I knew it was dry season but my God it was incredibly dry!

The trek began with people’s vegetable gardens. It was a sad view, because the mountain had been cut down to be used as the garden. It made the mountain drier than it supposed to be.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The trek was more sand and dust than soil. We had to use masker because it was so hard to breathe. I was (and still am) not used to wearing masker because the breathing became harder but without masker it was also impossible to breath.

Before we reached the forest, we met two men from Bekasi. Our small group of three had become a group of 5. When we reached the Forrest, I was expecting it to be less dry…BUT I was so wrong!! The trek was still as dry as before the forest, at least it was not as hot as before because of the trees.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The best thing about hiking through Bayombong was the peace. Most people went through Pemancar and that made that route became extremely crowded and felt more like market than hiking trek. Through Bayombong, we hardly met people going up. We only met two groups going down. We could easily rest on the trek without worrying that other people would pass through the trek. We could even slept for a bit without anyone bothering us. It was such a peaceful walk.

8 hours later, we reached the top of the mountain. I thought we were going to camp before reaching the summit, but my future husband led us all the way to the top. It was so crowded there, it took time to find spot to set our tents. We found the spot though it wasn’t a very comfortable spot.

our tents

our tents

In 2015, I got to see the sunrise…in 2016, I got to see the sunset🙂 It was as lovely as the sunrise.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hiking during dry season was MUCH colder than during rainy season. It was freezing up there. The wind and the temperature were collaborating to create such coldness. The jacket didn’t seem to work much.

My coworker slept early while me and the man I was trying to get to know better chatted all night long😉

In the morning, I didn’t go to see the sunrise because it was so crowded and it was freezing! I went to see the view after it got less crowded and the view was still stunning. I just couldn’t get enough seeing the contour of my country…mountains everywhere. I couldn’t stay long without covering my nose…the dust was too much to handle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Somewhere around 9 to 10 am, we started packing and ready to head down. We used the pemancar route to go down and as expected, it was amazingly crowded. At some point, we had to queue just to pass the trek. It was 180 degrees different to Bayombong route. It was, however, as dry as Bayombong Route.

We reached Pemancar around 12 O’Clock.

While waiting for the people going up, I took some shots just to show you how dry it was there.

My sock had turned from white to brown.

DSC05660

We reached the bus station very early. We were already on our way home before dusk. It was another memorable hiking moment🙂

In the love story part, we felt that both parties felt the same and we started dating a week after that😉

We got married on December, and that would be another post to share😉

I will close it with this pic, the only picture of me and my future husband (the banner belongs to our additional company from Bekasi)

ac93ca00-1d78-4c1b-94d3-312aa3634440

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “Mount Cikurai Part 2 – Where The Love Begins

  1. nadiafriza
    June 21, 2016

    Mbaak you finally write again🙂

    I think it’s scarier to hike in a small group than big group, but you made it all the way to top!🙂

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2016

      School’s holiday has started🙂
      I got 4 weeks to write between house-chores😉

      I though it was scary but it turned out it wasn’t that scary. After I got married, the group becomes smaller…it’s just the two of us now. You should try it once, it’s fun🙂

  2. Binky
    June 23, 2016

    It seems very fitting that you would find the person you love while doing the thing you love, mountain hiking.

    • Novroz
      June 29, 2016

      It does seem fitting…but I actually never guess it. It just happens

  3. Alice Audrey
    July 3, 2016

    So basically you were busy falling in love while as was busy wandering around all over Indonesia. Still, I wish we could have waved at one another as i went by.

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2016

      I guess so😉

      I wish for that too. Meeting a friend from so far is so fun. I once met Ruth (@flixchatter) and we chatted like we were old friends. I wish we had time to chat while you were here

  4. dhitzunako
    August 15, 2016

    Gyaa, congratulations on your marriage (ya, I knew I’m late reading this, sorry T.T).
    Good luck to all of you and your family future plans.🙂

    • Novroz
      August 15, 2016

      Thank you🙂

      Hahaha don’t worry…I am also late in posting anything😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads