Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

13 Movies and TV-Series I watched Lately

It’s time for my movie and TV-series review 🙂

I haven’t been doing this in months and there are just too many movies and TV-Series to reviewed, so I will just do a VERY short review, I only share my thought on the movies/TVSeries. I will give links to a better review to each one of those movies.

#1 The Delivery man

Delivery-Man-poster-featuredTo my surprise, I really like this movie. I am not much of Vince Vaughn fan…in fact I don’t really think he is funny or a good actor. The story was also a bit far-fetched, a man with hundreds of children to his countless donation to sperm bank. But I really like the family feeling of this movie. It really was a nice family movie that shows how children could change even the most unorganized man.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 3 stars

#2 Fatal Frame

fatal-frame-movie-sliderI played the game once and it was quite scary…so when I heard that it will made into live action, I felt like I have to watch it. Unfortunately, I didn’t think it was that good…in fact it was a bit weird. It’s not really a horror movie, more like a thriller. It was interesting but not something to look forward for, in my opinion.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 2 stars

#3 Sherlock – The Abominable Bride

sherlockI am disappointed with this one. The story felt a bit ALL OVER THE PLACE…it’s like Moffat didn’t really know which direction he wanted the movie to be.

To be honest, I am beginning to feel tired with the way Moffat wrote the story. In fact, in the last series (series 3) my favorite episode was The Sign of Three, the story was written by 3 writers not only Moffat.

I really really really wish that series 4 will be as interesting as series 1 again…a focused story.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 2 stars

#4 Doctor Who Series 9

BBCDW_2SHT_NY_gm01.inddHere’s another ALL OVER THE PLACE story by Moffat. I miss the way Russel T Davies wrote the story…they were simple and memorable. Don’t get me wrong, I love complex stories BUT not as a continuum…some complex stories will be great but too much makes it feel like we lost the sense of the story.

Sorry for all Moffat fans…but I feel like Doctor Who needs a new writer that can make it memorable again. I don’t even remember a single episode from this series.

I will still watch Doctor Who because I love the series (and I also love Peter Capaldi’s Doctor) but a fresh air will be great.

Episode: 12
Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 2 stars

#5 Samurai Sensei

Samurai senseiYeaa…a TV Series with my favorite actors: Kamiki Ryunosuke and Nishikido Ryo << my firts reaction when I heard about the series.

Too bad for Ryo, Kamiki really outshone him even though Ryo was the lead.

It was a fun and entertaining drama but I feel like the ending was a bit weak. I enjoy the bit of history in the series. If you wonder what the story is, it’s about two samurai who accidentally travel through time to present day.

Episode: 8
Trailer: none
Review: here
Rating: 2,5 stars

#6 The Bletchey Circle Series 1

the_bletchley_circle_tv_series-820627336-largeI forgot where I first read the review, it was somewhere in my friend’s blog. It immediately intrigued me. The story is about four former code breakers at Bletchey Park who had become normal people, housewives and workers. One of them asked her friends to help stop a serial killer by using the pattern that he did when killing the victims.

It was very interesting and I like how the show was mostly about smart women. Love it and really want to see series 2.

Episode: 3
Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 4 stars

#7 Fawlty Tower Series 1 and 2

fawlty_2745808aSomeone told me about this series (I forgot who) after knowing that I enjoyed Monty Phyton. The series was so old and the joke was actually a bit out of date and predictable…however the delivery was so good that it still made me laugh so loud. I really think that this is the kind of comedy that will last no matter which year you watch it.

Episode: 12
Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 3,5 stars

#8 Hotel Transylvania

onesheetI borrowed the DVD from school to fill my holiday. To be honest I never feel interested with this one…but the DVD was there.

For me, there’s nothing special about the animation. Too simple and nothing really new that can impress me. It was just okay and I don’t think I will see it again in the future.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 1,5 stars

 

 

#9 Kaguya Hime Monogatari

Studio Ghibli_Kaguya-hime no Monogatari_03NOW!! This is how an animation should be!

The drawing was awesome, the color was beautiful, the story was heart-warming.

It’s another version of the famous Japanese Folk-tale about a princess found inside a bamboo. She belongs to the people in the moon. The message that I got from the movie was that wealth and the live the rich people don’t always make someone happy…freedom was the one that can keep someone happy.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 5 stars

#10 Exodus – God and King

movies-exodus-gods-and-kings-poster-01My husband loves war and colossal movies. I watched this because of him plus I also like Christian bale. the story was about Moses but told in a different way…but I don’t know which version it is. It’s not Qu’ran version and I don’t think it’s also bible version ( but I never read bible so I might be wrong there).

I enjoyed it but not that much.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 2,5 stars

#11 Starwars – the Force Awaken

star-wars-force-awakens-character-postersThis is awesome!! Finally the Starwars I love had returned!!

I never finished the last trilogy because they were so boring and not up to the old trilogy. I Love the old trilogy so much but I dislike the new trilogy. I wasn’t sure whether I will like this new Starwars or not because of that latest trilogy…but I am soooo happy that I love this one. It felt like it had returned to its root…no more boring story. I can’t wait to see the next one 🙂

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 4 stars

#12 The Possession

the-possessionI never seen the trailer but one of my friends own the DVD so I decided to watch it because the poster was interesting. I am glad to say I like it (I would have liked it more if the ending was not typical American horror movies – a happy ending). What I like the most about this movie is I finally got to see Jewish exorcism. I have seen the Christian and the Muslim ones.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 3 stars

#13 Django Unchained

pic_1561903Although the movie was full of violence but I really like the story. I like the friendship between Django and the Doctor….and I am always a sucker for good friendship movie.

Trailer: here
Review: here
Rating: 4 stars

 

Happy Thursday thirteen everyone 🙂
You can check other Thursday 13 > here

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 comments on “13 Movies and TV-Series I watched Lately

  1. Ben
    June 30, 2016

    You’ll be pleased to know that Doctor Who is getting a new writer. I agree, Moffat’s last season was all over the place!

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      #HighFive
      So nice to know that someone else is thinking the same think about Doctor Who, I thought I was the only one because other reviews seemed to like it

  2. sidekickreviews
    June 30, 2016

    I see you finally watched Kaguya! I love that movie and the drawings are amazing. Definitely agree with the five stars!

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      I am on my holiday, so I got a chance to watch a lot of movies 😉

      I like how Ghibli tries new things like that. The drawing fits the story so much

  3. Rissaid
    June 30, 2016

    Aaak saya jd pgen bgt nmr 9+12, 13 juga setuju, bagus!

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      Princess Kaguya itu a must watch banget!!!
      Well, semua Ghibli sih menurut saya must watch 😉

      • Rissaid
        July 2, 2016

        Couldn’t agree more, Gibli! Spirited Away udah liat? Bagussss! 😀

        • Novroz
          July 2, 2016

          Wah itu sih film animasi favorit sepanjang masa 🙂

  4. kezzela
    June 30, 2016

    I watch all PBS adore them

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      I think some of the good British series is in PBS…but maybe I am wrong, not quite sure

  5. Alice Audrey
    June 30, 2016

    It’s been ages since I watched Fawlty Towers. I was also guided to it after laughing through a few Monty Python episodes.

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      It was originally aired in 1975…I wasn’t even born yet. No wonder you saw it ages ago.

      • Alice Audrey
        July 3, 2016

        Yep. I’m that old, though I didn’t see it until reruns.

        • Novroz
          July 8, 2016

          I will never see a rerun of this series in my Local TV. British show isn’t a favorite show in my country

          • Alice Audrey
            September 29, 2016

            I’m always amazed at just how much from around the world you manage to see. You have broadened my horizons.

          • Novroz
            September 30, 2016

            Thank you Audrey 🙂

            For me, wherever the movie/series come from is not important, how good the story is what important to me

  6. w0rdtrix
    July 1, 2016

    Had to scroll all the way down to number eleven before I found one I’d actually seen — and it’s the only one on your list. My T13

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      I guess you’re not much of a movie lover 😉

  7. CountryDew
    July 2, 2016

    The only one I’ve seen is Star Wars: The Force Awakens. I agree, it was a return to the original, though maybe a tad Disney-fied. But I enjoyed it.

    • Novroz
      July 2, 2016

      I agree…but I can look passed the Disney-ish thing because it was really good and fun

  8. Binky
    July 5, 2016

    Fawlty Towers is one of my favorites (I may have told you about it, I don’t remember).

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2016

      Ah yes…maybe it was you who told me. I only remember someone told me but I forgot who told me

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,524 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads