Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

A Trip To Lombok – A 50 Hour Ride

It’s time to write about my latest trip. I have to do this as fast as I can because another trip is waiting😉

I have mentioned it in my earlier post (here) that I have a long trip to Mount Rinjani in the Island of Lombok. The long trip is because of the bus ride. My trip to Mount Rinjani was called Jabaloka (I forgot to ask what it means, I think it’s Jakarta – Bali – Lombok), it was hosted Thoge Reog and Jarank Pulang. It was a cheap trip. Jakarta to Lombok is very far and the cost we had to pay for the trip was only around $120. The reason for the low price was because we rode all the way from Jakarta to Lombok. There were about 110 people joining the trip.

Jkt-LombokAccording to google, the distance between Jakarta to Lombok (by plane) is 1,100 kilometer, but since we were using bus, the distance became much longer.

In December 23, 2014; we gathered at Gambir Station. It was 11 pm when everyone finally showed up.  The rented buses came passed midnight (this is a way to hire a bus as efficient as possible😉 ). We left the station around 2 am…so basically we started our ride on December 24. We did nothing but sleeping. I felt a bit annoyed that the driver played music so loud. At that time, we were all so sleepy so we could ignored the loud music and I also thought that that was the way for the driver to stay awake…unfortunately the loud music continued throughout the ride😦

In front of the bus

In front of the bus

Nothing much to tell about the ride. I sat with two people, Azalea and Kiki and all we did was talking for a while and mostly sleeping.

I took a picture on our last stop on Java Island.

Jpeg

We reached Ketapang Harbour at noon on December 25. We had to cross the sea to get to the island of Bali. At Ketapang Harbour, we saw people swimming near the boat asking for us to throw them some money. They would dive to catch the money. You could also see these kind of people in Merak Harbour (on the west side of Java island). We also saw them at Gilimanuk Harbour (Bali). It was a dangerous way to make money but it’s difficult to stop those people.

JpegIt took about an hour to cross the Bali strait.

Jpeg

Jpeg

Jpeg

We crossed Bali without stopping, except for eating. I actually would love to take some pictures because all the houses in Bali has one similarity, each house has a small temple on the left side of the house.

We reached Padang Bai Harbour at night. We had to take another ship to cross the Lombok strait. Unlike crossing Bali strait, it took more than 5 hours to cross Lombok strait. it was late night and 5 hours felt ages when we had nothing to do. A friend I met in this trip and I shared money to rent a bed. Unfortunately there were almost no space left on the ship, so we put our bed on the side of the ship. We weren’t sure we could sleep because of the wind and people were constantly walking near us. BUT, tiredness beat all of those. We slept through the night.

This is where we slept.

This is where we slept.

When we reached the island of Bali, the view was not stunning at all…fortunately, reaching the island of Lombok was breathtaking. I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the beautiful island and the awesome morning sky above the island.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are my favorite pics of the island

Jpeg

Jpeg

We got off the ship around 6 am on December 26.

We continued the ride to reach Mount Rinjani. We reached Senaru (the foot of Mount Rinjani) at midday. We where welcomed by drizzle.

We stayed at Pak Saat base camp. We all needed to repack our bags. My group consisted of 2 boys and 2 women. The boys carried our tent and logistic.

The plan was to hike from Sembalun and got down from Senaru, that’s why we left our buses in Senaru.

Copyright: Lombok Eco Tour

Copyright: Lombok Eco Tour

We rode on a pickup truck to go to Sembalun. There were 13 people in each truck. I took a chance to have a picture of the mountain that we would soon climb. Mount Rinjani looked menacing from a distance.

Jpeg

We started our hiking somewhere around 4 pm. We knew for sure that we would reached our first camping ground at night. We were so late, in the itinerary we should have started hiking in the morning but in reality we started this late. At least it wasn’t raining.Jpeg

Jpeg

My first time carrying bag this heavy

That’s all for now, I will continue it soon🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “A Trip To Lombok – A 50 Hour Ride

  1. Bikramjit
    January 10, 2015

    Wowowow beautiful pictures .. you had fun

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2015

      Thank you Bik🙂
      I had wonderful time

  2. Nekoneko
    January 10, 2015

    Ooooh! Such a long journey just to get to the hike! Novia, you are becoming such a seasoned traveller to have your adventures. I am more than a little jealous!!😉

    It all looks so pretty there… and you carry so much stuff… did you get to do any overnight camping while you made this trek?

    I know… I know… I’ll just have to wait to find out,🙂

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2015

      I know😦
      It was great ride, at least I got a chance to see the island from the sea.

      Seasoned traveler…I would love to be more than seasoned one. I am planning to have another hike in the end of this month😉

      Hahaha…indeed, you will have to wait, my trip to Rinjani is going to be a long story to share

  3. Binky
    January 10, 2015

    An interesting start to your adventure! You too some very nice pictures, Novia.

    • Binky
      January 10, 2015

      That was supposed to be TOOK, not too!

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2015

      Thank you Peter🙂
      If only I had a better camera, I would have a better picture quality

  4. KDKH
    January 10, 2015

    Beautiful sunrise photos! You’re brave – I’m not sure I’d want to hike up a mountain at night….

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2015

      Thank you Karel🙂
      I did a lot of night hiking because my hiking group always wanted to catch the sunrise moment

  5. Gray Dawster
    January 12, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your journey Al

    Andro

    • Novroz
      January 12, 2015

      Thank you for reading it Andro🙂

      • Gray Dawster
        January 19, 2015

        I always enjoy your postings and videos my sweet friend🙂 Have a fun Monday Miss. Novia🙂

        Andro xxx

  6. Alice Audrey
    January 13, 2015

    Wait. The bed didn’t come with a room?! Gah!

    • Novroz
      January 13, 2015

      No…the bed was just a bed😉

  7. Pingback: Mount Rinjani – Day 1 | Polychrome Interest

  8. Alice Audrey
    January 15, 2015

    We had some mattresses like that on a houseboat we once rented, but using them was totally optional and didn’t cost anything extra.

    • Novroz
      January 15, 2015

      They are people looking for extra money in the ship like that. If it was day, we wouldn’t rent it but it was night and we were all so tired

  9. I’ve always wanted to go to Lombok. I hope you enjoy your trip!

  10. Pingback: Gili Trawangan Island | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads