Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

I’m Back and Here’s My Top 5 Movie in 2014

 After almost two weeks of no post at all…I finally return🙂

I came home 4 days ago but I only managed to write a post for my turtle’s blog because I was so busy washing everything from the trip. I will write about my trip on my next post, for now I want to write something with less preparation.

First of all,

Happy New Year to all my net-friends … thank you for everything and let’s make this year better than last year.

My first post in 2015 will be my yearly list of top 5 movie from the previous year. As always, my movie list didn’t come from all the movie released in 2014, it’s more to the movies I watched in 2014 regardless of the year they were being released. However, 2014 was quite special because my number 1 movie DID release in 2014🙂

Let’s start the list🙂

#5

Mr Brooks (2007)

Mr BrooksReview>> Here

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Excerpt from my review:

I freakin love this movie!!! I love how elegant Mr Brooks is. I have seen many serial killer movies and I think Mr Brooks is the most posh one. Mr Brooks has has many unexpected twist…a movie I couldn’t guess at all and I love this kind of stories. It doesn’t have that gore which usually accompanied serial killer movies.

#4

The Secret of Kells (2009)

The Secret of KellsReview> Here

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Excerpt from my review:

I don’t understand why this movie has lower rating in imdb than Frozen is beyond me (although in metascore it’s much higher than Frozen) because it is WAAAAAYYYY better than Frozen in MANY ways

The artwork was truly a delight to see. So beautiful and enchanting, as magical as the fairy. I have never seen such stunning artwork in an animated movies other than animation from Ghibli. The Secret of Kells and Coraline are the only two western animation (so far) which can awed me as much as Ghibli’s.

#3 & #2

I really can’t decide which one should be #3 and which one should be #2 because I like them both a lot, so these next movies are equal in every way.

I am going to line them up based on which one I saw first.

Dawn of The Planet of The Apes (2014)

?????????????????????????????????????Review> here

Rating: 5 stars

Excerpt from my review:

What I like most about Dawn is the way the characters evolve. Each main ape has strong character, one does not overshadowed the other. You can see clearly how they feel through their gesture. The emotional depth is truly transparent, I am not ashamed to say that I shed tears in some parts of the movie. The other thing that I love about this movie is how realistic it feels, they don’t try to make one species as the saint, both humans and apes are equal…some are good and some are bad.

As for the visual, it’s a wonderful treat. The motion capture is stunning. The actors who played the apes had done amazing work, they embodied the apes so naturally. And I love the scenery…so green, so beautiful.

Rurouni Kenshin – Kyoto Inferno (2014)

Rurouni Kenshin Kyoto InfernoReview> here

Rating: 5 Stars

Excerpt from my review:

The two main things that make this movie awesome are how perfect the casting is and how cool the fighting scenes are.

the casting was impeccable. I wasn’t so happy about Sanosuke (Munetaka Aoki) on the previous movie but this time I get a chance to see better of him and can totally relate him to the anime’s version of Sanosuke. As for the new characters… Shishio (Fujiwara Tatsuya) hasn’t yet impressed me much. I really like the one playing Soujiro (Ryunosuke Kamiki), he has this cute but cruel face. You can easily see that this man has childish face but at the same time the way he smiles shows how he enjoys killing people. I also like the one playing Aoshi (Yūsuke Iseya), he is as ruthless as I remember. I always like Aoshi no matter how silly his reason is for chasing Kenshin. For me, the two new characters shine above other new characters. Takeru Satoh as Kenshin is still the best.

#1

Rurouni Kenshin – The Legend Ends (2014)

Rurouni_Kenshin_The_Legend_Ends-p1Review> here

Rating: 5 Stars

Excerpt from my review:

Rurouni Kenshin is officially in my top 5 favorite trilogy … I need to rewrite my 2010’s list of top 5 trilogy and Kenshin is in the same level as The Lord of The Rings for me.

Rurouni Kenshin also made into my list of best adaptation ever.

The Legend Ends seems to have more philosophical sentences than Kyoto Inferno. It reminds me of the first movie (Rurouni Kenshin) where the words are as beautiful as the fighting scenes. In the first half of The Legend Ends, you won’t see much awesome fighting scenes because that’s the time when Kenshin tries to find what he lacks and how to prevent the killer inside him to appear again. Afterward, full jaw-dropping action.

****************************************************************

Well….those are my top 5 movies in 2014🙂

Looking forward to check on your list😉

Here are all the movies I have watched in 2014:

5 stars

  1. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  2. Rurouni Kenshin – Kyoto Inferno
  3. Rurouni Kenshin – The Legend Ends

4,5 stars

  1. 12 Years a Slave
  2. Mr Brooks
  3. The Secret of Kells

4 stars

  1. Catch Me If You Can
  2. Nowhere Boy
  3. Open Grave
  4. The Proposal
  5. Warm Bodies
  6. G@me
  7. About A Boy
  8. Swing Girls
  9. Suspect X
  10. Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind

3,5 stars

  1. Godzilla
  2. ParaNorman
  3. The Liar and His Lover (Kanojo wa uso o aishisugiteru)
  4. Begin Again

3 stars

  1. BIG
  2. Europa Report
  3. Harakiri: Death of a Samurai
  4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower
  5. Wimbledon
  6. A Knight’s Tale
  7. Return To Me
  8. Grease
  9. Real (リアル〜完全なる首長竜の日)

2,5 stars

  1. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

2 stars

  1. Taken 2
  2. The Avengers
  3. Transcendence
  4. Jack The Giant Slayer

1,5 stars

  1. Frozen
  2. The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies

1 star

  1. The Fifth Estate

Rewatches (that I have reviewed before):

  1. Red Eye
  2. Inception

Last year, I actually watched more TV series than movies…mostly Japanese TVSeries because I finally found a way to watch them. I always love Japanese series but I couldn’t watch it anymore since my local TV Stations prefer to share silly reality shows and games rather than TV series from other countries. I am so happy that I had found a way to watch them again, there will be a lot of Japanese TV series review in 2015, just like in 2014.

Looking at my TV series list, there are only 2 kinds, either from the Great Britain or Japan. The only one from US was some episodes from the X Files (after all The X Files is still in my number 1 series of all time)

Here are all the series I have watched in 2014:

  1. Sherlock BBC : The Empty Hearse, The Sign of Three, The Last Vow
  2. The X Files
  3. Tiger and Dragon (12 episodes)
  4. Wonders of Life (5 episodes)
  5. Science Britannica (3 episodes)
  6. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (12 episodes)
  7. Ghost Mama Sousasen (10 episodes)
  8. Jikou Keisatsu (9 episodes)
  9. Yasuko to Kenji (10 episodes)
  10. Gambatte Ikimashoi (10 episodes)
  11. Papadoru (10 episodes)
  12. Joker Yurusarezaru Sousakan (10 episodes)
  13. Q10 (9 episodes)
  14. Bloody Monday (5 episodes)
  15. Bitter Blood (11 episodes)
  16. Hero: Season 1, Special, Season2 (23 episodes)
  17. Doctor Who Series 8: Episode 1-3; Episode 4 – 12

That’s all from 2014…looking forward to see the wonder of movies/tv series in 2015🙂

To sum it all, I think I had wonderful movie/series year in 2014…I hope it’ll be the same in 2015.

Once again…Happy new year everyone🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

16 comments on “I’m Back and Here’s My Top 5 Movie in 2014

  1. Caz
    January 5, 2015

    Great choices!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Mr. Brooks think it’s a hidden gem of a film really. Remember seeing it at the cinema on its release and just thinking wow, this is some film.

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2015

      Thank you Caz🙂

      I totally agree with you, it was a gem. It deserves more attention.

  2. Bikramjit
    January 5, 2015

    I saw planet of apes and found it to be impressive.. Mr. Brooks I m yet to see

    Good list you got there

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2015

      Me too…it was one of the best sequels I have ever seen. We rarely see sequel as good or even better than the first movie

  3. Nekoneko
    January 5, 2015

    Welcome back dear Novia! We’ve all missed you!

    You have had a busy year movie and TV wise, it’s amazing when you sit down and actually list all the ones you watch in a year. For me, it’s always so hard to pick just a few favorites… but all the horrible ones stick in my brain, that’s for sure. Maybe I ought to do a “Worst of 2014” post at my own blog, hehehehe!!😉

    I can’t wait to read about your latest adventure to Mount Rinjani!🙂

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2015

      Thank you Miyuki🙂

      Well, I note down all I have seen when I turn on my PC. So all I did in the end of the year is only copy-pasting the list. I can easily pick favorite and worst but I rarely did worst list because I think no matter how bad the movie is, someone else might like it.

      I still need to sort out which pics to share and that will take some time…but hopely on the weekend I can write one post.

  4. Alice Audrey
    January 6, 2015

    I caught Secret of Kells on Netflix about a month ago. It’s good, but not one of mu favorites.

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2015

      I like the artwork a lot. I think that’s the main reason why it’s one of my favs

      • Alice Audrey
        January 15, 2015

        The art reminds me a lot of the TV cartoon series Samurai Jack.

        • Novroz
          January 15, 2015

          Never heard of that show before.

          I look it up and yes it does look like it🙂

  5. Binky
    January 6, 2015

    I think the only movie on your lists that I saw was Frozen. I thought it was pretty good, but not spectacular.

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2015

      Unfortunately, I don’t like it😦 I tried but I just can’t

  6. Caroline
    January 8, 2015

    I haven’t been around much lately but I wanted to wish you a belated Happy New Year. And, of course, I always like your end of the year best of lists. Seems like I need to watch Mr Brooks.😉

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2015

      Hi Caroline🙂
      I haven’t been around in yours also…so sorry. My job really keeps me in limited time for blogging.

      Mr Brook was a gem for me. I hope you’ll like it as much as me

  7. ruth
    January 14, 2015

    I love The Secret of Kells too! Oh and Dawn of The Planet of The Apes is definitely on my Top 10 of the year, but my list is of films RELEASED last year🙂

    • Novroz
      January 14, 2015

      Ah I know, most bloggers are like that…I don’t follow released year religiously…I wish I can but it’s difficult.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads