Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Hobbit: A Battle of Disappointment and a 10 Day Hiatus

hobbit-battle-five-armies-bilbo-poster

Why do they think splitting a very thin book into three movies is a good idea? They should have stick it to two part movie!

The first one was great, the second one was bad and third one was awful!

Compare to the epicness of The Lord of The Rings trilogy, The Hobbit trilogy is not even close!

After seeing the second Hobbit (previous review> here) I know that the third one is not going to be much better but I still want to see the Battle of Five Armies because it sounds so great in the book, unfortunately it turns into a Battle of Prolonged Boredom. The battle becomes meaningless and emotionless. It feels like they push it too much and too long. If they just stick to the book, the battle will not feel as dry as in the movie.

This isn’t a review, I can’t write a proper review of a movie I don’t like…sorry, this is more like a thought of disappointment. I thought I was going to see the second epic trilogy, the one that can sit side by side with The Lord of The Rings, but it fails terribly.

What I like is Bilbo…picking Martin Freeman as Bilbo is the best part and he is the only reason I watch the movie.

What I don’t like is almost everything, the existence of Legolas, the love story of Kili and Tauriel, the too-long battle, and then somehow I feel like the story clings a little bit too much on the dwarves, it supposed to be called The Hobbit NOT The Dwarves, in case you’ve forgotten.

I thought I was the only one, I am glad my friend, Ruth @ Flixchatter also thinks the same (well, maybe not as extreme as me😉 )

My Rating on this movie: 1,5 stars

At least the soundtrack is really good🙂 …and the singer is Pippin.

***************************************************

I am going to be away for a while, although I have a smartphone but I am not going to use it to blog, so I won’t be able to reply anything here and visit other blogs (not that I visit many lately due to my work).

I am going to one of the highest mountain in Indonesia🙂 … Mount Rinjani on the island of Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara. I am going to be Bilbo Baggins now😉

Borrowed from

Borrowed from Indonesianews.web.id

3,726 m (12,224 ft) above sea level.

It’ll take 10 days there and back because I am going there by bus not by plane…it’s going to be tiring but for the sake of adventure, I’ll do my best🙂

I’ll be leaving tonight and back on January 3.

My only concern is on my babies, I never left them that long especially with Kurome and his healing up tail. I have asked someone to take a look on them every three days and text me whether they are okay or not. I know I worry too much on them, it’s simply because I love them sooooo much.

My babies next to my Carrier Bag

My babies next to my Carrier Bag

Happy New Year in Advance🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

18 comments on “The Hobbit: A Battle of Disappointment and a 10 Day Hiatus

  1. SusanElizabeth
    December 23, 2014

    I haven’t seen the third one yet, I still want to but I agree with you that splitting the movies into 3 parts was insane–they stretched them out far too much & the movies became a boring disappointment.
    Have a blast on your trip-sounds like a biiiiiiiiig trip, be safe on your hike!
    I totally understand, it’s so hard to leave animals behind, best wishes! Happy early New Years.

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2015

      Yeah, it’s sad when quality is defeated by money making.
      I am sure it would be a lot better if they made it into one or two part movie.

      Thank you🙂 I had wonderful time.

      Fortunately I found them happy and healthy when I got home.

  2. Nekoneko
    December 24, 2014

    I was so disapointed when I realized they were doing that to basically squeeze extra box office for the films. It’s really unnessesary, and the way the had to pad things out by making new stuff for the plot only proves it.😦

    I haven’t seen it yet, but Carolyn really wants to, so like as not we’ll probably catch it over our Christmas break after we get back from her sister’s house this year.

    I hope your own trip goes well and is yet another memorable adventure for you to share with us!!🙂

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2015

      Same feeling here. It ruins the epicness of a story when money comes first. I remember how they didn’t expect LOTR to be huge and the movie was amazing but when money is in everyone’s head it becomes bad.

      Have you seen it Miyuki?

      I had wonderful trip and ready to share it🙂

  3. Gray Dawster
    December 24, 2014

    Happy Holidays
    and New Year 2015

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2015

      Happy new year Andro🙂

  4. Binky
    December 25, 2014

    Have a good vacation and trip, Novia!

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2015

      Thank you Peter🙂
      I had wonderful time, will share all about it soon

  5. ruth
    December 26, 2014

    Thanks for the link Nov and yeah it’s a bummer how disappointing the final Hobbit was. I do still like Bilbo too, but that rubbish love triangle gotta go!!

    Enjoy your vacation and take care!

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2015

      I have been saying not so good thing about that stupid love triangle. They are forcing it too much (in our language: Maksa abis!)

      Thank you Ruth🙂

  6. Dennis the Vizsla
    December 28, 2014

    hello novroz its dennis the vizsla dog hay do not feel bad yoo ar beeing jenerus dada sez they shud hav stuk to wun moovee!!! the only reezun we ar stil watching them is that dadas own mama likes them!!! enjoy yore break!!! ok bye

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2015

      Thank you Dennis🙂
      The only reason I am watching it is because I like the book and yes I agree with your dada, one is enough.

      Thank you…hope you enjoy your holiday too

  7. Pingback: I’m Back and Here’s My Top 5 Movie in 2014 | Polychrome Interest

  8. Alice Audrey
    January 6, 2015

    The Hobbit was a lot better than I expected, but I didn’t really have my hopes up. Like you said, the book is too thin to justify three movies – even with all the added junk.

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2015

      All the added junk…that’s the term for all the unnecessary additional story😉

      I am glad you think it’s better, it’s worst for me.

  9. Pingback: A Trip To Lombok – 50 Hour Ride | Polychrome Interest

  10. Morgan
    January 22, 2015

    Good review; thank you – I think you said what needed saying. A disappointing movie, there.

    • Novroz
      January 23, 2015

      Thank you Morgan🙂
      What a shame isn’t it…I wish it could be as great as LOTR

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2014 by in Activity, Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads