Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Hobbit : The Desolation of Smaug

hobbit-2-tie-in-book (1)

I am probably the most bitter person when it comes to movies adapted from books. I am one tough audience to please when the books I love being turned into movies. I quit watching Under The Dome because there are TOO many changes and I dislike The Shining for the same reason.

How about The Hobbit?

As I have said in my post titled No Movie is Greater Than The Book, The Lord of The Rings is one of few movies that I admit as as amazing as the book because it stay true to the book…I was hoping that The Hobbit will be something similar. The first part of The Hobbit was the same with some extra scenes to make people understand more about The Lord of The Rings, the second was a total disappointment because it begins to take liberty on changing the story.

I watch The Desolation of Smaug in IMAX 3D because I want to experience the wonder that I saw in The Hobbit : Unexpected Journey. My first impression was “WOW!” the 3D effect was amazing in IMAX. I was so amazed that my jaw literally dropped. I enjoy the movie and the beautiful scenery till half of the story.

I enjoyed every second of the movie till Legolas showed up and then that she-elf who doesn’t even belong in the book took a lot of screening time. I was so bored when the additional scenes/stories play big part in the movie. I wanted to enjoy it but I couldn’t…I just couldn’t stomach changes from the book. Things got worst when They decided to leave Kili and Fili…I was like “What the hell? where does this come from?” I was annoyed beyond believe and all I wanted to do is finding a remote control to fast-forward this silliness.

It’s okay to change the story to make it more thrilling, like that episode with Smaug, in the book the fight with Smaug is not as great as the movie (tho I wouldn’t mind if they stick to the book) but when they change it to something not important just to add up romance in it…that makes me furious!! That makes me disappointed!!

Bilbo

Not only that…this second movie seems to emphasize more on Thorin, Thorin and Thorin…hello, the book is called The Hobbit NOT the Dwarves!! Thorin was not featured as someone THAT great in the book because it focused more on the little Hobbit. I feel like Bilbo was a bit forgotten in this second movie.

I know I might be the only one I know who didn’t feel impress with The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug…so be it because I still feel disappointed with it!!

My disappointment was so great that I didn’t even have the energy to appreciate the greatness of Benedict Cumberbatch’s voice as Smaug and Necromancer.

I hope they won’t change much things in the third movie (I wonder how the left behind Dwarves join the Dwarves who are already in the mountain because no one gets left behind in the book). I hope they won’t decide to make a happy ending where no dwarve die and they live happily ever after and the great Thorin stays amazing throughout the movie…if that happens, I am really going to hate this trilogy!!

My rating for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug is only 2 stars, that two stars go to the beautiful scenery and the story that’s still written in the book. Although I didn’t review the first movie, I’d give that one 4 stars. If you love the desolation of smaug, do read my friend, Ruth @Flixchatter, favorite things about the Desolation of Smaug 🙂 mine is nothing but a grudge review 😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

25 comments on “The Hobbit : The Desolation of Smaug

  1. TBM
    December 19, 2013

    Oh no! I haven’t seen this yet, but I’m like you, some changes I’m fine with, but too many irks me.

    • Novroz
      December 20, 2013

      I think it’s best to watch The Hobbit without reading it first. People will not know that the story has been changed.

  2. Rachel (@watermia)
    December 19, 2013

    4 stars is generous for the first movie. Martin Freeman was the only redeeming feature

    • Novroz
      December 20, 2013

      Oh I like the first movie more because it stays true to the book…the second one drifts away.

  3. Tim The Film Guy
    December 19, 2013

    You one tough critic!

    • Novroz
      December 20, 2013

      Hahahaha yes I am when it comes to book adaptation. I better NOT read the book otherwise I will always compare it 😉

      • Tim The Film Guy
        December 21, 2013

        Me. I want something different than the book. I’ve read the book, I know what happens and I know what I imagined. Now I want to see someone else’s imagination 😀

        • Novroz
          December 26, 2013

          Aha! There’s where we differ 😉

  4. CMrok93
    December 20, 2013

    Good review Novroz. It’s not as bad as the first, but it is better, if only slightly. Still though, I want to see Jackson turn back to his old ways for this final installment.

    • Novroz
      December 20, 2013

      Thank you Dan 🙂
      For me, the first one is better because it’s still following the book, this one takes too much liberty. Just like you, I also hope Jackson will make the last one like thr old way.

  5. Alice Audrey
    December 20, 2013

    You can grudge away all you want, I’ll still eagerly go. And that despite my having decided the first movie was already too far from the original story to take as a faithful rendition.

    • Novroz
      December 26, 2013

      I hope you’ll like it more than I do 🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        December 29, 2013

        I’m planning on going in a few hours. Will let you know then.

        • Novroz
          December 31, 2013

          Will be waiting to know your take on the movie 🙂 So far, it’s a love and hate reaction

          • Alice Audrey
            January 6, 2014

            I totally loved it, even with the annoying “cliffhanger” at the end. I got a kick out of the ridiculous amounts of gold and the soft statue and even the elven love story. But then, I wasn’t looking for any resemblance to the original story. After all, the original book with no embellishments would barely fill a single movie.

            I’d love to do an event thing where everyone read the book right before doing a marathon viewing of all three movies.

          • Novroz
            January 7, 2014

            Glad to know you like it 🙂
            I still couldn’t accept it and most likely will never see the movie again…maybe just part of it, the Smaug part just to listen to Benny’s voice.

  6. ruth
    December 24, 2013

    Belated thanks for the linkage, sorry I just noticed it. I think people who read the books (or purists like you) would have a different opinion about the film. It’s ok Nov, it’s not a grudge review, you like what you like, there’s no right or wrong about it 😀 For me, I LOVE the world of Middle Earth and it’s full of my fave British actors, so really, what’s not to like? he..he..

    • Novroz
      December 26, 2013

      You’re very welcome Ruth 🙂

      Hahaha purist is a good term for someone like me 😉 I wish I can be more open minded like you…but actors alone can’t make me like a certaon movie (remembrr In Time? 😉 )

  7. Cenecon
    December 28, 2013

    I’m sorry Ruth, there was a lot NOT TO LIKE with this movie. If they were going to rewrite J. R. R. Tolkien’s book to the point where it was almost unrecognizable then they should have titled it something different than The Hobbit….like “More fun in Middle Earth”. It was SOOOO disappointing, I kept leaning over to my bud saying, “ahh, that never happened either”! The first couple times was amusing….but practically the whole second half of the movie was a complete rewrite with just ever so slight of resemblance to the original. Very disappointed, especially after doing such a good job with Lord of the Ring…..and even the first Hobbit was close enough to enjoy…..but frankly….Hobbit 2 SUCKED!

    • Novroz
      December 28, 2013

      Yaaaiii…FINALLY!! someone who is on the same page as I am!
      Totally agree with you! If they want to rewrite the story, go make their own story and change the title…somewhat like that chasing gollum or something (I saw the title in youtube). I guess it is MUCH safer to watch The Hobbit without reading it first because otherwise we’ll be disappointed. I really dislike all the ‘new’ story they made up for this second Hobbit. I won’t be surprise if they decide to make all the dwarves survive the battle of five army…tho that will officially make the worst adaption ever.

  8. Caroline
    December 28, 2013

    I was pretty sure it would be different from the book because it’s a short book and it’s not possible to turn that into three movies, still, there is difference and difference and inventing totally new characters is quite a stretch. If I watch it I’ll have to bear in mind it’s inspired by The Hobbit but not the Hobbit, sort of. 🙂

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      They can stretch it onto 3 movies if they included the missing part in Lord of The Rings, like what they did in movie 1…but the addition in movie 2 is no longer connected to LOTR (only few of it related to LOTR). I wish i can like you, trying to enjoy the movie by thinking that it’s based on the book not exactly an adaptation of the book.

      I have doubt watching movie 3 but at the same time I am curious with it…one thing for sure The Hobbit is no longer my most anticipated movie of 2014

  9. Nostra
    January 9, 2014

    Shame to hear you did not enjoy it. I had a great time with it, but I have never read the book.

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2014

      Yeah…I sort of wish I haven’t read and loved the book, the movie might look better if I haven’t.

  10. Pingback: The Hobbit: A Battle of Disappointment and a 10 Day Hiatus | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads