Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

British Invasion: The Escape Artist & Being Human

Ha! The minute I have more free time the first thing I watch is BBC Series…so predictable😉

I thought I was going to catch up with all the movies I have stored … BUT the series is the one that intrigued me the most. Four days ago, I wrote about Shingeki no Kyojin (attack on Titan) which is a 25 episode anime, and then I spent the next days to watch 2 BBC Series : The Escape Artist and Being Human. The next series I am going to see is Tiger and Dragon, a Japanese Dorama. You can easily see that my viewing choice is ruled by British series and Japanese anime/dorama! Those two countries have interesting ORIGINAL TV Show!

I am not going to spend a lot of words in the opening, let’s just start the review🙂

The Escape Artist (BBCOne, 2013)

The Escape Artist

A chilling and bloody legal thriller that explores the line between law and justice.

Yeaaaa….. David Tennant’s new drama!! < that was my first reaction when I knew David Tennant has another drama on BBC. I avoid reading any review for this drama because I know it’s a thriller and just like Broadchurch, I pretty much sure that the ending will be something great…something unpredictable…something better left unwritten in any review. AND I AM SO GLAD I AM RIGHT!

I will write a brief summary of The Escape Artist so that you know what the miniseries is all about but first I need to share this:

A barrister is a lawyer who represents a litigant as advocate before a court of that jurisdiction. A barrister speaks in court and presents the case before a judge or jury. In some jurisdictions, a barrister receives additional training in evidence law, ethics, and court practice and procedure. In contrast, a solicitor generally does preparatory work and gives legal advice, such as drafting and reviewing legal documents, dealing with and receiving instructions from the client, preparing evidence, and managing the day-to-day administration of a matter. A solicitor can provide a crucial support role to a barrister when in court, such as managing large volumes of documents in the case or even negotiating a settlement outside the courtroom while the trial continues inside. (wikipedia.org)

Talented barrister Will Burton (David Tennant) never  lose a case! He has great way to defend his case even though he doesn’t always believe that the people he defends are innocent.

“We don’t have to like them to defend them”

Liam Foyle (Toby Kebbell) is charged for killing a woman brutally. Burton is not sure that he is innocent but a job is a job and he does everything he can to defend Foyle. As expected, he wins the case due to technicality but his life is never be the same again after. Defending Liam Foyle changes Burton’s life forever. A bloody mind game has begun the moment Foyle walks off the court.

I REALLY like this 3 episode miniseries!! The acting is brilliant, everyone in The Escape Artist plays to the fullest. I have to give big applause to David Tennant and Toby Kebbell. The best moment between these two actors is when Tennant interviews Kebbel in prison.

What makes me like this series is the fact that it really shows how crooked the law is, LAW IS NOT ALWAYS JUSTICE!! Throughout the show you can relate it to what happen in real world, it doesn’t matter who’s right or wrong it’s a matter of who can defend it well. I also love seeing how different the British court with US court is! I am used to watch US Court scene but I have never seen one from England. They still use that weird wig from the past and they also still wearing the long coat (it is a bit like Indonesian court).

British Court

I CAN’T make a good review for this series because I REALLY don’t want to spoil it, just like the trailer below, you don’t get much from it but I can assure you that it’s bloody brilliant! I finished all three episode in one night because I can’t stop wondering what will happen next, it’s like watching a three hour movie.

Miniseries details:

Creator: David Wolstencroft
Written : David Wolstencroft
Director : Brian Walsh
Starring:  David Tennant, Toby Kebbell, Sophie Okonedo, Ashley Jensen, Jeany Spark, Tony Gardner
Rating: 4 stars

PS. I should mention that David Tennant looks incredibly sexy here😉 (well, when he is not wearing that court coat and suit)

Will and Jamie

Being Human series 1 (BBC Three, 2009)

Being Human s1

I have been meaning to watch this series ever since I found out that one half of The Mighty Boosh was guest star in series 5. I couldn’t watch series 5 straight away, I wanted to see it from the first. I have the series early this year but something always prevented me from watching it till this weekend. Now that I have seen it, I am addicted to it!

Three supernatural beings share a flat together. George Sands, a werewolf (Russell Tovey) and  John Mitchell, a vampire (Aidan Turner- yes he played Kili in The Hobbits) rent a house in Bristol. They thought it’s going to be just the two of them but it turns out they have new flatmate, a ghost named Annie Sawyer (Lenora Crichlow). Annie died in that house, she loves her fiance so much and she thinks that that’s why she is still lingering in the world of the living. George refers her as the happy Casper. They all try to live as normal as HUMAN eventhough they are all MONSTERS.

Although it’s a supernatural drama, but I think it emphasizes more on the friendship between the main casts. I really like seeing how close George and Mitchell is, they are also close with Annie but it’s the relationship and the love between George and Mitchell that interests me the most. They are such cute bromance. George is a very awkward man and can’t accept the fact that he is a werewolf. He can’t speak with a woman properly. I really like his awkwardness. When I first saw Russell Tovey in Sherlock – The Hounds of Baskerville,  I didn’t like him at all but here in Being Human, he is so adorable! Mitchell, on the other hand, is very confident and accepted the fact that he is a vampire but he wants to be like human and refuses to kill for blood, the temptation of blood is so huge that he sometimes fails to contain his thirst. He loves his friends more than anything. Behind his dark past he has good heart. The vampire in Being Human is not the kind that burn in the sun. Annie is very chatty and always happy. She is obsessed with her ex-fiance because the last thing she remembers is the love between her and Owen. The love is not actually like she remembers, I feel sorry for Annie.

Annie, George and Mitchell are the main reason that makes the series interesting. The stories are fine too but seeing the three interact is the best part of it. While writing this, my mind already drifts to the second series😉 It’s a shame that both Turner and Tovey left the show after series 3….I hope I am still going to like the series even after those adorable bromance left the show.

Oh…almost forgot to say that it’s also very funny once in a while, mostly when they are together.

Belongs to BBC.co.uk

(Turner, Crichlow and Tovey)  Belongs to BBC.co.uk

Series details:

Creator: Toby Whithouse
Starring: Lenora Crichlow, Russell Tovey, Aidan Turner, Sinead Keenan, Michael Socha, Damien Molony, Kate Bracken, Steven Robertson
Rating: 3,5 stars

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

13 comments on “British Invasion: The Escape Artist & Being Human

  1. chorenn
    December 15, 2013

    Thumbs up for The Escape Artist! I won’t spoil anything either, but I found the third episode to be so gripping, my heart was still pounding fifteen minutes after it was over.🙂

    • Novroz
      December 16, 2013

      Oh yes!! the third episode is amazing!! It’s so unpredictable…I love it🙂

  2. ruth
    December 17, 2013

    WOW, David Tennant’s got a new drama? This one sounds intriguing too, I mean I work for a company that made products for the legal industry🙂 I’ve never seen the British version of Being Human but I did see a couple of episodes of the US version. No doubt the Brit one is better though Aidan Turner doesn’t do anything for me. I know a lot of girls love him though. I’m not even fond of the extra scenes of him as Kili in the new Hobbit.

    • Novroz
      December 18, 2013

      It’s equally intriguing compared to Broadchurh…but this one is much faster.

      Ah…I will never see the US version of Being Human. Russell Tovey is more adorable than Aidan. Talking about The Hobbits, my review of that movie will not be good…too much additional story

  3. TBM
    December 18, 2013

    Sounds like I need to watch The Escape Artist!

    • Novroz
      December 18, 2013

      You should!😉
      I think it’s still on BBC iplayer

  4. Alice Audrey
    December 20, 2013

    The Escape Artist looks intriguing. You’ve got me revved on it without telling me too much. That’s the fine art of review.

    • Novroz
      December 26, 2013

      Thank you Audrey🙂
      The Escape Artist is a kind a movie/series that can’t be reviewed fully…spoilers will ruin it.

  5. Caroline
    December 28, 2013

    Two series I hadn’t head of but will certainly keep in mind. Thanks for letting us know.

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      You’re welcome🙂
      Somehow I know you would like The Escape Artist

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads