Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Pacific Rim – A Fabulous Trip Back to My Childhood

Pacific_Rim_FilmPoster

We always thought that Alien life will come from the star, but it came from deep beneath the Pacific. In order to fight monster, we create a monster of our own.

I have mentioned so many times that, unlike most girls in this world who grew up with Disney princesses, I grew with anime and tokusatsu. I remembered my first giant monster when I watched Megaloman destroyed them with fire from his hair, I remember Goggle 5 fought the giant monster, I remembered how Voltus beat up the monster…I grew up with giant creatures destroying humanity and building in a single step. And if you grew up like me…then you will love Pacific Rim!

I have been meaning to watch it weeks ago but I was too busy and I am glad I finally saw it yesterday. Pacific Rim is the only movie I wished I have seen it in IMAX or 3D. When people said how good The Dark Knight Rises in IMAX, I didn’t much care after I saw the movie. When people said that Avatar was awesome in 3D, I didn’t even want to spend extra money to see that movie again no matter how good the visual is…but Pacific Rim, how I wish it is still in IMAX.

Let’s see the trailer first!

The plot is very simple and not the selling point of this movie…the selling point is definitely the Kaiju and the Jaeger and their incredible fights.

We always think that alien will come from the star, but it turns out they come from a portal in deep Pacific. The first Kaiju (Giant Monster) attacks San Fransisco and then two other cities follow afterward. Human adapt and to fight monster, we create another monster. The movie begins with that kind of narration and then it leads to a deadly fight between Gypsy and a Category 4 Kaiju. Gypsy is a Jaeger (huge robot) piloted by Beckets brothers. The elder one died in that battle. The Kaiju is adapting to Jaeger fighting skill and one by one those Jaeger falls. The world government decides to end Jaeger program and build an impenetrable walls that will stop the Kaiju to enter any city…but the wall fails!

Stacker Pentecost insists in keeping Jaeger program going and it proves that Jaeger is still the one who can killed the Kaiju. The scientist has calculated that more and more Kaiju will enter our world, it will soon be 3 Kaiju in a week. Pentecost has an idea to blow up the portal, stopping Kaiju from entering our world. He searches for the remaining Becket to help him do it.

A Jaeger needs two pilots. Raleigh Becket has to find someone to be his co-pilot because his brother was killed in the last battle. A Japanese woman, Mako Mori is chosen to be his co-pilot. And the battle to safe humanity begins!

Throughout the movie, my jaw was barely closed…it was a spectacular view!! I was transported back to my childhood. Seeing giant robots fighting giant monsters made me want to clap my hands in excitement. Unlike other giant s that Hollywood had made (Transformer and Godzilla), Pacific Rim is the one that feels so close to how Japanese Mecha and Kaiju movies.

I had learned from Jason’s blog that Del Toro is like us (read: Jason and me), he loves Kaiju and Mecha and anime…basically things Japanese. So, no surprise that he is the only one who can manage to make something that is so close to the root.

I found these video to show you how much Del Toro loved Kaiju and Mecha (ps. He pronounces Mecha wrongly, the Cha part is supposed to be pronounce in C not K. Just a simple note)

The only thing lacking in the movie is the philosophy stuff. If you rented an Ultraman movie, beside the action there’s always a bit of philosophy in it. One that I remembered the most was when Ultraman was almost lost and everyone gave him the light inside their heart to make Ultraman stronger. I guess something like that is a bit difficult to transfer to a western blockbuster movie.

Overall, if you watch Pacific Rim without expecting to see mind-blowing storyline, you will enjoy it to the fullest. Most of the scenes are dark or dim but the details on Jaeger and Kaiju are incredibly visible, we don’t have to squint to see it.

After losing interest with Hollywood blockbuster movies because the story is always so so and they rely mostly on the visual effect…I finally find the joy again to see amazing visual effect with light story! Thank you Mr. Del Toro (and knowing you are like me made me respect you more) and thank you Pacific Rim 🙂

I would love to quote my fellow things-Japanese-lover, Jason @ Genkinahito’s Blog:

Overall I enjoyed the movie so much I have been dreaming about it. I can imagine people expecting Pan’s Labyrinth will be disappointed but then they should have watched the trailer. The film has more heart and intelligence than your average sci-fi blockbuster like Transformer and Avatar and is a good-natured and earnest attempt at bringing too seriously cool and overlooked film genres to a mainstream audience. Everything flows smoothly and the visuals are spectacular. Guillermo del Toro has created a film dripping with love for classic monsters and robots, a great live-action anime. If Evangelion were to be made, del Toro would be the man for the directing job. Don’t expect anything too complex from the script, just go in for the action and spectacle and have fun!

I completely agree with him!!! Would love to see him directed Evangelion.

My friend Miyuki @ Nekoneko’s Movie Litterbox made a double review for this movie, tho she doesn’t sound as impressed as I am, her and Stephen’s review is very interesting to read.

Last but not least, I am also going to agree with my dear friend, Ruth @ Flixchatter:

I actually tweeted last Tuesday night that I like this movie more than Man of Steel (imagine that!). I mean, as a huge Superman fan, I’m more surprised by that than anyone, especially since I’m not even into robots or big monster movies at all. I never bothered putting the trailers on this blog as I thought they were lame. In fact, I was this close from bailing out from the screening altogether!

Yes…the trailer is lame! This is one of those moments where the trailer didn’t do justice for the movie. And I finally have the answer for her question “What movie surprise you the most this year?” My answer is Pacific Rim.

Movie Detail:

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Scriptwriter: Travis Beacham, Guillermo del Toro
Starring: Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Rinko Kikuchi, Charlie Day, Robert Kazinsky, Max Martini, Ron Perlman
Rating: 4 stars

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “Pacific Rim – A Fabulous Trip Back to My Childhood

  1. le0pard13
    August 2, 2013

    Yes! This and The Conjuring are my favorites this summer.

    • Novroz
      August 2, 2013

      I haven’t seen Conjuring yet, will wait for it on DVD.

  2. Nekoneko
    August 2, 2013

    Nice to see you finally got the chance to go to the movies and catch this one… I thought you might be so darn busy with your new teaching job that you’d miss this one at the theater. 😉
    It was a good movie.. and Carolyn and I had fun watching it, but I did sooooo want more character stuff for our two leads… and a bit more of a romantic subplot to make me more involved with the story.
    But for big honkin’ monster fighting fun… this one would be hard to beat. 😉

    • Novroz
      August 2, 2013

      I thought so too. I was so happy when I checked the schedule and it’s still there 🙂

      Hahaha as I have mentioned above, I didn’t grow up with Disney princess and romance…the lack of romance is never a problem for me. I wish it involved the common people more, not just the people in the jaeger project.
      I think I will buy its DVD just to see Kaiju getting beat up 😉

  3. ruth
    August 2, 2013

    Thanks for the link, Nov! Yay, I’m glad you love this too! Yeah, the visuals are spectacular, but I also found the not-too-serious story quite engaging. It was my surprise movie of the year too! 😀

    • Novroz
      August 2, 2013

      No prob, Ruth 🙂
      For once, I am looking forward for a sequel 😉
      Love to see it again.

      • ruth
        August 2, 2013

        Yeah I think with the strong International box office, we may get a sequel of this after all 😀 Have a nice weekend Nov, hope you get a bit of rest!

        • Novroz
          August 3, 2013

          Rumour has it that Godzilla might appear 😉 … but it was just a rumour.

          Thank you Ruth…I have 18 days of Holiday, I can have a lot of rest 😉

  4. TBM
    August 2, 2013

    Sometimes it’s fun to watch a movie just for the action and not the actual plot. Thanks for bringing this movie to my attention. Hadn’t heard of it. Haven’t heard of too many new movies lately. I need to get out more.

    • Novroz
      August 3, 2013

      I agree with you, if the action is great. I still enjoy Die Hard even though the story is mild, but the last 2 Die Hard was a bit too much.

      You’re welcome 🙂
      I don’t go out much either but I have quite many movie blogger friends, they are my movie source 🙂

  5. Genki Jason
    August 2, 2013

    Thanks for the link! 🙂

    Nice review. I’m glad you liked it. Pacific Rim, the finest film about giant robots punching giant monsters ever made. Any and all otaku will get something from this!

    • Novroz
      August 3, 2013

      No thanks needed 🙂
      Your review is the closest to how I feel compared to other review.

      Thank you 🙂 and yes it is the finest film so far!! Hope the sequel will be ad great.

  6. Tim The Film Guy
    August 3, 2013

    Pacific Rim!!! I loved it, good review 😀

    • Novroz
      August 3, 2013

      Thank you Tim 🙂
      I love it too! Can’t wait to see it again on DVD

  7. Andina
    August 3, 2013

    I like your new blog look, Novia! But there seems to be a large grey square on your top headline post.

    Oh a little philosophy would make the movie even greater. I always love a little of that. I enjoyed this movie even without it though, which is rare because I usually don’t like a lot of CGI effects without a real story.

    • Novroz
      August 3, 2013

      Thank you 🙂
      I know, but I was too sleepy to fix that, will do it tonight and make another adjustment to this new theme.

      Same here 🙂 I think even though CGI plays big part of it but if felt so real that I overlook the fact that it wad CGI.

  8. Caroline
    August 6, 2013

    I don’t go to the cineman that often, I mostly watch at home but I was thinking it would be worth to see this in the cinema.
    Great review, Novia.

    • Novroz
      August 6, 2013

      Same here, especially with the new school. I can only go to cinema when I REALLY want to see it in big screen.
      Thank you, Caroline 🙂

  9. Caroline
    August 6, 2013

    Btw I also menat to tell you I like your new blog. Very neat.

    • Novroz
      August 6, 2013

      Thanks 🙂
      Theresa’s blog inspired me…I like it so much, the only thing lacking is the image of Kame on the background…she is now on the header 😉

  10. Pingback: Elysium and Gravity, Where Simplicity Wins | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads