Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mount Munara (1119mdpl) – More Like Hill than Mountain

While I still have the time on my hand (I am pretty sure that once my son is born, I’ll be a lot busier) I want to share all my hiking post…and if possible all my movie reviews…however, hiking post is my current priority.

This hiking took place about a year ago, September 27, 2015. It was a date hiking and it wasn’t really a mountain, more like a hill. Only 1119 meters above sea level and it only took 1.5 hours of walking if we were hiking seriously…BUT since it’s a date hiking, it took about 3 hours for us. We stopped in some warung to chat and spend more time together.

I wanted to go hiking so badly but since we weren’t yet married at that time, it was impossible for us to go hike a real mountain (the one that requires staying a night in a tent). We were saving up for the wedding and we didn’t want to spend a night together we weren’t yet halal…hence we went to this hill.

We went very early, around 6 am and arrived in Parung around 7 am. We ate breakfast in one of many warung there (I will show you what warung is soon!).

The view of Mount Munara

The view of Mount Munara

The entry ticket was really cheap. We began with walking on a bamboo bridge and pass through alley of bamboos.

Here’s the warung where we took our first rest. Basically, warung is a shop that sells drinks, cigarette and snacks.

Warung made of bamboo

Warung made of bamboo

We continued our hike and even though it’s not a high mountain but the view was still like most mountain…greenery everywhere, with extra big rocks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then we passed these huge rocks piling up on each other and create a very sort cave.

On the other side of that ‘cave’ there was an alley made of huge tree’s roots. I love taking picture of that roots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next was heading to that 2 rocks on top (you can see it on the first picture). On the way there, we passed more big rocks and tall trees.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To reach the top of those two big rocks, we had to climb using rope…kinda like rock climbing.

The effort to get there worth the view.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

However, that was not the summit. we walk a bit more to finally reach the summit. And the view like this

Such view or scenery is the reason why hiking is addictive ๐Ÿ™‚

Unfortunately…where there is human there is trash ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wish people can keep their trash to themselves. From what I saw, the trash was not only from the visitors but also from the people running the warung. And from a far I could see some kind of mine taking place there.

Despite those disappointing view…overall, it was a fun one day hike. When we were there, there was this family with their kids and we started talking about when we have kids we will also take them hiking to enjoy nature like we enjoy it.

Well…we are about to have one now and I am already can’t wait to see him grow and have our first family hiking ๐Ÿ˜‰

I will close this post with my favorite picture of that day…which then I used as pre-wed picture on my instagram ๐Ÿ˜‰

dsc06168a

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 comments on “Mount Munara (1119mdpl) – More Like Hill than Mountain

  1. bimo96
    October 1, 2016

    Small mountain. But still looks beautifull
    http://wp.me/p1UmK2-gi

  2. Theresa
    October 1, 2016

    That is a lovely picture of you both ๐Ÿ™‚ thankyou for sharing your hike story ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2016

      Thank you Theresa…and thank you for reading ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am trying to catch up with all my travel stories. Hope you’ll get around to do yours as well ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nekoneko
    October 2, 2016

    A wonderful trip! Thanks for sharing it with us Novia! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I always enjoy seeing the beautiful landscape where you live… so different from the forests and mountains here. I know though, that the feeling is the same for us when we are able to get out and enjoy the natural world. It will be so much fun to see your son when he gets older and can join you both.

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2016

      You’re welcome Miyuki ๐Ÿ™‚

      I often see movie about camping and stuff in America, and yes I notice how different our forest is. Would love to hike there one day just to feel the different.

      I can’t wait for that day to come ๐Ÿ™‚ I have no doubt he will like hiking too but I won’t force him if he doesn’t like it.

  4. Binky
    October 4, 2016

    It’s always nice to see your hiking trips. You may have to put them off for a while, but it should be a lot of fun to go hiking with your boy in a few years.

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2016

      Thank you Peter.

      Yeah I know, it’ll be a couple of years (maybe more) hiatus for me to go hiking.
      We will start with camping then move to hiking once he’s big and strong enough to do it

  5. nadiafriza
    October 4, 2016

    What’s your instagram account mbak? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2016

      novroz ๐Ÿ™‚
      you also have instagram? mine is mostly about my turtles and hiking

  6. redfoxinafield
    October 5, 2016

    Look at that beautiful couple! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I’ve meant to ask, do you ever see animals during your hikes?
    Ugh, all that trash left behind is despicable!! Sometimes when I go walking on a nature trail I’ll see coffee cups stuck in the trees โ€ฆ I can’t believe that people want to go walking through the woods but don’t care enough about it to take their empty coffee cup with them when they’re done and throw it out in the garbage.
    Great pictures as usual- thanks for posting them.

    • Novroz
      October 8, 2016

      Thank you Susan ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes…but not big scary animals. Lots of monkeys in Rinjani, Java Eagle in Slamet. Some people said if we go to Mount Kerinci, sometimes we can meet Sumatran Tiger, but I haven’t gone there yet.

      I know!! How could they enjoy nature but ignorant with what makes the nature beautiful. It’s not difficult to bring the trash back home or at least till we find a trash bin.

      • redfoxinafield
        October 9, 2016

        That’s exciting to me… The concept of seeing monkeys on a hike because it is so foreign to me. What a thrill. Tiger!! I would absolutely be filled with fear if I saw one in the wild but boy are they incredible looking and just stunning. I hope they do not go extinct. Do you plan on hiking that way sometime in the future? Did they tell you what to do if you see a tiger? I wonder if it is as rare to see one as it would be running into a mountain lion while hiking in the United States โ€“ extremely dangerous but unlikely, though it does happen. I would love to hear more! ๐Ÿฏ

        • Novroz
          October 10, 2016

          One of the monkeys in Rinjani eating from the trash. We have to be very careful there, the tent must be closed anytime of they will come inside to steal something. My fellow hiker at that time accidentally caught two monkeys mating near their tent ๐Ÿ˜‰

          I hope so too…some tigers had been killed because they went down to the villages around the mountain. I was actually planning to go there before I got married. One day I will go there…but for now, I have to do my role in motherhood ๐Ÿ˜‰ People said that tiger usually don’t attack human, most important thing when hiking in Mount Kerinci is not bringing any raw meat that attract tigers.

          It was a rare sight. My husband went there once and he didn’t meet with any tiger.

          • redfoxinafield
            October 10, 2016

            Whooooa, monkies!! I would be freaked out if one gotten my time and stole my stuff and now that I think about it I think he might’ve done a post before where you shared pictures of some monkeys encountered on your hike? I feel like I remember that but I could be wrong.
            I bet the tigers get scared away by the noise when people are hiking. I guess that’s a good and a bad thingโ€ฆ On one hand it would be so magnificent and once-in-a-lifetime to actually catch a glimpse of one but maybe a bit scary too. I love hiking by myself because it’s peaceful and I have a better chance of seeing animals . When I go with people it’s much safer and I enjoy their company and being able to share what I’m seeing with them but it’s just too loud and so much tougher to see any animals.
            After you had done some of your mama duty I hope you’ll be able to get back out hiking and maybe do a Sumatran hike๐Ÿฏ๐Ÿ˜ƒ
            Your child is going to be so lucky to grow up with parents that appreciate nature and love to get healthy exercise by hiking and I think they’re going to have a wonderful childhood because of it.

          • Novroz
            October 23, 2016

            Yeah, some said that the noise keeps them away…plus the tigers aren’t as much as they used to be ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

            I have never had a solo hiking before, I don’t think I can do that either. I need company to talk with along the way. When I got married that was the smallest hiking group I ever had…just the two of us ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I still haven’t written our honeymount yet)

            That’s the plan ๐Ÿ˜‰ To have a family hiking, probably when Anka is 2 or 3 years old.

  7. Alice Audrey
    October 8, 2016

    What a wonderful day hike! So many interesting features – from the bamboo alley, to the tumbled rock cave, to the tree root alley – it’s all new to me.

    • Novroz
      October 10, 2016

      Thank you Audrey. Glad I can show you something new ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Alice Audrey
        December 20, 2016

        I was only there a few weeks. I’m sure there are a lot of really cool things there just wasn’t time to take in.

        • Novroz
          December 20, 2016

          Maybe one day you can come and visit Indonesia again ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Carol
    October 13, 2016

    You are a beautiful couple. I used to hike mountains when I was younger, great fun!

    • Novroz
      October 23, 2016

      Aw thank you Carol ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am planning to hike till the age I can no longer hike…but I know someone who still hike at the age of 68

  9. KDKH
    October 19, 2016

    Great pictures – especially the one of you and your husband!

    • Novroz
      October 23, 2016

      thank you Karel ๐Ÿ™‚

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2016 by in Activity, Indonesia Banget and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€œSaya menyimpan kepribadian saya di lockerโ€

COPYRIGHT

ยฉ Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads