Groovers and Mobsters Present Time Travel

I received an interesting mail about two weeks ago, it was from Andy at Fandago Groovers Movie Blog. He asked me whether I want to participate in Groovers & Mobsters Present, the theme is Time Travel. He gave me choices between Back to the Future and Terminator…I don’t have to think twice and jump at the opportunity to once again write about terminator. The Terminator is one of few movies I never get tired of, I can’t even remember how many times I have seen it.

Time travel has been told in many movies and books, some end up with happy ending while some with sad ending. Time travel is indeed a fun theme to explore. Wouldn’t you like to take the journey if you know how?

Without further introduction, here goes my part of time travel

Sarah Connor

The hardest thing is deciding what I should tell you and what not to. Well, anyway, I’ve got a while yet before you’re old enough to understand the tapes. They’re more for me at this point… to help get it all straight. Should I tell you about your father? That’s a tough one. Will it change your decision to send him here… knowing? But if you don’t send Kyle, you could never be. God, you can go crazy thinking about all this… I suppose I’ll tell you… I owe him that. And maybe it’ll be enough if you know that in the few hours we had together we loved a lifetime’s worth (Sarah Connor)

A human being, Kyle Reese (Michael Biehn), and a terminator suddenly appeared out of nowhere. Their presence was followed with bolt of high electric current…and they were naked. From Reese explanation we learned that only living organism can be transported by the time machine and for that reason they had to travel naked. I have seen and read some time travel stories and Terminator is the only one that let the traveler goes butt naked. For a ten years old girl in the 80s, it was quite a surprise to see that scene. The rationalization of that scene made sense at that time, I doubt it a little now. The Cyborg was mostly composed of metal, in other word dead things. It was a bit unusual for it to travel with the transporting machine even though it was covered with living tissue, wouldn’t the machine be like those machine in airport that can see through?

The time traveler in The Terminator and all terminator series can only travel one way, there was no returning home. The Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) knew perfectly well that it could never return and will do everything to eliminate the mother of the future leader who will relentlessly fight the domination of machines over human. The Leader, John Connor, knew the danger that will come to his mother in the past sent his to-be-father knowing he would never see him again.

And here comes the paradox of time traveling!

I deliberately chose the quotes from Sarah Connor (Linda Hamilton) to her future son because it shows how difficult a time traveling could be. The future and the past are connected in a way we can’t explain. John gave Sarah’s picture to one of his subordinates knowing that that man will become his father, but at the same time how can John be born before his father was even born? What happened to John if Reese didn’t meet Sarah in the past or somehow Reese changed the past? As we could see in Terminator 2, Sarah tried to change the future. I guess this paradox is what makes Time Travel a good story to explore.

I will close this with a quote from Kyle Reese

John Connor gave me a picture of you once. I didn’t know why at the time. It was very old – torn, faded. You were young like you are now. You seemed just a little sad. I used to always wonder what you were thinking at that moment. I memorized every line, every curve. I came across time for you Sarah. I love you; I always have

You can read more about this Time Travel in Movie Mobsters. Thank you for asking me, Andy.

I also wrote a post about all 4 Terminator Movies back in May 2009.

22 thoughts on “Groovers and Mobsters Present Time Travel

  1. I like “The Terminator” too… It is still a very good movie even after all these years.I saw it back in college for the first time, but I think my favorite Time Travel story is “Time After Time” about H.G. Wells traveling to San Fransisco of the future (Well… his future…. Hehehe) to stop Jack the Ripper. It was a both a good Scifi story and a good romance story at the same time.

    ,em>Hahaha… I always have a soft spot for romance stories….. as long as they have something of fantasy in them. 🙂

    1. I have never heard of time after time before…but the summary sounds interesting. Jack the Ripper is a fun theme.

      I don’t mind romance that follows a good story but never really enjoy a 100% romance movie. Just not my kind of watch.

  2. I have seen it for the first time two years ago. I don’t realy like Schwarzenegger but I thought the movie was far better than I had expected but I haven’t watched the sequels yet. Thanks for reminding me, might do it soon.

    1. Terminator is the movie that made me fascinated with sci-fi and bloody scenes. I was either 10 or 11 when I watched it and you may call me psycho or whatever but I won’t deny that my favorite scene since I was that young was when Arnie tried to fix his eye and arm by doing self surgery…that’s is the beginning of my love toward bloody movies (but I don’t like slasher movies).

      If you want to see the sequels, skip the third…that was the worst of all 4 series of Terminator.

  3. I love The Terminator but I enjoy T2 more. It’s more fun. My wife and I recently watched The Terminator and she was shocked at how different in feel and tone it is to Cameron’s sequel. Like his follow up to the original Alien film, Cameron brings an uncanny eye for the engaing and entertaining action sequence and an unrivalled handling of the relationships between his central characters. Thanks for this Novia.

    1. I agree!! I also likes T2 more than the first one…we rarely see sequel which turns out to be better than the first movie.
      I also agree on Alien. He did great job with it.

      Thank you for reading Ronan

  4. Terminator has been one of the best movies to me. I also like that the characters name and mine are the same. Your comment mentions a third and fouth terminator. Ya know, I don’t think I have ever seen any beside 1 and 2.

    1. Ah yes, the mighty Sarah Connor 🙂 you are much like her Sara.

      The third sucks!! the fourth is good,Bale played as John Connor. Arnie is no longer in the movie. There was talk about the 5th movie,but if they really do make it I think it would be something like pushing up the luck.

  5. Woo hoo, that’s cool that you chose Terminator, Nov. I like this movie a lot, it’s really one of the best sci-fi ever made and people are still fascinated by this even today. As with a lot of time travel stories, it’s hard to keep the consistency/integrity of the plot, but like you said, it’s the paradox that makes it interesting as well. I had a crush on Michael Biehn as Reese in this movie [swoon] 😀

    1. I agree Ruth!!! Terminator is one of the best Sci-fi movies ever made. I love everything about it,even the confusing paradox of John and his unborn father.
      Me too!! Although I became Arnie’s fan at that time but Biehn was the one that swooned me

  6. Yeah, it is confuses me, who is the real father of John Connor if his father born after him? Oh, well, thank God it was just a movie. LOL.

    *and to think that the cycle never ends….. *arrrghhh

    But, nevertheless…. Terminator (T2 especially) rocks. Same with you, Nov, one of the first films that I’ve watched, all because my Dad rented its VHS and LD (remember LD? LOL).

    1. Hahaha we will never finish talking about that father and son 😉
      Yes…please blame my father for my taste of movie. How could a father let his innocent daughter to watch such violent movies *ck ck ck* I think I watched it in Beta VHS…ancient way to see movie 😉

  7. Curiously, I tend not to think of the terminator as a time travel movie! Does that sound strange? I think more of Time Travel movies as going back in time rather than forward. And yet it’s my favourite genre: time travel.

    I like watching the Terminator occasionally but it’s a bit too vivid for me to watch frequently. I prefer The Matrix… got to have my ‘fix’ of the Matrix from time to time… 🙂

    1. It does sound strange 😉
      It is clear that The terminator went back to 1984 from the future.

      Yaaaiii…I am with you on The Matrix!! That is one of the best sci-fi movies ever produced. I love love love The Matrix so much.

      1. I think it’s probably because the time travel is from the future to the past, rather than from the more familiar present to another time stream.

        Sorry my response is so late, I’ve been bogged down with so many things lately!

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)