Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Hyde Through The Ages

Click this picture to read more about L'Arc~e~Ciel

I have missed writing my L’Arc~en~Ciel monthly post for 2 straight months, as their biggest fan I  regret this unnecessary hiatus. I promise NOT to let that happen ever again.

I have been planning to write this post since last month but Time was against me. This month, followed with the next three months,I am going to start a new monthly series. Laruku has been around for 20 years now, quite a long history of music and style. I want to share some of their styles in this past 20 years.

Let’s begin with Hyde.
To know more about Hyde, you can read it in The Most Handsome One : Hyde.

One post CANNOT cover all his ever changing styles, I am merely covering the outline or the surface of his style. His style will be based upon Laruku’s album period/era.

In the early 90s, Hyde often dressed like a female…and he is much prettier than I will ever be

There were 2 styles of female with long hair in album period of Dune, Tierra and early Heavenly. He had long wavy hair with with renaissance kind of dress in Dune and Tierra and then started having long straight  hair in late Tierra and early Heavenly.

Isn't he the prettiest man alive?

However, during Heavenly concert, he cut his hair short and look like a kawai teenage girl. The live performance was great but it was too girly for my taste. I am forever grateful that I have fallen in love with their songs before seeing him looking like this😉

This  short hair continued till True…but it became a bit man-like tho not 100% man-like.

Hyde is pretty not because he puts make up to make him look like a female (like other Japanese Visual bands), all he needs to is let his hair long…he is pretty by nature!!

He then changed his style again, which is still not my favorite style of his. He cut his hair very short in the back and a bit long in front, it made him look like a elementary boy.

This style was used during Heart album period. The funny thing is, he met his future wife while he was looking like that😉

In Ray and Ark era, Hyde had totally turned into male style…much much better looking than his female look and childish look. I really like his style in this period but still not my most favorite yet…my most  favorite one comes right after  this period.

Sometimes he went blonde….totally not my favorite as I rarely like blonde men.

And then come Real and Smile…from this on, he appeared at his best!! I always like men with shoulder  length hair (but the hair style has to fit perfectly on him). It was (and  still is) my time to drool. This is when I started falling in love with Hyde physically, not just his amazing voice and his talent to write beautiful songs.

It continued to Awake and Kiss, he basically stayed in his shoulder-length hair style and look so handsome and beautiful. He changed his hair cut and but still in a manly manner…tho he couldn’t escape his pretty face.

He sometimes did an extended hair style with clothes that seems impossible to be wore by normal people😉

I’m going to close this post (before this post turned into something like my tumblr) with his latest style from 20th L’Anniversary, the concert was a huge success and was broadcast to some countries across the world…to bad it wasn’t broadcasted here in Indonesia😦

Pretty and yet still handsome

For me, he is the most handsomest singer alive…but his appearance is not the reason that make crazy with L’Arc~en~Ciel…the songs and the voice are still the reason why this band is my number one band in my heart for the past 10 years and it still going strong day by day.

For your information…Hyde is already over 40 years old and yet he still looks like early 30😉

Here is one of Laruku’s early video where they still  acted as visual band

Here is one of their latest singles, Bless.

Next month will be Yuki-nichan’s turn🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

27 comments on “Hyde Through The Ages

  1. dhitzunako
    September 8, 2011

    My favorite pic will be the “hydea.jpg”.
    Euleuh, euleuh… ganteng pisan😀
    Anyway, sedikit OOT, gue baca di blog (aduh lupa linknya) mana gitu, soal top ten visual kei band. Ada komentator yang ngotot bahwa laruku itu bukan band visual. Kalo setahuku si dulu iya… tapi sekarang dah mulai ninggalin visualnya. Kalo menurut seorang Novroz bagaimana?😉

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      I am 100% with you!! When I first saw that pic, I was speechless and my eyes were about to pop out. That level of handsomeness is not real😉

      Interesting debate!! Pada yg ngotot itu…tolong bilang mereka dulu visual kei😉 … Pad Heavenly baru mulai ga visual lagi (Alhamdulillah…hehe gw ga gitu suka gaya visual berlebihan). Laruku itu dulu ngambil gaya renaisans kalo ga salah, jd dandanannya ga seheboh Malice dll

  2. whida
    September 8, 2011

    Om cantik!!!!
    Mbak, katanya Laruku mau kesini? apa cuma rumor aja ya?

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      Haha Hyde si om cantik n di Honoo Daiko ada tante ganteng…dunia sudah terbalik😉

      Ah iya rumor yg lagi santer itu…selama sy belum liat nama Indonesia di larcenciel.com maka sy cuma anggap itu semua bagai angin lalu.

  3. TBM
    September 8, 2011

    I’m with you, I didn’t like his blond look.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      Blond never looks good on Asian…in my opinion. Just like what Caroline said below, The eyes don’t match with the hair

  4. Caroline
    September 8, 2011

    He is a handsome guy, no matter what, apart from that blond photo. I don’t like that at all. I like some men who are naturally blond but I don’t think it looks nice with dark eyes.
    He does look very young. Amazing.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2011

      Yup…he is realy handsome🙂
      If I have to choose between him and Cillian, it would spent forever to decide which one is the winner, both have the talent and the look.

      As a loyal fan, I follow him for 10 years and I don’t see him aged. If he was closed up during the concert, we can see thin lines near the eyes…that’s his only sign of aging!

  5. Alice Audrey
    September 9, 2011

    He’s a total bishi

    • Novroz
      September 9, 2011

      Ah! Nice to know that you know the term Bishi or Bishounen…He is indeed a true Bishi🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        September 10, 2011

        I read manga, particularly shoujo.

        This is great. Puts a lot of things into perspective for me.

  6. Castor
    September 9, 2011

    No offense but he kinda looks like a … girl lol😉

    • Novroz
      September 9, 2011

      Hahaha non taken!! He is indeed much prettier than me, and I am a real woman while he is a real man…isn’t it ironic?😉

      He is handsomely pretty or prettily handsome lol

  7. kelly
    September 9, 2011

    Wow, he is pretty!!! Great post Nov😀

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2011

      Thank you Kel🙂
      Sometimes he looks prettier than his wife who used to be a professional model.

  8. lifewith4cats
    September 10, 2011

    Its kinda strange to see that pretty wavy haired girl who is not a girl singing with a strong mans voice. I think his wife must have asked him to go more manly, maybe. Cool tribute post. How is the band name pronounced? Can you spell it the way it sounds for me. It looks like french spelling to me.

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2011

      Huahahaha…..it felt strange for me too!!! I would have gone all prejudice toward Laruku if I saw that video before loving their music first…it was too weird.

      Ah…I don’t know if his wife is the influence or not,but he had returned to his girlish style in the last couple of years (not during Laruku’s project but in his other project)…and his last look in 20th anniversary was also a bit girlish to me. I just hope he will return to his man look when the 12th album finally out in the market.

      It is French!! L’Arc~en~Ciel stands for Rainbow and because Japanese can’t pronounce that word,they say it Laruku An Shieru (which then shorten into Laruku by us, fans).

      • lifewith4cats
        September 10, 2011

        ahh I see. Laruku an Shieru is much easier for my toung to say.

        • Novroz
          September 10, 2011

          It is much easier for me too as I never learn French

  9. Nekoneko
    September 10, 2011

    I do not know this band… but the lead singer reminds me of Mana from the band Malice Mizer. I only know about him because he is a cosplay fan (like me🙂 ) and likes to dress as a Gothic Lolita. It is embarrassing to admit… but he is a much prettier “girl” in his costumes than many real women.

    This androgynous look is a very Japanese thing…. and many people find it strange. I shall have to give L’Arc~en~Ciel a listen….😉

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2011

      I think the right term for that is Visuel kei band…than everyone cosplay as him. Laruku used to be a visual kei band, that’s why he (and the rest of the band members) dressed like that but I am glad they are not visual kei band anymore.

      hahaha…yeah Mana is pretty when he wore that lolita dress and put thick make up. I like some Malice songs, Gackt has great voice…didn’t listen to them anymore after Gackt left the band.

      I should warn you that Laruku is so much different compare to Malice. If you have seen Ring 0 the Birthday, their song was the soundtrack of that movie.It was played when the credit was rolling.

  10. Maria
    March 24, 2012

    I love l’arc en ciel! I wonder why Hyde dressed up like a girl and ….😦 im scared of satan1c things and this band kind of looks like it is because of hydes ring

    • Novroz
      March 24, 2012

      Hi Maria…welcome to my blog.

      huahaha…sorry for laughing, but never consider them as satanic band, their beautiful and inspiring lyrics are far from that!!

      and dont think that the Japanese are serious with what they wear, they merely think it’s a fun symbol to wear. My student whose religion is Tenri, ancient Japanese religion, likes to wear Christian cross just because it looks cool.

  11. bagbonized
    May 30, 2013

    what the hairstyle name for 20th L’Anniversary? is it Dreadlocks?

    • Novroz
      May 31, 2013

      Feminine dreadlock😉
      lol … I really don’t know what to call that.

  12. coodyscoops
    October 9, 2015

    don’t hate me for saying this but i loved his blond look and the braids…. melted me lol i didnt think i liked it at first but how can you not like anything he wears lol… if he wore a clown suit i would praise it lmao makeup and all

    • Novroz
      October 10, 2015

      Trust me!! No one will hate you for that😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2011 by in L'ArcHolic and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads