Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Wartime Movies: The Imitation Game & The Eternal Zero (永遠の0)

I have been lingering too long in the world of TV Series. I guess it’s time to get back to movies again 😉 and since I had lots of fun watching movies with similar theme, I am going to continue it.

This week, I watched two wartime movies, I am not going to say it as war movies because the main story is not about the war itself, you know unlike movies such as Rambo (I never fancy such movies). The Imitation Game and The Eternal Zero emphasize more on the other side of the war. Without further introduction, let’s just move on to the review.

The Imitation Game (2014)

“Sometimes it is the people no one imagines anything of who do the things no one can imagine”

the_imitation_game_a_pDirector: Morten Tyldum
Writer: Graham Moore
Based on: Alan Turing-The Enigma by Andrew Hodges
Staring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Keira Knightley, Matthew Goode, Rory Kinnear, Charles Dance, Mark Strong
Rating: 4 stars

Story (Copied from imdb)

Based on the real life story of legendary cryptanalyst Alan Turing, the film portrays the nail-biting race against time by Turing and his brilliant team of code-breakers at Britain’s top-secret Government Code and Cypher School at Bletchley Park, during the darkest days of World War II.

My thought:

As you all know, I love Benny and I have been waiting for this movie since last year. I didn’t know whether the movie was played in the cinema or not because I was so busy last year (and still am), so I waited for the DVD to come out. I don’t know what it is about Benny that makes him often plays geniuses, from the fiction Sherlock to the real geniuses like Hawking and now Turing…maybe because he is articulate.

The Imitation Game is one of those stunning biopics. I always enjoy movies based on true story, as long as it stays on the truth rather than the fantasy. I first learned about Turing Machine through Science Britannica (a documentary hosted by Brian Cox) but I don’t know much about it till I saw this movie.

What I like the most about this movie is the way the mathematicians evolves from being solitary to being good friends. Alan Turing is portrayed as an annoying genius but I like his character (I have a soft spot for geniuses no matter how annoying they are). Benny is perfect as Turing, to be honest the strong point of this movie lies on Benny’s acting. He is, as always, brilliant!! I also like his chemistry with Keira Knightley…they make a great pair.

Watching The Imitation Game is more than entertainment, we get learn a lot from it.

The Eternal Zero – 永遠の0  (2013)

MCDETZE EC001Director: Takashi Yamazaki
Writer: Takashi Yamazaki, Tamio Hayashi
Based on: Eien no Zero by Naoki Hyakuta
Staring: Junichi Okada, Haruma Miura, Mao Inoue, Matsuno Oishi, Isao Natsuyagi, Jun Fubuki, Kazue Fukiishi, Min Tanaka, Gaku Yamamoto, Mikijiro Hira, Isao Hashizume, Hirofumi Arai, Takahiro Miura, Gaku Hamada, Shota Sometani, Tatsuya Ueda
Rating: 4,5 stars

 

Story (copied from Asianwiki)

A young man Kentaro Saeki (Haruma Miura) keeps failing his bar test and does not know what to do any more. His older sister Keiko is a freelance writer. Kentaro and Keiko begin to search for information on their grandfather Kyuzo Miyabe (Junichi Okada) who died in the special  forces during World War II.

Their grandfather Kyuzo Miyabe was terrified of death and obsessed with life. Why did he join the special forces? According to his fellow navy soldiers, Kyuzo Miyabe was a genius and also a coward. Kentaro and Keiko then discovers the shocking truth which has been sealed for 60 years.

My Thought:

The Eternal Zero is a beautiful movie. Some critics might say that the movie is a propaganda for kamikaze but I see it differently….because everything comes down to love. The Eternal Zero is a heartwarming love story.

The movie is about two hours thirteen minutes but it doesn’t feel that long at all because the story is full of curiosity. In the beginning, it does feel rather slow but as the story progress I become as curious as Kentaro Saeki in trying to find out what had happened to his real grandpa during the war. Kyuzo Miyabe didn’t want to die but in the end he ended up dying as part of Special Attack Force (The Kamikaze Pilot). Kyuzo Miyabe’s life is being unraveled through stories from his comrades and students. The puzzle slowly built up into something beautiful.

I have never expected this movie to be something that can shed my tears. When I read the synopsis I though I would see a war movie but what I got is more than that…and I am grateful for that. It’s a sad and beautiful ending. The closing scene is also very powerful.

As for acting, I never thought that Okada Junichi can act that good. I have only seen him once and it wasn’t a great performance. I look forward to see more of him. The Eternal Zero won a lot in Japan Academy Awards 2015.

 

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “Wartime Movies: The Imitation Game & The Eternal Zero (永遠の0)

  1. Genki Jason
    April 10, 2015

    I agree about your theory over why Benedict always plays a genius. When you posed the question of why, I thought it was because he is highly articulate as well! It’s always a pleasure listening to him.

    .Glad to see The Eternal Zero isn’t just propaganda. I’m intrigued but hesitant about watching it because of the right-wing links of the original novel’s author.

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2015

      And also, I think he has a smart face…I mean just by looking at him we know his a smart man.

      The way I see it, it’s not propaganda at all, it even shows that some of them were afraid to do it. It’s a love story

  2. sidekickreviews
    April 10, 2015

    I only thought The Imitation game was okay, but Benny and Kiera were really good and I liked their chemistry too.

    The description to The Eternal Zero interests me quite a bit and sounds really emotional and powerful since it made you shred tears. 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2015

      To be honest, I also think it was okay BUT Benny’s acting made it great. You can see that I gave higher rate for Eternal Zero because that movie is more emotional and had a better plot than Imitation Game.

      Hehehe I am actually really easy to cry if a movie relates to family

  3. Alice Audrey
    April 10, 2015

    You had me at Benedict Cumberbatch.

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2015

      Benny was awesome there 🙂

  4. ruth
    April 10, 2015

    Glad you like Imitation Game Nov, I have a feeling you might 🙂 Benny was good but I was also impressed by Matthew Goode & Mark Strong in their brief roles. If only they both were as successful as Benny as they’re just as talented.

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2015

      Yes I like it a lot, especially because of Benny’s act. To be honest I won’t like it that much if not for Benny.

  5. Andina
    April 12, 2015

    The performances in Imitation Game was great and I liked how Benedict showed stubbornness and dare to be himself though people hated him. But it seems that the point of the movie was the gay issue and the mistreatment.

    It did appear in our cinema and I missed it too. Also being the surprise movie in Jiffest (missed that too, oh well).

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2015

      Yup…he was brilliant 🙂
      I think it depends on which side you want to see it. I kinda like the whole process and that’s the point of the story for me. It’s like The Eternal Zero, some will see the point as Kamikaze propaganda but for me it’s more about loving someone so much

  6. nadiafriza
    April 13, 2015

    The Imitation Game played in Indonesian cinema sometime in early 2015 mbak. Couldn’t really remember the time

    The movie is totally braingasm after Interstellar 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 19, 2015

      Yeah, I just saw a January newspaper and there it was!! January was a bit hectic so I didn’t pay attention.

      I need to watch Interstellar soon.

  7. Binky
    April 14, 2015

    The Imitation Game is one movie I’d really like to see.

    • Novroz
      April 19, 2015

      Do see it Peter 🙂
      It’s really good and not just an entertaining movie

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads