Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mount Rakutak – Day 2 : The Day We Got Lost For 6 Hours

Beware: Lots of pics!! 😉

It’s time to finish my post on Mount Rakutak🙂

I did said in my previous post (Mount Rakutak – Day 1) that Mount Rakutak has a lot of stories to tell, and I’ll try to sum it all today🙂

I left you with us enjoying the Sunset on top of Mount Rakutak. We slept quite early because we had to descent the next day. Nothing much happen, I like the fact that Our tent was big enough for 5 people but it was only filled with 3 girls.

Early in the morning, we woke up early to catch the Sunrise. Here in Mount Rakutak we didn’t have to do any late night hike because we already reached the top in the afternoon. WE all woke up almost at the same time and walked about a hundred meters from our camping site to find a better spot to see sunrise.

Mount Cikurai behind the cloud

Mount Cikurai behind the cloud

The first thing I saw was the majestic Mount Cikurai (which I have visited on June 2014)behind all the morning cloud. The sun hadn’t shown her face yet.

The view on the other side was our group’s other camping site (the site was divided into two because the area was too small to have all the tents there). That spot was the perfect place to see the wonderful surrounding below the mountain. We went there before the sunrise to see the view and joined with the rest of our group.

The scenery on that spot was breathtaking. For me, this is one mountain I would love to visit again anytime soon. I I keep saying that I don’t want to visit the same mountain in such close time, it will have to be few years from the first time I visited the mountain, but for Mount Rakutak I would love to visit it again soon.

On one side, we got to see Mount Cikurai hiding shyly behind the cloud

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the other side, we can view the scary path called Sirathol Mustaqim. The narrow path looked better without the fog that surrounded it when I passed it through the day before. It was really green but one wrong step there could end up dying in that green.

Chicin

We could see mountain all around Mount Rakutak. It was a wonderful view but also scary at the same time because at that time we could see how Indonesia is full of active mountains ready to blow up anytime.

Fortunately it was a bright morning so we could see the tiny houses down below.

So clear that we could even see the last warung that we visited the day before. (see previous post> here)

DSC03257

Around 7 am, we went back to our camping site and began packing as we were going to start descending to Ciharus Lake. For me, it’s always double fun to climb from one side and down from another side.

Even though we didn’t pass through the scary Sirathol Mustaqim anymore but that didn’t mean the trek became easier. We still walked along the ravine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Passed through the ravine, we still had tough trek. The trek was rarely used (Mount Rakutak is not famous therefore, people rarely visit the mountain) so at some point we had to dug to pass it.

Now, here comes the unforgettable story😉

None of us ever been to this side of the mountain. We reached a T-Junction and weren’t sure which trek to take. We went to the right and found that the trek was blocked by a river. Then we went back and followed the trek on the left. The trek looked more promising. We walked for about one hour when finally heard a man’s voice, the local people. We asked him how to reach Ciharus Lake. He told us that we had taken the wrong road, we should have gone to the right trek. We went back again.

At first, we were a group of 7-8 people when we reached the T-Juction we gathered with the rest of the group (around 28 people) and decided to stay close because none of us really know the trek. We started looking around for sign, like ribbon tied to a tree. We saw the sign and followed it. The sign took us to an unusual path. We had to walk again the river stream. It was a very wet trek because it was raining and the river stream was quite fast.

The only picture I could take during our river walk

The only picture I could take during our river walk

We walked from one river to another. It was like a never ending wet-walk. Fortunately, we finally arrived there. One of my tentmates, who came about half an hour later, was already in shock due to tiredness. She had this blank face. Once she had been given hot tea and some food, she looked much better. We had a nice rest in the only warung (small shop) near the lake. Too bad it was raining, the lake didn’t look that great in the rain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We asked Pak Aceng (the warung’s owner) how to get Bandung. Ciharus Lake is in between Bandung and Garut (two cities in west Java). He told us to take the trek to the left for about one hour walk. We followed the path used by motocross bike because we were so sure it will lead us to the city. At one point the trek was a bit difficult to walk through. We followed another trek which looked easier. We were all unsure with the trek. We then followed a red ribbon on tree. We had walked about four hours, it was not a one hour walk like Pak Aceng said. Then we saw the lake again.

We though we were on the other side of the lake but were NOT on the other side of the lake, we were walking BACK to the lake. We had been walking around aimlessly for the past 5 hours just to be back on the lake again!! We immediately had a discussion and came up with an idea to ask Pak Aceng to take us out of the lake.

Fortunately Pak Aceng is a nice man, he gladly accepted our request. He would take us to his house in Garut. We started our walk to Garut right after 6 pm. It was getting dark. All the girls (6 of us) walked first, right behind Pak Aceng and the rest of the boys followed behind. There were two people with trouble on their legs…so the walk that only took less than two hours for Pak Aceng had become a four hour walk. We ran out of water, we were so tired but we continued walking. Pak Aceng told us that we were lucky because we only got lost for 5 hours, he once met a group that got lost for 3 days. Pak Aceng had been selling food and drink on that lake for more than 20 years. He told us some turns that would bring us back to the lake. The road there full of tricks.

Walking to his house was more like a zombie walk…we were so tired and yet our feet continued walking as if on reflex. But the view was great, we got to see the grand Mount Ciremai, the mountain was huge. I have just visited Mount Ciremai last weekend and will share the story soon😉

Once we reached Pak Aceng’s house, we cleaned our dirty feet and ate his food. We had to wait for our car to come from Bandung to Garut. We had just done a cross cities walk, from Bandung to Garut! (we climbed from Bandung and got down on Garut). It was the first to for all of us.

Like I said before, Mount Rakutak is full of story🙂

It’s not a high mountain, only 1922 metres above the sea level but descending it is longer than mountain with height of over 3000 metres. We climbed up around four hours (less than that is we speed up) but we descended for almost 12 hours (including the getting lost time).

Apart from that, this is the first time my blood got sucked by 6 pacets (small leeches) >> see the image> here. They were having a party. one on my left hand, one on my right arm, one on my right leg and three (side by side) on my left leg. It left this red mark after the blood stopped.

The one on my right arm

The one on my right arm

Our trek look something like this (from google earth): From Pacet (name of a town not the small leech) in Bandung to Kamojang in Garut. The red mark is mount Rakutak and the white one is Kamojang. You can also see the lake there.

Pacet to Kamojang

Every mountain has its own story 🙂 can’t wait to go to another one!!

you can see some videos (I don’t put them here because it’s already too much photos here) here> Around Mount Rakutak, Sirathol Mustaqim, Ciharus Lake.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “Mount Rakutak – Day 2 : The Day We Got Lost For 6 Hours

  1. Nekoneko
    April 15, 2015

    Woooo!! That was some trip. I bet you were really tired when it was over. Tiring, but fun I think… you sound like it was a good time.

    I got lost on a hike back in college and spent two days in the woods. Never a pleasant thing, even though I had plenty of supplies and knew I’d find my way eventually.

    That leech bite looks nasty!! Never liked bloodsucking critters…😉

    • Novroz
      April 19, 2015

      Yeah It was tiring BUT two days later I was eager to go to the next mountain😉
      It’s such an additive hobby.

      It wasn’t fun when it happened but afterward it was fun to tell about it, I mean at least I have a good memory and story to tell.

      Hahahaha me too!!! Fortunately I can’t feel pain when they sucked my blood.

  2. Binky
    April 16, 2015

    That was some adventure! I’m glad you didn’t get really lost in your trek around the lake like the ones who spent three days in the wild. Your videos were interesting too, as they give you a different view of things.

    • Novroz
      April 19, 2015

      Yeah it was really something. We were all glad we didn’t have to spent 3 days there as we had no food anymore.
      Thank you Peter🙂

  3. ruth
    April 17, 2015

    Great pics here Nov, sounds like a fun adventure but man, getting lost for 5 hours must be pretty scary! Oy, that leech bite sounds horrible, hope you’re rid of them now.

    P.S. Saw a film called X Plus Y w/ Asa Butterfield and my goodness, he looks so much like young Cillian he could practically play his son!

    • Novroz
      April 19, 2015

      Thank you Ruth🙂
      Hiking is always fun even with getting lost, I have so much stories to share from hiking. Unfortunately I still have the mark of the leech’s bites😦

      Thank you for telling me about X+Y, I have never heard about it before and saw the trailer immediately and love it!! I want to watch it now. Asa is looking good now, he wasn’t that cute when he was younger. Agree!! He can be Cillian’s son😉

      • ruth
        April 20, 2015

        Hope your leech bite marks go away soon, man that’s rough!

        Hey, I’m about to post my review of X+Y, but it’s called A Brilliant Young Mind over here.

  4. TBM
    April 17, 2015

    Lost for 3 days. I’m glad I wasn’t with that group and I know you’re adventure had it’s ups and downs, but at least you weren’t lost for 3 days.

    • Novroz
      April 19, 2015

      Hear hear!! Getting lost for three days would worry everyone at home and at work. I took a a day off because of our lost and when I got back to school, everyone was asking what had happened.

  5. Theresa
    April 23, 2015

    Getting lost there must have been nerve-wracking! I remember getting a bit lost on a hike, I was by myself and couldn’t find the right path and thought I would have to backtrack back to the last village I passed! I wasn’t lost for as long as you were though🙂
    Sounds like a great trip all in all though and nice pictures🙂

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2015

      Well, I wouldn’t call it nerve-wrecking…it was tiring but because we were together it wasn’t that nerve wrecking at all. Maybe if I was alone like when you rode your bicycle, it would be scary.

      It was a great trip🙂

  6. Alice Audrey
    April 27, 2015

    Leeches?! *Shiver*

    I hope I’m mobile enough when I get there to make it up to places like this.

    • Novroz
      April 27, 2015

      Yeah…that was some experience. Hope I never meet another one on my other hiking trip.

      Maybe you can hike Mount Agung in Bali when you visit Bali next time🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads