Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Based on True Story: Everest; The Emperor’s Cook; In The Heart of The Sea; Legend; Angker

Finally…my first viewing review in 2016 and after a long hiatus. If anyone wondered where I had been, you can read about it here>> Reasons For My Long Hiatus.

My hiatus was only on blogging, I still continued my other hobbies which are watching and hiking. I actually watched a lot of movies and TV Series BUT I will limit my first review only to Movies and TV Series based on True Story. This time I will write my review similar to the way Andina @ Inspired Ground writes her review. Unfortunately I can’t leave comments at her blog since she is using Disqus. I always had problems with that thing.

Moving on…Here are the Movies and TV Series based on True Story that I watched for the past three months:

Everest (2015)

everestI love hiking since college. When I found out about this movie, it immediately became my anticipated movie. I didn’t care who are the cast what matter to me was only the fact that it was about hiking in Mount Everest and it was based on true story.

Fortunately, the movie fulfilled the anticipation I had on it. I really like the movie for so many reasons. It didn’t have so much unnecessary drama. It only shared about there journey and the obstacles they had to face reach the summit. It also shared the preparation and how difficult it was to hike the highest mountain on earth. It felt so real and so closed to the heart. Everest showed how a true story about adventure should be made, to the point without extra drama and felt so close to those who enjoyed such adventure.

There is something interesting I about watching this movie, a colleague of mine who doesn’t like hiking watched the movie with her boyfriend who loves hiking, after watching it she said “Never hike again!” to her boyfriend. Meanwhile, I watched this with my boyfriend (which has become my husband now) and since we both love hiking, he said “When can we go there?” to me. Nice to know how the movie gave different perspective to people ๐Ÿ˜‰

Rating: 4,5 stars

Emperor’s Cook – ๅคฉ็š‡ใฎๆ–™็†็•ช (Tennล no Ryลriban) (2015)

1-150501143125This Japenese TV Series is based on the story of Akiyama Tokuzo who became the Emperor’s Cook at the age of 26. He was considered a failure in the family as he always quit whatever he had started…until one day he fell in love with western style food. He finally found his passion.

Honestly, I watched this because of Satoh Takeru, one of my favorite Japanese young actors. He won best actor for his role as Akiyama Tokuzo. Although I found some of his acting techniques a bit too much but I was quite happy to see that he could show a change of emotion from a 16 year old boy to and adult dealing with the working environment.

The series really set a good example of how you can always pursue your dream if you really want to. Akiyama’s determination to become a cook is really inspiring. However, I felt a bit disappointed with the last couple of episodes because it felt so much like a propaganda to clear the name of Emperor Hirohito’s name. I have nothing against him but I kinda wish the story stayed clear from propaganda. But, overall it was a good series.

Rating: 4 stars

Collection of Trailers

In The Heart of The Sea (2015)

In The Heart of the sea

Just like Emperor’s Cook, I watched this movie because it has my favorite actor…well my MOST favorite actor to be exact, he is (of course) Cillian Murphy. Although he is not the leading role but as always his performance steals the show. I didn’t say Chris Hemsworth is bad, actually I like him better here than in Thor but Cillian and Brendan Gleeson are theย  ones with st roger acting performances.

To be honest, despite the fact that I put this movie in my most anticipated movies of 2015 (the Cillian factor) but when I saw the trailer I was a bit disappointed…it looked like the kind of movie I don’t like, where the animals are doing stupid things (like Anaconda…snake DOES NOT eat over and over again, it eats once a week). Fortunately, though a bit exaggerated the movie still makes sense. I really like it because it gives the sense of survival rather than the smart whale itself. The survival part of the movie is the reason why I give high rating to this movie. I always enjoy good survival movie.

As an animal lover, it did annoyed me a bit when they killed the whales but then again it happened so long ago so I could still live with it.

Rating: 4 stars

Legend (2015)

LegendTom hardy is the only reason why I watched this movie. Not quite a huge fan yet but I know how great his acting is.

This movie has high rating in Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB but somehow for me it’s not that high. The story was interesting and the acting was stunning but maybe I got tired with gangster stuff (especially after watching Peaky Blinders) so I was a bit bored with it. Remember…this is just me. Maybe I can appreciate it more if I am more into gangsters movies. But overall, it’s an enjoyable movie and recommended to anyone who enjoys good acting.

Rating: 3 stars

Angker (2014)

AngkerI never heard of this movie before, my friend lent me the DVD and to my surprise, I like it. Angker is Haunted in English.

A family just moved in to a house which turned out to be haunted. It was haunted because a powerful Dukun Santet (shaman witchcraft) was murdered there. Her spirit haunted the house and wouldn’t let anyone lived in it. The wife had to face the spirit to protect her children.

It was quite good because it had no exaggerated surprise scenes. The spirit appears in normal way…it was quite scary though it didn’t make the viewers jump up. The flow of the story was also nice and easy to follow. I recommend this to all horror lovers

Rating: 3 stars

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

18 comments on “Based on True Story: Everest; The Emperor’s Cook; In The Heart of The Sea; Legend; Angker

  1. nadiafriza
    January 30, 2016

    Everest is indeed a very good movie ๐Ÿ™‚ watched it with hubby, and really wished we could hike again after the baby born

    I also like In the heart of the sea ๐Ÿ™‚ havent watched Legend though

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2016

      Same plan here. Would love to go hike again once the baby is born…or maybe easy mountain during pregnancy ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. le0pard13
    January 30, 2016

    I was indeed surprised how much I enjoyed Everest. Looking forward to catching the rest of those you’ve reviewed up, Novroz. Thanks.

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2016

      Me too…I didn’t expect Everest would be that good.
      I will try writing about the rest soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. KDKH
    January 30, 2016

    Great variety here. I don’t like to watch movies very much, but the Everest movie might be worth it. Thanks!

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2016

      I don’t limit my movies that much…well, except romantic drama, other than that I’ll watch them all.
      I hope you can enjoy Everest as much as I do ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Nekoneko
    January 31, 2016

    Everest is one of those movies I’ve been wanting to see, but we’ve been so busy that a night at the theater is hard to manage. Probably once it hits DVD.

    Angker sounds like my kind of movie too. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for a DVD…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Novroz
      February 7, 2016

      I think it’s already on DVD now, go and try watching it, for a nature girl like you I know you’ll like it ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Hope you can find Angker…but I must warn you, there’s no silly scenes there (like most Indonesian horror movies) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Dennis the Vizsla
    February 1, 2016

    hello novroz its dennis the vizsla dog hay i think dada just went and put that angker moovee in the kyoo!!! i wil hav to hide under the sofa wen he watches it!!! ok bye

    • Novroz
      February 7, 2016

      Hi Dennis ๐Ÿ™‚
      Don’t worry Dennis, the movie is not that scary…don’t hide and watch it together with your dad ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Andina
    February 1, 2016

    Didn’t know you can’t comment on Inspired Ground, that figures ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but you can comment on my other blog. I haven’t watch these movies, though I heard The Heart of The Sea was good. Nice that you are inspired by my monthly reviews

    • Novroz
      February 7, 2016

      Yeah…I always have problems with diaqus…and I think I am not the only one because I saw that your blog has less comments than before.

      Other blog? which one?

      Yeah…I kinda don’t have time to copy paste the cast, director, etc … so your kind of review is better for me now ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Andina
        February 9, 2016

        Oh I thought because I post less in my blog too, but that kind of makes sense. It’s my personal blog, you once visited.
        I know, writing cast and director for several films can be a handful

        • Novroz
          February 13, 2016

          This is only opinion but less writing doesn’t mean less comments because I also write less now but people are still commenting, especially my blogger friends.

          Ah yes I remember…I will check that blog again soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. ruth
    February 5, 2016

    Great recap Nov! I almost saw Everest last weekend but didn’t get around to it so maybe this weekend. LEGEND was ok movie-wise but watchable because of the charismatic Tom Hardy. I’ll watch In the Heart of the Sea for Cillian, not really a fan of Hemsworth. Btw, I have a new crush, another Brit actor Sam Riley and he’s gonna be in a film w/ Cillian called FREE FIRE that I can’t wait to see. Interestingly enough, Cillian was almost cast in the biopic CONTROL as Ian Curtis but the director thought he was a bit too short so the role went to Riley ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      February 7, 2016

      Thank you Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚

      I would love to know what you think of Everest. So true about Legend…Tom hardy made the movie watchable.

      Really?? I haven’t been following Cillian’s new info due to all the hectic…will soon catch up. Never heard of Ian Curtis before, I will try to look him up soon. Poor Cillian, discriminated due to his height ๐Ÿ˜‰

      You know, my husband is taller than Cillian…and white people normally taller than us Asian ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Alice Audrey
    February 9, 2016

    LOL “When can we go there.” I sometimes think the same, though I am already too far past my best health and will probably only make it if someone takes me in my helicopter.

    You saw a bunch of good movies this time. Well, mostly good. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      February 13, 2016

      You know, helicopter can’t even reach the top of Mount Everest…it’s in the movie. I was quite surprise at that fact.

      I think it’s going to be hard to climb that mountain even if the person is at his/her best health.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€œSaya menyimpan kepribadian saya di lockerโ€

COPYRIGHT

ยฉ Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads