Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Battle of Surabaya & Attack on Titans

Indonesian would say: lama tidak berjumpa
Japanese would say: お久しぶり (ohisashiburi)
…It means long time no see 😉

I didn’t realize till recently that my last post in this blog was more than a month ago. I am busier than I thought. I still have time to have fun but I rarely have time to sit in front of computer to write things I want to write. I should try to post something at least once a week.

Anyway, I watched two movies in cinema this past couple of weeks. One of them was my most anticipated movie of this year.

Battle of Surabaya (2015)

New_Poster_Battle_of_Surabaya_the_movie_dolbyDirector: Aryanto Yuniawan
Voice actors: Ian Saybani, Reza Rahardian, Tanaka Hidetoshi, Maudy Ayunda, Sarryl Wilson, Jason Williams
Rating: 2 stars

Plot:

Musa, a shoe shinner, was living in the transition time from the fall of Japanese Empire to the freedom of Indonesia and the coming back of British and Dutch to Indonesia to re-occupy the country. He was appointed to be the courier of secret letter between the republican who were unwilling to let go the new gained freedom.

My Thought:

I have to admit that I RARELY watch Indonesian movie in cinema because most of them are drama. I don’t need to use two hands to count the number of Indonesian movies I had watched in cinema. When I saw the trailer of Battle of Surabaya, I was instantly intrigued. I always like 2D animation more than 3D or digital animation…2D feels more artistic and sincere to me. From the title and the trailer, I expected to see the legendary battle that become the day we commemorated our “Heroes’ Day“.

HOWEVER, what I got was far from what I expected!!

Animation wise, it was okay. It had many flaws BUT since this is the first Indonesian 2D animation movie (as far as I remember, correct me if I am wrong), I couldn’t complain much…to be honest, I like the animation with all its flaws.

Story wise, now this is where I felt so disappointed. They shouldn’t use The Battle of Surabaya as the title as the war itself was NOT even in the movie. It should be called something like before the war or other title except that one because it deceived people. The story focused more on the relationship between Musa and Yumna. Apart from that, there was also some secret ninja-like organization which was never in the history…but it’s okay as the spice of the movie. But…the long awaited war scene of the awesome heroes that had defended this country was not even shown…Musa suddenly came to see the already ruined Surabaya. I was so disappointed!!

I know the tag was “There’s no Glory in War” …so DON’T call it the Battle of Surabaya because it was totally misleading. I wish the movie can give more pride to what the heroes had done to protect this country.

I appreciate the effort of making this animation but I truly can’t appreciate the story.

Trailer (Indonesian version)

English version

進撃の巨人 – Shingeki no Kyojin – Attack on Titans (2015)

attack-titan-live-action-movieDirector: Higuchi Shinji
Staring: Miura Haruma, Mizuhara Kiko, Hongo Kanata, Miura Takahara, Hasegawa Hiroki, Sakuraba Nanami, Ishihara Satomi
My anime review: Shingeki No Kyojin (Attack on Titan) – When Human is Nothing but a Cattle
Rating: 3,5 stars

Plot:

Over a century ago, mankind faced a new enemy. The difference of power between mankind and their new found enemy was overwhelming. Soon, mankind was driven to the brink of extinction. The surviving humans built three walls: the Maria, the Rose and the Sina. They lived the next century in peace, under their protection. However, ….

My Thought:

I am not going to write long plot because I had written it when I wrote my anime review (you can read it by clicking the link above)…this is pure on what I thought of the movie.

I had mentioned that Attack on Titan is one of my most anticipated movies of 2015. A lot of fans of the anime or manga seemed to have doubts on the live action version of Attack on Titan, since Japanese adaptation of manga or anime rarely disappointing me so I waited and watched the movie open-mindedly. I ignored all the bad comment about the actors being all Japanese whereas in the anime they were mostly European…I ignored those comments because they are just nonsense!

Let’s start with the bad side of the live action: I only have one word for that – MIKASA!! I seriously hate how they change Mikasa’s character to some sappy and annoying girl. She turned into the object of love and such weak girl. When she finally became strong she turned into an annoying girl. I really Mikasa in the anime, she was so strong (stronger than Eren) but she would give her life just to protect Eren from everything. This change on Mikasa is the one thing that annoyed me the most.

Apart from Mikasa…I really enjoy the live action movie even with all the changes in the stories and everything. In my opinion, the way they change the story is understandable. The anime has 25 episodes that can easily covers everything from the manga version but in a 2 hour live action, they have to change something so that the audience can at least understand what’s going on. I can easily accept the way they changed the details of the stories.

Now…what I like the most from this live action is definitely the atmosphere when the titans appeared. They gave the sense of creepiness and doom to all humanity. The way they created the titans was really awesome, I enjoy every bit of it. The final fight was also enjoyable to see. However, the scenes with the titans is definitely NOT for those who don’t like lots of blood in a movie. There were some scene where I couldn’t bear to see and I am not the kind who has problem with gore scenes.

Overall…despite all the changes, I really like the live action version of Attack on Titan and can’t wait to see part 2.

Have you watched any of these movies?

I (once again) have different opinion with imdb rating 😉 Battle of Surabaya got high rating in imdb and Attack on Titan got low rating in imdb … and yet for me, it was the other way around.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

16 comments on “Battle of Surabaya & Attack on Titans

  1. Alice Audrey
    September 17, 2015

    It’s not just the title of Battle of Surabaya that makes you think it’s going to be a war movie. The trailer looks like it too, with only a hint of anything but war. False advertising.

    The trailer of Attack on Titan looks great, but all I really want is to know the end of the story.

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2015

      Yes, the trailer is also deceiving. I want to see another war movie about our famous hero…I hope that one will not disappoint me like this one.

      I am going to see part 2 this weekend…the ending will definitely be different to the manga/anime

  2. sidekickreviews
    September 17, 2015

    I’m going to watch the anime first before the live action version of Attack on Titan. Too bad to hear about Mikasa in the movie, of what I’ve seen of the anime so far she’s is so cool and genius.

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2015

      I agree with you!! I really like Mikasa in the anime, I just don’t like damsel in distress kind of female…BUT that’s how they portrayed her in the movie. So sad

  3. Binky
    September 17, 2015

    I thought maybe you got lost on a mountain or something! Glad to see you back.

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2015

      I hope that will never happen, Peter 😉
      Glad to be back but still can’t fully be back yet 😦

  4. KDKH
    September 18, 2015

    I don’t like it when I have too much fun to have time to post! I really like the time of reflection and putting it together. However, I’ve been in the same boat of being too busy to post much. Good luck!

    • Novroz
      September 30, 2015

      Thank you Karel 🙂

      I have 3 hiking post which are still on delay. Maybe I should spend one weekend just to write as much as I can and scheduled the post

      • KDKH
        September 30, 2015

        Good luck with that! Sometimes blogging is hard for all of us to fit in.

        • Novroz
          October 8, 2015

          Thank you Karel. Yes it is but it’s still one of my favorite things to do, so I will make time for it 😉

  5. xeristh
    October 3, 2015

    I agree with Battle of Surabaya. The only best thing about the film is it is the first animation movie in Indonesia. The art isn’t bad.

    I haven’t see AoT yet, and not planned too. Most live-action adaptation make the story differ from original 😦

    • Novroz
      October 8, 2015

      Agree!! The art is great considering it’s the first movie…but the story needs a lot of work out.

      From what I see in Japanese adaptation, the changes are often as good as the original….like Kenshin, it was one of the best the adaptations I have ever seen.

  6. Pingback: Attack On Titans Part 2 – Worst Adaptation I Have Seen So Far | Polychrome Interest

  7. Mosyi
    December 2, 2015

    Keknya itu pake title Battle of Surabaya sebagai strategi marketing ya, secara teasernya juga mengesankan begitu.. Hmm.
    Semoga kedepannya lebih baik ya, animasi lokal. Memang semuanya harus in-sync sih, baik dari sisi animator dan masalah keteknisan lain, sampai ke sisi marketing dsb. Saya rasa jangan2 pihak animator / yg punya cerita kecewa dengan strategi marketing yg dipilih, tapi terpaksa harus ngalah sama produser, yg penting film mereka bisa masuk bioskop mainstream. Dan saya rasa kita harus appreciate kemauan produser memproduseri animasi lokal yang mana keuntungannya belum terjamin.

    Semangat Indonesia! Kita pasti bisa!

    • Novroz
      December 3, 2015

      Iya, sayang sekali marketingnya tidak sesuai. Tapi sy setuju bahwa kita harus ttp dukung dan semoga ke depannya animasi Indonesia semakin baik 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads