Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Ruth’s Recommendations : Her and Birdman

My fellow movie blogger, Ruth @ Flixchatter has a more focus movie blog than I am…well, I guess I am less focus compared to all my fellow movie bloggers as my blog is so random. Anyway, Ruth and I often have similar taste BUT we also have extremely different taste. Ruth love romance while I hardly ever watch romance, she hates horror while I am very attracted to horror, etc. Despite all those differences, I often take her recommendation seriously because sometimes we have same opinion.

These two movies I watched recently are based on Ruth’s great reviews. You can read her review here> Spike Jonze’s Her and Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). Her reviews intrigued me. To be honest, I hardly know the movies exist till I read her reviews. I have to admit that lately I am a bit out of touch with Hollywood movies, I am currently more interested with Japanese movies update.

After watching those two movies…unfortunately, I have different opinion to her. While she loves them both, I don’t like one of them. Can you guess which one even before reading my review? 😉

Let’s just start the review…or more what I think of the movie.

Her (2013)

her_ver2_xxlgDirector: Spike Jonze
Staring: Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams, Rooney Mara, Olivia Wilde, Scarlett Johansson, Lili Salas
Rating: 1,5 stars

Story (copied from imdb):

A lonely writer develops an unlikely relationship with his newly purchased operating system that’s designed to meet his every need.

My Thought:

Well, it bored me to death!! Sorry, seriously NOT my kind of movie. I wouldn’t say the movie is bad as you can see from the poster (which I choose deliberately) that the movie wins so much award and the critics loved it. Unfortunately, I am never into serious romance. I thought I might like this because the romance is between human and AI, but still the level of serious romance is too much for me and it’s hard to keep my eyes open. Apart from that, I have seen so many human and AI’s love story in Japanese drama, manga and anime so it isn’t anything special anymore for me…plus those Japanese stuff always have element of fun into it not just serious romance.

The thing that keep me from not turning it off is Joaquin Phoenix’ acting. It’s like he was acting all by himself and he made the best out of it. I always enjoy great one man performance, yes it’s a not a one man show but to me it’s more like one man show as everything is about Theodore (Phoenix’ character). Apart from the act, I also wonder how it’ll end…but I am going to be honest here, I skip some scenes so that I can see the ending.

Again, I have to say…it’s not the movie, it’s me. If you like serious romance you would like this movie.

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (2014)

birdman_xxlg_1200_400_widthDirector: Alejandro G. Iñárritu
Staring: Michael Keaton, Zach Galifianakis, Edward Norton, Andrea Riseborough, Amy Ryan, Emma Stone, Naomi Watts
Rating: 4 stars

Story (copied from imdb):

A washed-up actor, who once played an iconic superhero, battles his ego and attempts to recover his family, his career and himself in the days leading up to the opening of his Broadway play.

My Thought:

Now…this is the kind of movie that I like. Unusual, quirky, out of the box and overall weird movie that you can’t predict the things that will happen next.

Although it’s completely different, it kinda remind me of Being John Malkovich, not in the sense of the story but in the sense of its being unusual movie.

The story makes perfect sense as we can see there are sooo many superhero movies nowadays and most of the actors become incredibly famous after becoming the hero but we are not sure they can truly act. Christian Bale is an exception because we all know he can act awesomely…let’s Robert Downey Junior as Ironman, I haven’t yet seen any amazing act done by him in another movie. Birdman is showing that kind of fact. Riggan Thomson (Micheal Keaton) was famous for being a superhero but his true talent in acting hadn’t been proved yet. He tried to show to everyone that he can act and he wanted show it through his play.

The basic story is quite simple but the process is not as simple as that. They take us through reality and imagination, real friend’s advices and imaginary friend’s advice, personal problem and a whole company problem…Alejandro G. Iñárritu had combined them all in a great script and followed by great performances. Micheal Keaton (I always like him) was amazing, he delivered all the emotion perfectly. Edward Norton was also amazing, I love how annoying he is in this movie…so annoying that it feels so real.The rest of the cast are also great but the main attraction for me are Keaton and Norton.

The movie is full of humor…not the kind of humor you will see in comedy, I am not sure how to say it but the comedy is there. One of the examples is when Keaton and Norton were discussing something and the way they talked was in sync with the beat of drum played by a street performance.

I really like the movie. I am glad Ruth has shared the review and I had read it 🙂

So, Thank you for the recommendation my dear friend, Ruth 🙂

I am glad I have stumbled on your review or else I would missed Birdman.

Has anyone of you seen these movies? And what do you think?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 comments on “Ruth’s Recommendations : Her and Birdman

  1. Andina
    July 4, 2015

    Well no surprise since romance isn’t your food. I personally loved Her and Birdman. But glad you loved Birdman! It’s my number 1 movie from 2014. Totally out of the box.

    • Novroz
      July 5, 2015

      Well at least I have tried 😉
      It’s a learning process and it seems that I really can’t stand romance…unless if it’s a comedy or a side story.

      Yup, I like out of the box kinda story and Birdman really delivered

  2. le0pard13
    July 4, 2015

    Believe it or not, I’ve still not yet either of these. Bad, I know. You’ve reminded me I need to, at least out of curiosity. Thanks, Novroz.

    • ruth
      July 5, 2015

      OMG Michael, please get to both of them immediately! 😀

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2015

      Ow Mike! Do watch the movies, at least Birdman. You might like it 🙂

  3. sidekickreviews
    July 4, 2015

    I would say Birdman has black comedy. Funny, Birdman is one of my favourites movies from 2014 and Her is one of my favourites from 2013. I had a feeling Birdman would be the one you liked. 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2015

      Ah, so it’s called black comedy. Thank you for letting me know.

      If I watched Birdman in 2014, it would also be one of my favs. Yeah romance really not my thing

  4. Genki Jason
    July 5, 2015

    I regret not seeing Birdman when it was in cinemas. I don’t regret not seeing the film you hated 😉

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2015

      Have you watched it? In DVD.
      It’s still great even in DVD, but then again for me drama is better in DVD than cinema. Cinema is for something loud.

      Hahaha…maybe you would like Her, Jason 😉

      • Genki Jason
        July 6, 2015

        The trailer for Her didn’t appeal to me that much so your review makes me think I’m not missing much.

        I’ll watch Birdman eventually!

        • Novroz
          July 8, 2015

          Let me know if you have seen Birdman 🙂

  5. ruth
    July 5, 2015

    Hi Nov, thanks for the shout out and I’m glad you gave both a shot though I realize neither of these is for everyone. My boss hated HER too and I kinda felt bad as I highly recommended it to him. I absolutely loved that film, but I can see why others don’t. But hey, glad you at least like Birdman!

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2015

      You’re welcome 🙂
      I do enjoy your reviews and they are very intriguing…but yeah I guess it all come down to preference. I guess it’s hard to start liking serious romance in any kind of form.

      I really like Birdman, thank you for that one 🙂

  6. SusanElizabeth
    July 6, 2015

    I didn’t care for Her either! It angers and bewilders people that I didn’t like it but it bored me as well. Maybe I’ll re-watch it someday and change my mind but it wasn’t for me. I still didn’t see Birdman but plan to.

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2015

      I think it’s not the kind of movie that can be liked by many.
      Are you sure you’re going to re-watch it? I had enough one time and will never watch it again even when there is nothing else to watch. For me, there are too many movies and series to watch rather then revisiting the boring movie just to know whether I will like the second time.

      Do watch Birdman, you might like it 😉

      • SusanElizabeth
        July 13, 2015

        Good point. Maybe I’ll skip it. Sometimes when I dislike a movie but it’s critically acclaimed I’ll go watch it again several years later and it works for me for some reason. I don’t know why exactly. But I really particularly found this movie to be dull. At least you think so too! =)

        • Novroz
          July 15, 2015

          Ah I see…well maybe this one will also work for you again 😉

          It never work for me. Once I think it’s dull, it stays dull.

          • SusanElizabeth
            July 16, 2015

            Ha…Probably not! B O R I N G movie!! =)

  7. Alice Audrey
    July 9, 2015

    Your blog isn’t random. It’s eclectic. 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads