Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Back to Back Ghibli : The Wind Rises & The Cat Returns

Studio Ghibli

During my internet hiatus (due to some malfunction in the WiFi connection) I watched quite a lot of movies…well, not really that many but more than my usual viewing when internet was normal. I was in the mood to watch animation, I have shared my review of How To Train Your Dragon 2 and Stand By Me Doraemon> here. And now, I will share another 2 animation from the best animation studio, Studio Ghibli.

I do believe I have shared so many times how I love Ghibli, while everyone else I know seems to cheer for Pixar or Disney or other animation studios, my heart still belongs to Ghibli, they still create amazing animated movies.

風立ちぬ – Kaze Tachinu – The Wind Rises (2013)

the_wind_rises_poster

Director: Miyazaki Hayao
Voice Actors: Anno Hideaki, Takimoto Miori, Nishijima Hidetoshi, Nishimura Masahiko, Steve Alpert, Kazama Morio, Takeshita Keiko, Shida Mirai, Kunimura Jun, Otake Shinobu, Mansai Nomura
Rating: 3 stars

Story:

The Wind Rises is a fictionalized biopic of Jiro Horikoshi (1903–1982), designer of the Mitsubishi A5M fighter aircraft and its successor, the Mitsubishi A6M Zero, used by the Empire of Japan during World War II.

Jiro had been fascinated with airplane since childhood. He wanted to be a pilot but his eyes prevented him (even till this day, one has to have good eyes to be accepted as pilot). He read about Giovanni Battista Caproni,a famous Italian aircraft designer, and dreamt of meeting him. From that dream he learnt that making an airplane is better than flying it.

In his journey to become an aircraft designer, he met a girl whom later became his wife.

Not much to tell about the story which was basically about Jiro and his way of designing aircraft and his love life with Nahoko Satomi

My Thought:

The Wind Rises gains so much praise from media and critics, however I am not a critic nor a media therefore my thought is purely mine. For me, in term of story; The Wind Rises is the most boring Ghibli animation I have ever seen. Somewhere in the middle I felt like turning it off and watched something else but fortunately the animation itself was still as stunning as ever so I could continue watching it.

Again it is purely me, I always enjoy animated movies when the imagination is beyond live action movies (in other word movies with human actors). What the Wind Rises offers is something that can easily be made into a live action movies. I think I would enjoy it more if it’s a live action (like the way I enjoy The Eternal Zero) but seeing it as an animation just bored me. I remember watching Grave of The Fireflies and enjoyed it a lot despite the fact that the story is more into a live action kind a movie but Grave has power that The Wind Rises lacks of.

I am not going to say that the Wind Rises is a bad animated movie but I am going to clearly say that it’s not my kind of animated movie and I most likely will not watch it again (unlike Spirited Away which I have seen countless times).

I still give it 3 stars because of it’s stunning visual…something that Ghibli can be proud of, they always make animation with breathtaking visual.

猫の恩返しNeko no Ongaeshi – The Cat Returns (2002)

the-cat-returns-movie-poster-2002-1020477175Director: Morita Hiroyuki
Voice actors: Ikewaki Chizuru, Hakamada Yoshihiko, Watanabe Tetsu, Saito Yosuke, Maeda Aki, Tamba Tetsurō
Rating: 4 stars

Story:

Haru saved a cat from being hit by a truck. Her act of kindness led her to a life full of talking cats and living statues.

The cat that was saved by Haru was a Prince of Cat Kingdom. The King wanted to repay her by giving her anything she wanted and offered the Prince’s hand in marriage.

Out of confusion, Haru asked for help from the Cat Bureau where she met the fat cat Muta, the living cat figurine, Baron and a living stone raven, Toto.

My thought:

I really like this animated movie! It was fun and entertaining. It’s a fairy tale with an ending unlike typical fairy tale. I like the irony of helping someone leads to one problem to another. I like every cats in the Cat Kingdom. There’s even Cats in Black, so cool!

the-cat-returns-(2002)-large-picture

This is the kind of animated movie that I like; the kind where I can’t predict what’ll happen next, where I laugh in so many little things and where everything feels real even though it’s a complete fantasy.

Story wise, I really enjoy it even though it a bit too fast in some part, however visually it’s not in the same level as most Ghibli animated movies. Compared to The Wind Rises, The Cat Returns failed big time BUT since I am used to seeing Japanese Anime I have no problem with the type of drawing for this one.

As you can see, out these two Ghibli animated movies, the one I will watch again is certainly The Cat Returns. The story is more to my liking that the Wind Rises, however don’t make my review become your only recommendation as for many people The Wind Rises is better than The Cat Returns.

Have you seen both animated movies? Please share what you think of them.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “Back to Back Ghibli : The Wind Rises & The Cat Returns

  1. Binky
    June 30, 2015
    • Novroz
      June 30, 2015

      Wow…didn’t there is a car named Ghibli.
      I like the studio more😉

  2. ruth
    June 30, 2015

    This reminds me I still need to see The Wind Rises, but unfortunately it’s no longer streaming on Netflix😦

    • Novroz
      July 3, 2015

      I think you would like The Wind Rises way more than me😉

      Ah I thought everything on netflix is permanent like all the streaming sites

  3. sidekickreviews
    July 1, 2015

    I agree with everything you said about The Wind Rises. I also find it boring but I can’t say it was bad. The critics seem to like it lol.😀

    • Novroz
      July 4, 2015

      I think it’s the kind of movie that has great appeal to certain people….and unfortunately we aren’t one of them😉

  4. Alice Audrey
    July 9, 2015

    My dd is with you on the love of Ghibli. Of course that might be partly because we have made disparaging remarks about Disney.

    I haven’t seen either of these yet. I’ll have to be sure I do.

    • Novroz
      July 10, 2015

      Yeaaa…always nice to know that there are other Ghibli fans🙂
      In my opinion, Disney needs to be more creative in term of story. The visual is already okay but the story is often too predictable.

      Hope you can watch it soon🙂

  5. dhitzunako
    July 14, 2015

    Hi, Nov.🙂
    Cat Returns is FUN all the way.
    Btw, bisa-bisanya, ya, karakter Prince dibuat sedemikian rupa sampe2 kalo gue kucing, Prince itu pasti kucing terkewren sedunia.😀😀

    • Novroz
      July 15, 2015

      Iyaaaa!!!
      Hahaha Si Prince sama baron bisa terlihat ganteng bgt gitu…padahal kan kucing (^_^;)

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads