Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Peaky Blinder Series 2 – A Review

Peaky Blinders Logo

 I have been delaying writing my review of this second series of Peaky Blinders because I have so many feelings toward it…not entirely on the positive side.

Back in 2013, I wrote 10 Reasons Why You Should Watch Peaky Blinders; the reasons are: The Characters, The Story/Plot, Thomas Shelby, Strong Female Characters, The Music, The Setting and The Cinematography, The Cast, Based on True Story, Less Violence, and of course Cillian Murphy.

Most of those ten reasons still can be found in Peaky Blinders Series 2 and that makes series watchable….but there are also other things that slightly took my interest away.

Let’s start with the good stuff first.

Peaky Blinders 2 still focuses on the Shelby Family. Thomas Shelby is still as cold as ice and frighten by everyone in Birmingham. He is still the brain of the family. He wants to expand his business to London and to do that he needs to pick a side. There’s a war between gang lord Alfie Solomons and crime boss Darby Sabini. Thomas picks Solomons’ side. At the same time, Major Campbell has chosen him to assassinate someone on behalf of the country.

This series has put Thomas in a tough position. He has to obey Campbell and has to protect his family and his family’s business. In this series – which also going to be in the next series – we get to see new member of the Shelbies and it seems like this new member has some hidden agendas.

The characters in this second series are still as strong and as interesting as previous series. The addition of Tom Hardy only makes it even better. The plot, the cinematography and the music are still fantastic…with the addition of Arctic Monkeys in the background music. What I like about the plot is the way Thomas tries to entangle the web of intrigues around him, he keeps everything to himself and comes up with dangerous ideas.

The actors are still brilliant…each and everyone of them shows a world class acting! I don’t need to mention every actors because everyone plays wonderfully. However, the highlight is of course on Cillian Murphy, Helen McCrory, San Neill, Tom Hardy and Noah Taylor. Those actors are brilliant beyond words. There’s an interesting thing I want to share, my roommate watched one episode with me and she clearly said that Cillian looked so scary here, he was so cold and evil. How could he be like that? … well, I simply smile and that’s the reason why he is my most favorite actor in the world 😉

However, here comes the part that makes me like this series less than the first series. I mentioned in the 10 reasons that Less Violence is one of the reasons…unlike the first series, there are more violence in second series. I know that we can’t escape from violent scenes when the story is about gangsters BUT I like the way the first series managed to give the sense of violent gangsters without much violent scenes. The atmosphere already tells everyone that The Shelby is to be scared for their violent action.

John Shelby in Peaky Blinders

There are more sex scenes in the second series. I know that this isn’t a problem for many people but I kinda like a series with less sex and nude scenes. As I have mentioned in my Game of Throne review (here), if it’s essential to the story, I don’t mind such scenes but I do mind when it is used as an unimportant part of the story. There is a scene of Arthur having sex and Thomas pass by ignoring them…that kind of scene always put me off because seriously Arthur having sex is not important!

Overall, Peaky Blinders is still a great show…the reasons why I like it less than the first series is more to a very personal opinion. The plot and the intrigues are still the best parts of this series.

Despite some of my reluctance, I am still eagerly waiting for the third series 🙂 … for the story and of course for this amazing talented Irish man with amazing blue eyes 😉

Cillian Murphy - Shelby

Trailer:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 Miniseries detail:

Director: Colm McCarthy
Scriptwriter: Stephen Knight
Starring: Cillian Murphy, Sam Neill, Helen McCrory, Tom Hardy, Noah Taylor, Paul Anderson, Annabelle Wallis, Charlotte Riley, Sophie Rundle, Joe Cole, Aimee-Ffion Edwards, Harry Kirton
Rating: 4 stars

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “Peaky Blinder Series 2 – A Review

  1. sidekickreviews
    June 5, 2015

    I still haven’t finished Peaky Blinders series 1. 😦 I liked it but it never got addicting for me. Cool to know Tom Hardy is in series 2, that gives me another reason to catch up .

    • Novroz
      June 5, 2015

      Awww…I hope you can finish it soon 🙂
      But I know it’s not a series for everyone

  2. Alice Audrey
    June 5, 2015

    I’m watching. I’m definitely watching it.

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2015

      Looking forward to know what you think of this series 🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        June 18, 2015

        We watched all of Season One before running into problems with Netflix. Love it! It’s just as you described.

        • Novroz
          June 19, 2015

          Hope you can enjoy the second series soon 🙂

  3. ruth
    June 6, 2015

    Hey Nov! I’ve been meaning to check this out on Netflix, as soon as I can actually stop watching EVERYTHING my dear Stanley is in 😉 Funny you said that you haven’t reviewed this sooner, I feel the same about Stanley’s projects, I actually have not dedicated a blog post on him yet, I only sprinkle little things about him here and there, but I REALLY do need to do a post on him and review one of his movies. I’m so in love w/ him I can’t even…

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2015

      I am a bit late in reviewing this because of the content. You know me, I would write about actors I like straight away without delay 😉

      As you are in love with Stanley, I am currently in love with Kamiki Ryunosuke 😉

  4. Scott Larsen
    July 10, 2015

    I agree completely. My wife would enjoy the first season, but not the second. The violence (especially the jail cell scene) was not needed. I hope Season 3 gets back to the feel of season 1.

    • Novroz
      July 15, 2015

      I am so glad some else has the same opinion as me.
      Yeah I really hope they will do that instead of adding more violence to series 3

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads