Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Best Friend Forever : How To Train Your Dragon 2 & Stand By Me Doraemon

Best Friends

First of all…I am so glad my dorm’s net is finally fixed. I really miss blogging🙂

During my internet hiatus, I saw a lot of movies. I wish I can share them all with one post per day…but it was an impossible wish since I also have tons of school work.

Anyway…the first two movies I want to review have the same theme…interspecies relationship; a dragon with human and a cat-robot with human. I always have soft spot for such relationship as I have my own interspecies relationship (although people would call it as pets)

IMG_20140928_075828

 Let’s just start the review🙂

How To Train Your Dragon 2 (2014)

how-to-train-your-dragon-2-posterDirectors: Dean DeBlois
Starring (voices) : Jay Baruchel, Cate Blanchett, Gerard Butler, Craig Ferguson, America Ferrera, Jonah Hill, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, T.J. Miller, Kristen Wiig, Djimon Hounsou, Kit Harington
Based on: How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell
Rating: 5 stars

Story: (copied from google)

Five years have passed since Hiccup and Toothless united the dragons and Vikings of Berk. Now, they spend their time charting the island’s unmapped territories. During one of their adventures, the pair discover a secret cave that houses hundreds of wild dragons — and a mysterious dragon rider who turns out to be Hiccup’s long-lost mother, Valka (Cate Blanchett). Hiccup and Toothless then find themselves at the center of a battle to protect Berk from a power-hungry warrior named Drago.

My Thought:

I would say this sequel is better than the first one. Despite all the praise on the first movie I was only amazed with the animation and the relationship between Hiccup and Toothless, the story didn’t impress me much. I gave 4 stars for the first movie because of Hiccup and Toothless relationship, I gave 5 stars for the second movie because of them, the visual and the story.

Hiccup and Toothless showed how friendship can overcome everything. Their relationship is so beautiful and heartwarming. The visual is also amazing, I love seeing the flying effect of those dragon and how they all look so gorgeous with their bright colors. I applaud the ones who created those many species of dragons. All of them are stunning. As for the story, this is the best part…as I finally see a Hollywood animation with realistic story, not a perfect happy ending where everyone seems to live happily ever after without nothing to lose. When that happens (couldn’t say what because it’s a major spoiler) I was so surprise and appreciated the movie even more. Realistic situation in an imagination story always makes the story a lot better.

Stand By Me ドラえもん (2014)

stand-by-me-doraemon-posterDirectors: Yamazaki Takashi, Yagi Ryūichi
Starring (voices): Mizuta Wasabi, Ohara Megumi, Kakazu Yumi, Kimura Subaru, Seki Tomokazu, Kamei Yoshiko, Yamazaki Vanilla, Hagino Shihoko, Takagi Wataru, Mitsuishi Kotono, Matsumoto Yasunori, Takeuchi Miyako, Tahara Aruno, Tsumabuki Satoshi.
Based on: Doraemon by Fujiko Fujio ( the movie is to commemorate the 80th anniversary of Fujiko’s birthday)
Rating: 4,5 stars

Story: (copied from imdb)

In the suburbs of Tokyo some time ago, there lived a clumsy boy about 10 years old. There appeared in front of him named Sewashi, Nobita’s descendant of four generations later from the 22nd century, and Doraemon, a 22nd century cat-type caretaker robot who helps people with its secret gadgets. Sewashi claims that his family is suffering from the debts Nobita made even to his generation, so in order to change this disastrous future, he brought along Doraemon as Nobita’s caretaker to bring happiness to his future, although Doraemon is not happy about this. And so Sewashi installed an accomplishment program into Doraemon forcing him to take care of Nobita. Unless he makes Nobita happy, Doraemon can no longer go back to the 22nd century. This is how the life of Doraemon and Nobita begins. Will Doraemon succeed this mission and return to the 22nd century?

My Thought:

Doraemon…who wouldn’t love him? Almost every child in Indonesia grew up with Doraemon. Everyone knows Doraemon and all items with Doraemon in it are just adorable.

What I like about this movie was the way it sums up all the important elements of Doraemon-the series. The first time Doraemon meets Nobita and how their relationship grows bring back so many memory from my teenage years. They way Nobita keeps using Doraemon and his amazing gadgets reminds me of my silly wishes to have Doraemon’s gadgets. Dokodemo Doa (Door to anywhere) is always my favorite.

Although the story focuses on two things, Nobita’s dream to marry Shizuka and of course Nobita and Doraemon’s friendship but for me the Nobita-Shizuka part is nothing but the sweet part of the movie, the best and most adorable part is still the relationship between Doraemon and Nobita. The movie isn’t as sad as I expected it to be (That’s why I didn’t watch it in cinema because I was afraid I might end up with puffy eyes) but it still touches my heart. And just like most Japanese movies/animations, we can learn so much from the story, like depending on our own strength and there’s always time to say goodbye.

As for the animation, it takes time to get use to the 3D version of Doraemon as I always watch it in 2D…but I like it. Doraemon is way cuter in 3D, we can see his emotion more in this form.

Overall…it’s a great movie.

I love this quote:

“I was taking things that were truly important for granted”

You can read a more detailed review of Stand By Me Doraemon at Inspired Ground.

I simply love these two movies a lot…they simply show that love and friendship know no boundary.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

29 comments on “Best Friend Forever : How To Train Your Dragon 2 & Stand By Me Doraemon

  1. KDKH
    May 20, 2015

    I had no idea that “How to Train Your Dragon” had a sequel out! I enjoyed the first movie and it looks like I will enjoy the second one too. I’ll keep an eye out for it. Thanks for the review. If I see the second one, I’ll give it a try too, on the strength of your recommendation.

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2015

      There’s even a rumor of the third one😉
      I enjoy the second one a lot more than the first one. I can somehow guess the story of the first while I can’t guess the second … hence I like the second more.

      I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do🙂

  2. SusanElizabeth
    May 20, 2015

    I just heard about Stand By Me a couple of weeks ago. I’m not familiar with Doraemon though I’ve seen the images somewhere before(I think as little toys here in the US sometimes) but I’m still wanting to see the movie and def now more so after your review. I STILL haven’t seen either How to Train Your Dragon movies,what is wrong with me!

    Welcome back! =)

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2015

      I hope you’ll like Doraemon…it’s really good but I might be slightly bias as I have watched the series for many years, since my teen. However, for someone who never watched Doraemon this is the best Doraemon movie to watch as the others are more into adventure and fantasy. This one really shows all the history and the best part of Nobit-Doraemon relationship

      Hahaha, nothing’s wrong there, I haven’t watched most Disney’s animations😉

      • SusanElizabeth
        May 25, 2015

        Good to know, then I’m starting with the right Doraemon movie! I have to see if it’s available to rent through Netflix. Doraemon is so precious!!
        You know I’ve seen lots of the old Disney but not much of the newer from the last 15 years.

        • Novroz
          May 30, 2015

          I wonder will netflix have the movie…I mean I don’t think it’s that famous in US. Let me know if it’s there🙂

          Hahaha same here!! I still like traditional hand-drawn animation then the digital ones and that’s why I don’t follow most Disney animation anymore

          • SusanElizabeth
            May 30, 2015

            I’ll let ya know! I don’t think it’s available to us yet (legally) but it’ll be for rental/sale at some point somewhere but sometimes we have to wait forever:/ Boo!!

          • Novroz
            June 3, 2015

            Yeah I know how that feels. In the end for me it’s the illegal way. Sorry to say😦

          • SusanElizabeth
            June 4, 2015

            Uh oh!

          • SusanElizabeth
            June 4, 2015

            OH!!!! I have a really dumb solution but it is a solution. Maybe if the quality isn’t absolutely horrendous I can record it with my camera and upload to youtube and send you the link. If I am able to do that tomorrow I’ll leave you the link here and if it doesn’t copy well I’ll still let you know!

          • Novroz
            June 5, 2015

            That would be great🙂
            But don’t force yourself, just do it at your own time because i don’t want to trouble you at all

          • SusanElizabeth
            June 6, 2015

            I’m on it! =)

          • SusanElizabeth
            June 6, 2015

            Ok this is quieter than I’d hoped:/ This is a private link so you won’t find it if you search on youtube but you can access the video with this link=) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qaDrl-MJmpc
            If the quality is too poor let me know…it seems tough to hear. I can record it again and turn the volume up more and try to hold my camera steady. I don’t mind at all.

          • Novroz
            June 8, 2015

            Thank you SOOOO MUCH Susan (hug)
            I will see it tomorrow🙂

          • SusanElizabeth
            June 8, 2015

            Aw, your welcome!! Don’t be afraid to say if it’s too hard to hear, I’ll re-record it=)

  3. sidekickreviews
    May 20, 2015

    I haven’t heard of Stand By Me Doraemon until now. I want to see this movie. Doraemon is like the cutest robot cat ever.

    I also think Hiccup and Toothless’ bond is heartwarming. Great ending too!

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2015

      No surprise there, Doraemon hasn’t hit USA yet even though it has been aired in many countries.

      They make me want to have a dragon too😉 (well, I actually want a bearded dragon but have to hold it as my roommate doesn’t like reptiles and 3 turtles is all she can take) #sigh

  4. Bikramjit
    May 20, 2015

    I liked the first one oh how to train your dragon .. not seen the sequel or the second movie mentioned..

    So will need to take out tine to see them

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2015

      Hope you can watch the second one Bik, I like this one more than the first

  5. Gray Dawster
    May 21, 2015

    I have never seen it before…
    Hey have a lovely Thursday
    my sweet friend Miss Novia🙂

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2015

      You should try seeing it Andro😉

      Have a nice Sunday to you.

  6. Andina
    May 24, 2015

    Whoa thanks for putting the link on my review! I surely love reviewing that movie, such joy to see. Happy to hear you love it too!

    • Novroz
      May 30, 2015

      You’re welcome🙂

      I think it’s the best Doraemon movie.

  7. Alice Audrey
    May 25, 2015

    I think what I found most interesting in How To Train Your Dragon 2 was the relationship with his mother. She’s an interesting character and explains much about how Hiccup ended up the way he is despite the way his father is.

    • Novroz
      May 30, 2015

      Yeah, I also like their relationship . It’s a good idea to make a story of his mother like that.

      • Alice Audrey
        July 9, 2015

        It’s nice that kids films are finally starting to explore relationships other than romance or basic friendships. Parental roles have been turning up more. I’m glad.

        • Novroz
          July 11, 2015

          Hear hear!!
          I have seen many kind of relationship in Japanese anime, glad Hollywood is catching up now😉

          I always enjoy friendship and parental kind of story

  8. Ben
    June 21, 2015

    You are right about the ending of How To… I love it when a movie doesn’t try to neatly end everything with a happy ending. It means the movie stays with me for much longer afterwards.

    • Novroz
      June 25, 2015

      To be honest one of the reasons why I rarely like US animation is because of how they always try to end it with perfect happy ending. That’s why I gave high rate to How to because it dares to be different

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads