Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mount Rakutak – Day 1

It’s another hiking diary😉

I went to Mount Rakutak (1922 metres above the sea level) in Bandung on January 31 to February 1. The mountain wasn’t as high as my previous mountains but it sure had a lot of story to share.

Despite the fact that I just went Mount Rinjani a month before, when my friend told me about the trip to Mount Rakutak with one of my favorite hiking group, Jelajah, I immediately said yes. I have gone with several hiking group and the one that I like the most is Jelajah because somehow being with them feel like being with people I have known for long even though the truth is I just met them. The first time I went hiking with them was when I went to Mount Salak, Mount Rakutak was my second and on April 2 I will go with them again to Mount Ciremai 🙂

We gathered at Jelajah’s Base camp on Friday, January 30. I arrived there around 9 pm but we had to wait for the others to come. We left the Jelajah’s base camp around midnight. There were 6 women and more than 20 men. We couldn’t get much sleep because some of the men were so noisy. We arrived at Nagrak, Bandung around 4 am. We stayed at someone’s house and slept till around 6 am. Had breakfast and got ready till around 8 am.

We started our hike to Mount Rakutak not long after 9 am. Hiking at that hour was both fun and tiring. Fun because I got to see the stunning view around me, I love seeing all the paddy and vegetables field. The human-made landscape was gorgeous. Tiring because it was so hot, the heat sometime made me decided to take cover for few minutes. The thirst also made it worst.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At first we all walked close to each other but due to the length of rest needed by some people, we slowly broke apart into smaller groups. I didn’t realize that I was the only women in my small group till we reached the last warung (small shop) in the feet of Mount Rakutak. I think there were about 7 men with me at that time. We had a long rest there, about an hour. It was nice to drink hot tea after walking for few hours.

I think it was half an hour later when the rest of the group started catching up. Before all of them gathered on that warung, we decided to walk again because it was getting cold. Before reaching the warung, the trek was like a walk in the park. After the warung, the trek was full of tall grass (ilalang). I tried covering me hands because the grass made my skin itch. The men were also trying to cover their skin to avoid the itch.

When the grass field was over, we faced the stairs of roots. Some were short, some were high. The trek reminded me Mount Cikurai. I didn’t take a lot of pictures because both my hands were busy. On the trek like this, we needed our hands to lift our body.

I recorded two videos to show our trek:

Around 11 am, we reached Tegal Alun. There was an open space there; people often used it for camping. I was still the only women along with 5 men. We waited for the other. The second small group (around 4 men) came and decided to find the water source.

Here comes the first fun story: The sign on the picture below said Sumber Air (water source), above that sign there was a small wooden sign saying Air Jauh (The water is far). There men went down to find the water source. Waldi (someone who had visited the mountain before) encouraged them to find the water source but once they left us he smiled because he knew that the water was sooo far. We waited for them for about half an hour and then they came looking so pissed off. They said they couldn’t find the water, I know it’s cruel but we were all laughing at them. One of them told us that he thought he heard the sound of water stream but it turned out that one of them was peeing. He was so annoyed with the sign saying water source and decided to take it off because the sign had fooled him.

DSC03110

More people came after that and just like when were in Warung, we started moving again. The trek that awaited us after Tegal Alun was the dreaded Sirathol Mustaqim (Sirathol Mustaqim is Islam is the thin bridge – thinner than human hair – that we must pass through to go to heaven, if we have a lot of sin we will fell down to hell. To a people with strong faith the thin bridge seems wide). In Mount Rakutak, Sirathol Mustaqim is a name given to this narrow path heading to the top of mount Rakutak. On both sides of the track were steep ravines. Wrong step could cause our life.

The trek was not as narrow as Tali Jiwo at Mount Salak but it was sooo long. I have a height phobia and all the way through Sirathol Mustaqim, all I could do was praying…at some point I even said that “what am I doing here?”. Fortunately, I was with several men who were eager to help. There was this big rock in the middle of that narrow path and I wasn’t sure I can pass through, Riswan help me got through the rock. You can see the path here (the picture was taken the next day because when we passed it the mist was so thick)

DSC03242

Here are some pictures taken by my friend, I had no nerve anymore to take any picture. I tried my best to smile while holding to Riswan’s backpack.

We finally reached our camping ground around 1 pm. Our hiking group was divided into two because there wasn’t enough space. On my area, there were 3 women and 12 men. One of the reasons why I love hiking with this group is because they look after the women. We didn’t have to set the tent, they did it all for us. We didn’t have to cook. We, the women, didn’t even bring stove and cooking set, we brought food but they cooked everything for us😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We didn’t do much on our camping site, we ate, chatted, and took pictures…basically bonding with everyone. Near sunset, we when to the other camping site to have a better picture of sunset and the city below the mountain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love every moment I had on this first day. Camping on the mountain was always blissful for me; time seemed to go so fast.

One happy small group :)

One happy small group🙂

A friend took this pic, I love the sky in front of me

A friend took this pic, I love the sky in front of me

Day 2, where we got lost is coming soon 😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

13 comments on “Mount Rakutak – Day 1

  1. bimo96
    March 19, 2015

    Beautyfull scenery… !!!

  2. Bikramjit
    March 19, 2015

    U enjoy hiking. . Lovely pics I loved the last one..I got a yellow jacket tooo

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2015

      I do…a lot🙂
      Would love to see you in your yellow jacket😉

  3. Binky
    March 20, 2015

    Very nice pictures, Novia. It looks as if you had another really nice hiking trip.

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2015

      Thank you Peter🙂

      Yup…it was a blast🙂

  4. Alice Audrey
    March 23, 2015

    You’ve made a lot of good friends on these trips. I assume it’s because you are gregarious. 🙂

    • Novroz
      March 24, 2015

      I don’t know why, but hiking with these people are always fun and we become friend though we might not see each other again anytime soon.

      Ah…thank you for the new word🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        April 10, 2015

        I can feel the joy of your company even through the digital medium. You’re fun.

        • Novroz
          April 13, 2015

          Thank you🙂
          Just got home from another mountain with them…it was another fun hiking.

  5. Nekoneko
    April 4, 2015

    Novia!! I don’t know how I missed this post… I’ve been busy this month but always like reading your Hiking adventure stories.

    This one looks fun… but that high ridge-line…. so scary with the sides all hidden by the clouds. Even I would have been a wee bit worried.😉

    I like the pictures but this one of you is my favorite…😉
    https://bokunosekai.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/dsc03103.jpg?w=355&h=266&crop=1

    You look so darn happy and relaxed in the field of grass.

    • Novroz
      April 9, 2015

      Don’t worry, Miyuki🙂
      I can fully understand you as we are quite the same in our busy level😉

      I looked happy because mountain always makes me happy🙂

  6. Pingback: Mount Rakutak – Day 2 : The Day We Got Lost For 6 Hours | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2015 by in Activity, Indonesia Banget and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads