Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Movies Lately: My Girlfriend Is An Agent, Jinsei ga Tokimeku Katazuke no Mahou, John Wick, Lake House

As usual, I am going to squeeze 4 movies into one post 😉

I am just going to give you a brief of the story and mostly my thought on the movie. The first three were new movies but the last one was a rewatch.

Let’s just begin the review…well, not quite a review, just a mini review for each movie.

My Girlfriend is an Agent (7급 공무원 – 7keup kongmuwon) – 2009

250px-My_Girlfriend_is_an_Agent-p3Director: Shin Tae-ra
Starring: Kim Ha-neul, Kang Ji-hwan, Elizabeth Sujin Ford, Jang Young-nam, Ryu Seung-ryong
Rating: 3 stars

Story:

 Ahn Soo-ji (Kim Ha-neul) told her boyfriend that she works as a travel agent. Her boyfriend,  Lee Jae-joon (Kang Ji-hwan) feels tired with all her lies and decides to break up with her. Ahn Soo-ji tries hard to move on by dating other man and continue lying about her real identity, a Korean secret agent. Three years later, she meets Jae-joon again and things become more complicated as both of them are lying about their real identity.

My Thought:

I quite like this movie. It is very funny even though it is quite predictable. I couldn’t watch serious romance but always ends up enjoying romantic comedy. I think Kim Ha-neul and Kang Ji-hwan are a cute couple. Some said that this is the Korean version of Mr and Mrs Smith (I have never watched that movie so I can’t agree or disagree on that)

人生がときめく片づけの魔法 – Jinsei ga Tokimeku Katazuke no Mahou – 2013

Jinsei_ga_Tokimeku_Katazuke_no_MahouDirector: Sato Toya
Starring: Nakama Yukie, Natsuna, Hayami Mokomichi, Fukushi Seiji, Baisho Mitsuko, Tonesaku Toshihide, Bengal
Rating:  2,5 stars

Story:

Norita Makiko (Nakama Yukie) is an enigmatic cleanup professional with idiosyncrasies. Her company doesn’t do the cleaning up, she will simply come to the house and tell the house owner how to clean up. Her way often annoyed her customer but in the end the customers always feels that what she has done is the right thing to do.

My Thought:

This is a simple TV Movie. I watch it only because Nakama Yukie is in it. The story itself is sometimes a bit boring BUT I have to admit that I do get a lot of good tips to tidy up my little room 😉

I think it’s a good movie for anyone who has a messy room.

John Wick – 2014

john-wick_poster-2Director: Chad Stahelski and David Leitch
Starring: Keanu Reeves, Michael Nyqvist, Alfie Allen, Adrianne Palicki, Bridget Moynahan, Dean Winters, Ian McShane, John Leguizamo, Willem Dafoe
Rating: 3,5 stars

Story:

After losing his wife, John Wick receives a packet from his dead wife. It’s a cute dog which he can begin to love again. A group of men attack his house, kill his dog and take his car. He loves his car and even though he hasn’t loved the dog yet but it was a gift from his wife. Losing his dog really sets him off. The ex-hitman returns to his old job.

My Thought:

The story is predictable. I watch this because Keanu is in it (and My God, he doesn’t look 50 at all!!)…However, I really like the action. It’s not just about killing people with guns, it has style and efficiency (to make it better, John Wick still needs to reload, his guns aren’t magic guns like most Hollywood movies). I rarely enjoy gun fight movie because it often has no sense of art (unlike martial art movie) but John Wick is an exception, it’s like martial art with guns. Two thumps up for the choreographer 🙂

The Lake House – 2006

LAKE HOUSEDirector: Alejandro Agresti
Starring: Sandra Bullock, Keanu Reeves, Christopher Plummer, Ebon Moss-Bachrac, Shohreh Aghdashloo, Dylan Walsh, Willeke van Ammelrooy, Lynn Collins
Rating: 3,5 stars

Story: (copied from imdb)

A lonely doctor who once occupied an unusual lakeside home begins exchanging love letters with its former resident, a frustrated architect. They must try to unravel the mystery behind their extraordinary romance before it’s too late.

My Thought:

I have watched this movie like three or four times now (I reawatch it after seeing Keanu in John Wick 😉 ). To be honest, I don’t like romance but when I found out Keanu and Sandy are playing in the same movie again…I Must watch it even thought it’s a romance. To my surprise, I really like it. It’s an unusual romance, I always like this kind of story. It’s not a surprise to know that The Lake House is a remake of Asian Movie (Korea and Japan often makes out of the box story). I like the chemistry between Keanu and Sandy even though the two rarely share the screen together.

I really really really hope Keanu and Sandy play in a movie again, maybe a romantic comedy 😉

***********************************

That’s all for now. I haven’t had time to watch anything else lately…but I already have some movies ready to watch…soon 😉

Have you watched any of those movies? What do you think?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “Movies Lately: My Girlfriend Is An Agent, Jinsei ga Tokimeku Katazuke no Mahou, John Wick, Lake House

  1. Bikramjit
    January 30, 2015

    I have seen lake house it is a GOOD One.. and just downloaded john wick so have to watch that one yet .. 🙂

    • Novroz
      February 4, 2015

      Yeaaa…I like the fact that you like The Lake House. A lot of people seem to think that the movie was bad.

      I hope you’ll like John Wick 😉

  2. sidekickreviews
    January 30, 2015

    The gun play choreography in John Wick is pretty cool and I thought it was pretty interesting how there’s an underworld of assassins. I’d totally watch a sequel or a prequel. So Lake House was a remake of an Asian movie eh, I never knew that until now, I’d probably won’t watch it though. 🙂

    • Novroz
      February 4, 2015

      Me too!!! However, a sequel is like a gambling, it might not be as great as the first one…but I agree with you, would love to watch more of John Wick

  3. ruth
    February 5, 2015

    Hello Nov! Glad you love John Wick, it was such a blast! “John Wick still needs to reload, his guns aren’t magic guns like most Hollywood movies” That’s so true!! I didn’t think of that before, and I agree the action set pieces are stylishly-shot. We share our love for Keanu and he doesn’t look a day over 35, I mean even his body still looks extremely lean for his age.

    I hated The Lake House the first time I saw it despite my love for both Keanu & Sandra. Might give it a shot at some point and see if I like it more.

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2015

      He has found the fountain of youth 😉 at some point he even looks younger than Cillian.

      Ah…I grew up with Asian unusual style of telling a story…to me such love story is more interesting than most romantic movies.

  4. Alice Audrey
    February 7, 2015

    My first thoughts on seeing the trailer for My Girlfriend Is An Agent was also that it’s like Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Even though you gave it only 3 stars, and you will probably think the American version is also predicable, I think you should see Mr. and Mrs. Smith. See the modern version, the one with Brad Pit.

    • Novroz
      February 11, 2015

      Hmm..not a fan of Brad Pitt and Jolie, that’s why I never watch the movie. Maybe I will watch it when I come across it on TV. I know that I need to be more open-minded but I just can’t stand seeing Pitt unless the movie is really really good like Se7en. (sory to all Pitt’s fans, it’s just my feeling toward him)

      • Alice Audrey
        February 17, 2015

        His smarmyness get you? He’s not on my auto-watch list, but I don’t mind him. If you don’t like him, see if you can get your hands on the original 1941 version. Much less action oriented, but still the basic plot line.

        • Novroz
          February 21, 2015

          Yup!!
          I will see if I can find the original. I didn’t know it was a remake till you pointed it out.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads