Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Music & Movie : Kanojo Wa Uso o Aishisugiteru and Begin Again

Copyright dreamstime

Copyright dreamstime

I am still in the mood of watching all movies and TVSeries by my new favorite actor, Satoh Takeru (佐藤健). The last one I saw (I actually saw it like a month ago but don’t have time to write it) was a romantic musical movie and just like when I reviewed Real (also by Takeru-kun) I decided to pair the movie with another musical movie. I chose Begin Again because when I read the review in Inspired Ground, it sounds quite interesting.

The Liar and His Lover (カノジョは嘘を愛しすぎてる – Kanojo wa uso o aishisugiteru) – 2013

326163_カノジョは嘘をB5表_outDirector: Norihiro Koizumi
Writer: Kotomi Aoki (manga), Tomoko Yoshida, Norihiro Koizumi
Staring: Satoh Takeru, Ohara Sakurako, Miura Shohei, Kubota Masataka, Sorimachi Takashi, Morinaga Yuki, Yoshizawa Ryo, Aibu Saki, Asaka Koudai, Mizuta Kouki
Rating: 3,5 stars

 

Story:

A 25-year-old song writer, Ogasawara Aki is always feeling depressed even though his songs are loved by so many fans. He left his band the moment the band was signed for a major record deal. Aki continued to write for the band but never shows his face in public.

Right after he breaks up from his famous girlfriend, he met a 16-year-old high school student, Koeda Riko. Riko falls in love with Aki at first sight but Aki doesn’t feel the same…even so, he tries to date her. He hides his real identity and tells her that he’s a neet (Japanese term for someone who doesn’t work nor go to college). He continues to lie to her, but the biggest lie is the one that hurts him the most.

By fate, Riko is signed by the same man that signed Crude Play (Aki’s former band)

My Thought:

After I finished watching this movie, I tried to read the manga but just by reading few random chapters, I knew that it’s not my kind of manga. I really like the movie but Aki in the manga version is too childish while Aki in the movie looks sadder. I like the sadder Aki more. The manga is still running so the ending of this movie is not exactly like its manga.

What I like about this movie is the chemistry between Aki and Riko, even though their age gap is quite big but they fill in each other nicely. I also like the music, especially the closing song.

The love story itself is quite predictable (to be honest, most romance are quite predictable, that’s why I don’t watch a lot of romance) but I like how normal it seems, the problem in their relationship is not something exaggerating and over done. It’s acceptable and doesn’t drag too far.

In this movie, I can see how much Takeru has grown for his first tv-series. I can understand why one producer says that he will continue to grow. His acting was bad back then but it improves through time, no wonder he can play Kenshin perfectly. For a first timer, Ohara Sakurako is also good. She was auditioned for her role as Riko.

However, I wonder whether such band like Crude Play really exist in Japan (you see the movie first then you’ll know what I meant😉 ), most Japanese bands I like definitely don’t act like Crude Play.

Overall…it’s an enjoyable movie with good music.

The_Liar_and_His_Lover-006..but to the big fat liar me, she says I am an honest person.”

Here’s the trailer

and the closing song

Begin Again – 2013

Begin_Again_2Director: John Carney
Writer: John Carney
Staring:Keira Knightley, Mark Ruffalo, Hailee Steinfeld, Adam Levine, James Corden, CeeLo Green, Catherine Keener
Rating: 3,5 stars

Story: (copied from imdb)

Gretta (Keira Knightley) and her songwriting partner/lover Dave (Adam Levine) head for New York when he lands a record deal with a major label. However, Gretta is suddenly left on her own when Dave gives in to the temptations that come with his newfound success. Things take a turn for the better for her when Dan (Mark Ruffalo), a disgraced record executive, discovers Gretta performing in a club. A mutually life-changing bond forms between the pair as they work together on Gretta’s first album.

My Thought:

Knowing that the writer is the same as Once, a movie that everyone seems to love but it bored me to dead, I had my doubt over this movie. But to my delight surprise…I quite like it!! What I like the most is the chemistry between Knightley and Rufallo. They look so close together. I enjoyed the way they record their album. It was a lot of fun…and the ending is also perfect, (spoiler alert!!)I had expected it to end with them falling in love and become a couple but I am glad they don’t.

However, to be honest I almost stopped watching it somewhere at minute 38…it was around the time when the movie highlighted the relationship between Gretta and Dave. That part wass incredibly boring!! In the end I fast-forwarded it till the movie moved back to Gretta and Dan. I don’t know what it is that made me bored with that part but I am glad that I continue watching it (even though with a bit of fast-forwarding action) because the rest is enjoyable. I love the songs…not so much with Knightley’s voice, but the songs are great.

18-begin-again

The trailer:

My favorite song in the movie

*********************************************

I like both movies equally because both have great music and fun story.

Have you seen these movies? Somehow I know the answer will be: I have seen Begin Again but haven’t seen The Liar and his lover😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

19 comments on “Music & Movie : Kanojo Wa Uso o Aishisugiteru and Begin Again

  1. Kia
    December 8, 2014

    I also like KanoUso movie! Mostly because I’ve been following the manga ever since it got licensed here. I got to say the movie made the characters less of a jerk and much less angsty. Not just Aki, but Takagi and Mari as well. The plot flow are also good. They managed to pick the right scenes and I love the original ending.

    I’m surprised you even pick up the manga! I sort of figured out you wouldn’t like it.

    But what really got me are the songs. They’re very catchy. In the manga, “Ashita Mo” didn’t do quite well on the charts. Glad they didn’t add unnecessary conflict in the movie.

    Thank you for writing the review, Novia!

    • Novroz
      December 8, 2014

      Glad you like it too…and glad someone else knows the movie😉

      Well as I have said above: I tried to read the manga but just by reading few random chapters, I knew that it’s not my kind of manga. I only read few chapters and done with it. I really don’t like Aki in manga, like you said a jerk. plus, it really is not my kind of read.

      Yeah, I like the song!! I guess it’s because I like Japanese songs, so it’s easy to listen to the music in Uso.

      Thank you for reading and commenting Kia🙂

  2. Alice Audrey
    December 9, 2014

    You know I like the Romance stuff, predictable or not. So The Liar and His Lover sounds like a great movie. I don’t know that I would necessarily want to look up the manga if I don’t get a chance at the movie, but if I happen to run across the movie, I’ll certainly check it out.

    • Novroz
      December 11, 2014

      I hope you do come across it and like it. It seems that some people don’t like the manga as much as the movie

  3. Alice Audrey
    December 9, 2014

    ps. Musically Movie is not grammatical. It should either be Musical Movie or just Musical.

    • Novroz
      December 11, 2014

      Thanks, I thought so…I changed it to Music & Movie now🙂

  4. sidekickreviews
    December 9, 2014

    I’ve heard some great things about the chemistry between Ruffalo and Knightley, I’ll have to check out the movie some time.🙂

    • Novroz
      December 11, 2014

      The chemistry and the music are great. I think you would like it….it’s not cheesy at all, IMO

  5. sungin
    December 10, 2014

    Well, I didnt know anything about “Begin Again” but I read the manga (I mean first chapters of it and didnt like). But dont know this film too. If it has different aura maybe I like the movie, I’ll give it a chance…
    Anyway, I really like reading your thoughts about movies and mangas-animes. I started shingeki no kyojin after reading here about it and love it🙂 (I finished the whole published chapters in two or three nights without sleep). Keep going, introduce us with new gems🙂

    • Novroz
      December 11, 2014

      I think you would like it. It’s really likeable. Not over romantic but we can still see that they love each other. Do give it a chance…plus Takeru-kun was good as Aki.

      Thank you Sungin🙂
      Have you read my other post about the live action version of Shingeki no Kyojin?

      • sungin
        December 11, 2014

        Yes, I read that post and really want to see the live action soon🙂 but at the same time, unfortunately, I dont like to see so much blood in movies if they make movie exactly as manga -flying heads and bodys- Im not sure whether I can (be able to) watch it🙂

        • Novroz
          December 14, 2014

          Ah! Fortunately those kind of things never bother me😉

  6. ruth
    December 11, 2014

    Glad you enjoyed Begin Again! It was recommended to me recently and I’m glad I finally saw it.

    • Novroz
      December 11, 2014

      It was fun except for that part with Adam Levine…that part was quite boring but the rest was fun

  7. Oh so glad you loved Begin Again! I can understand you hated the romance stuff. I was glad to that Ruffalo didn’t end up with Knightley, that would be too cliche. But I heard that there’s an alternative version where Ruffalo made a pass but Knightley reject him. I think it’s a little better than the original one. What do you think?

    • Novroz
      December 17, 2014

      Hear hear!!!
      No I like the original much better. Can a man and woman be friend without one being in love with the other? I like how they are both friends without one being rejected and something like that. Friendship is always better than romance, IMO.

  8. Nekoneko
    December 13, 2014

    Hahaha!! Musicals are soooo crazy! I never got them as a little girl, but since I started watching Hindi films…. where absolutely every movie is a musical… I’ve come to enjoy them more.

    I’ve never seen a Japanese one, but you never know, it could happen…😉

    • Novroz
      December 17, 2014

      I watched Hindi when I was kid, my parents watched it…never really like it and been avoiding Hindi movies ever since.

      I like musical movie in which it’s about music not suddenly people are dancing and stuff. I think the only one I like where there are dancing and stuff is Grease, because I like the music.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads