Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

るろうに剣心 – 伝説の最期編 (Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends)

Kenshin vs Shishio

The long awaited movie (well, not that long, only one month apart but it still feels long) has finally come. I couldn’t watch it last week even though I was dying to see it so I made the best out of it this weekend. I watched the morning one which was perfect decision because the noon one had a long queue.

Before I start my review,  I have to say this first:

Rurouni Kenshin is officially in my top 5 favorite trilogy … I need to rewrite my 2010’s list of top 5 trilogy and Kenshin is in the same level as The Lord of The Rings for me.

Rurouni Kenshin also made into my list of best adaptation ever.

The Legend Ends closed the trilogy in a perfect way…I dare say it’s the best movie in 2014. Love it Love it love it!! Can’t wait to see it again and buy the DVD.

“As a farewell gift, we’ll give you an exit worth of a legend”

I will try writing my review without spoiler but it’s hard since everyone who has seen the anime or read the manga surely know how it ends. However, the movie isn’t 100% same with the anime/manga because they have to squeeze such long anime into a 2 part 2.5 half hour movies. 2.5 hours sounds like a long movie but trust me, it doesn’t feel like 2.5 hours at all.

るろうに剣心 – 京都大火編 (Rurouni Kenshin : Kyoto Inferno) ends with Kenshin and Kaoru jumping off Shishio’s ship (a bit spoiler of the previous movie there). Faith brought Kenshin to his master, Seijuro Hiko who has taught him Hiten Mitsurugi Ryu (Kenshin’s sword style). In order to defeat Shishio, Kenshin asks Hiko to teach him the ultimate Hiten Mitsurugi Ryu. To achieve that, Hiko teach him more than the skill, he teach him how to care for his own life as much as others.

Knowing that Kenshin is still alive, Shishio asks the government to execute him in public or he will tear Tokyo down. The government obliges despite the fact that they had asked Kenshin to help them assassinate Shishio. In the end, we all know that Kenshin eventually fights Shishio.

I can only write that much for the story.

The Legend Ends seems to have more philosophical sentences than Kyoto Inferno. It reminds me of the first movie (Rurouni Kenshin) where the words are as beautiful as the fighting scenes. In the first half of The Legend Ends, you won’t see much awesome fighting scenes because that’s the time when Kenshin tries to find what he lacks and how to prevent the killer inside him to appear again. Afterward, full jaw-dropping action. My favorite of all is not the battle between Kenshin and Shishio, my favorite is the battle between Kenshin and Aoshi. That one was awesome!! Love it and I really want to see it again.

A46O1191

Aoshi vs Kenshin

The Legend Ends truly closed this trilogy in a an epic way. It’s a rare thing to see the sequel overcoming the previous movie, Rurouni Kenshin is one of those rare things. Rurouni Kenshin (the first movie) was good, Rurouni Kenshin – Kyoto Inferno was great and finally Rurouni Kenshin – The Legend Ends is epic!

Some Samurai X (the title of the adapted Manga) fans claim that the movie ruins the Manga, I know it’s a personal judgement but even so I really don’t understand why they claimed that because for me everything is perfect; from the cast, the story with its slight changes and the fighting scenes….everything.

I love the ending, not the last scene that makes all girls go ‘aaawww‘ but the moment after the climax. The words from Ito’s mouth, the salute, the scoring…that moment sent chills through my bone…that’s why I said it’s an epic ending. Funny thing is; I said in my review of the first movie that I don’t like the scoring but since Kyoto Inferno and now The Legend Ends, I change my mind, it’s one of the most memorable scorings in a movie.

As for the acting, seeing this only makes me adore Takeru-kun more because you can see all the emotion coming from him. And I can finally appreciate Fujiwara Tatsuya (the one playing Shishio), he was once in my list of actors I don’t get the appeal, but now I can seer him as a good actor. Yūsuke Iseya is also great as Aoshi. Basically, everyone is acting as best as they can to portray their iconic characters.

Movie Details:

Director: Keishi Ōtomo
Writer: Kiyomi Fujii, Keishi Otomo
Based on: Samurai X by Watsuki Nobuhiro
Starring: Takeru Satoh, Emi Takei, Munetaka Aoki, Kaito Ōyagi, Tatsuya Fujiwara, Ryunosuke Kamiki, Yu Aoi, Maryjun Takahashi, Ryosuke Miura, Yūsuke Iseya, Tao Tsuchiya, Yōsuke Eguchi, Min Tanaka, Masaharu Fukuyama
Released: October 2014
Rating: 5 stars

Trailer

This footage showing Takeru-kun practice the art of the sword.

Glimpse to the making

Even though you don’t understand Japanese but watching these making videos: Part 1, part 2, part 3 will be really fun. You can see all their hard work to make this movie.

The main characters

kyoto-inferno

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

27 comments on “るろうに剣心 – 伝説の最期編 (Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends)

  1. Katacheme
    November 2, 2014

    I totally agree. Some fans reacted like Sir Otomo ruined their childhood. Alhtough I would probably understand if it’s a little disappointing that their favorite parts from the series weren’t included in the movie.

    The Legend Ends left me so speechless and very emotional. I’m still unable to write though about my “feelings” for this last installment of the Trilogy. But definitely, this movie tops my 2014 list.

    • Novroz
      November 3, 2014

      No I don’t understand such reason, I think people allow to be mad when they change a lot of things like The Hobbit but deleting some scenes is inevitable because it’s a 2-3 hour movie, what can you expect? The lord of the rings also have a lot of missing part but since they still keep it strongly according the book, it turns out to be great movie. Another example is The Hobbit, they change and add stuff too much…that thing totally ruins the book.

      Kenshin in my opinion, stays true to the book and the characters.

      Reading my own review, I don’t think it does justice to epicness of the movie. It was an amazing movie.

      • Katacheme
        November 16, 2014

        True.From the the very first installment up to this one, the adaptation was consistently amazing!

        • Novroz
          November 16, 2014

          Indeed! 🙂
          I hope they will do the OVA too…the one about Kenshin and Tomoe

  2. SusanElizabeth
    November 3, 2014

    This actually sounds pretty epic!

    • Novroz
      November 3, 2014

      It IS epic 🙂
      I put it in the same level as The Lord of The Rings (with less stunning visual effect)

  3. Gray Dawster
    November 3, 2014

    Wow what a cool posting Miss. Novia
    and hey a big hello from the UK to you,
    I haven’t been around much but I wish
    you a fantastic week ahead 🙂

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2014

      Hi Andro 🙂
      I haven’t been around much also…busy all day long.

      • Gray Dawster
        November 12, 2014

        As long as you know that I haven’t
        forgotten about you everything is okay 🙂

        Have a very nice Wednesday Miss. Novia 🙂

        Andro xxxx

  4. Nekoneko
    November 6, 2014

    You really like this one that much, Novia? Now you’ve got me wondering about why I haven’t seen these three movies yet.

    I have seen the anime… and I remember liking it although it was several years ago. Guess I’ll have to give the first one a watch… I’m pretty sure I’ve got a copy lurking somewhere in my big ol’ “To Watch” pile…. 😉

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2014

      Who said I like it? that’s not true, Miyuki!! I don’t like this movie…I FREAKIN LOVE this movie 😉

      I can’t guarantee you’ll like it too, but to me this is the best anime adaptation I have ever seen. Everyone is perfect just like the characters in the anime. And it gets better each episode.

      I have booked my ticket for second viewing tomorrow… Can’t wait!! 🙂

  5. ruth
    November 7, 2014

    Wow, you love this as much as LOTR. That’s saying something 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2014

      It’s not as glamorous as LOTR and not even at the same level of cinematography as LOTR but it is one of the best adaptation and trilogy I have ever seen…hence I love it as much as LOTR which is another one of the best adaptation and trilogy 🙂

  6. Alice Audrey
    November 10, 2014

    Sounds like the vision the director had for the movie matched your own pretty closely, but didn’t match some of the manga fans.

    • Novroz
      November 12, 2014

      I guess. There’s always two sides of coin after all. But majority like how this movie turns out because the movie became top box-office in Japan for several weeks

      • Alice Audrey
        November 15, 2014

        But if we just went by box office showing then Frozen was a great movie.

        • Novroz
          November 15, 2014

          Hahaha True!!
          But then again, Inception was also in box office for weeks and it was a bloody (as the British would say) great movie

          Box office, an unusual measurement 😉

  7. hira
    November 15, 2014

    setuju bgt sm mb Novia. nonton trilogi RK bnr2 amazing, ap yg sy imajinasikan ttng Kenshin bisa disampaikan dgn baik oleh movie ini. hehe…dr kmrin sy msh berandai2 bisa gak ya director Keishi Otomo bkin extension movie ni sampai2 sobat sy Ari bilang”Ra, ini dah sekuel terakhir, mana ad lg lanjutannya” LoL.

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2014

      Tapi gw rasa pasti ada 1 lagi. OVA yang dia sama Tomoe lumayan oke kalau di film-in. Kita dah sering liat si Tomoe pas nanggisin tungangannya…sayang kan kalo ga difilmin 😉

      • hira
        November 15, 2014

        sblmny yoroshiku y mb^^, gomen bru komen pdhl klo sy kangen Laruku sering bc tulisan ttg laruku d blog ini. sankyuu..
        aduh…jgn mb hehe…klo kisah ttg Tomoe lbh baik jgn difilmkn, bisa2 fanwar. kmrin smpt ngelihat reaksi Satoh pas ditanya ttg Tomoe, spertiny dia gak mau fangirlsnya pada berantem, dia g mo komen gtu^^. sy sbnernya lbh pengen pengembangan karakter2 kyk Seujiro, Anji sm Aoshi, rasanya movie yg terakhir ini belum secara pas crita ttg karakter mereka, ap krn durasinya yg kpendekan ya 🙂

        • Novroz
          November 16, 2014

          Yoroshiku 🙂

          Huahahha gw sih ga ngaruh sama yg gituan…udah ga ikut2an fangirl galau, gw dah fanwoman ;p
          Kalo mau fanwar harusnya dah dr Kanojo wa Uso o Aisugiru, disitu dia kissu mulu ma ceweknya. Sama Tomoe malah ga gitu2 amat. Gw sih berharap bgt itu dibikin tp diubah dikit krn seingget gw aga kurang actionnya.

          Yah mengingat itu film bioskop pasti banyak yg harus dikorbankan, inget durasi.

          • hira
            November 17, 2014

            haha..ya gtu deh kdng pusing aj sy klo asyik2 nonton RK, tmn2 fangirl pada ngributin sp yg lebih baik diantara karakter tomoe ma kaoru. pdhl ni movie keren bgt battle-ny, akting tatsuya jg di luar dugaan, perfect jd Shishio. klo battle yg ad tomoe itu klo gak salah dlmanga-ny bag.jinchu arch, yg finalny ngelawan adkny Tomoe ‘enishi’. seru jg sih meski g setegang kyk pas lwn shishio.
            yep, klo dbanding karya satoh yg lain hehe…movie ni g ad kissuny ato adegan romantis2 bgt. mlh banyak battle-nya :).

            bener bgt durasi 2,5 jam mbuat bnyk karakter di movie ni gak bkembang seperti di anime-nya

          • Novroz
            November 17, 2014

            Iya…baru sekarang sy bisa bilang Tatsuya is a good actor karena dulu tiap nntn yg ada dianya selalu mengecewakan (sgt kecewa dgn dia jd Kira di death note).
            Pas lawan Shishio gw sih ga terlalu terkesan, bagian favorite gw pas lawan Aoshi…the best scene in movie 3, menurut gw. Pgn nnt lagi adegan itu.

  8. hira
    November 19, 2014

    yep, Tatsuya mmg bsinar d RK (sjujurny sy jg bru muji2 Tatsuya krn peran Shishio ini, aktingny di luar ekpektasi sy), Tatsuya bs nampilin Sishio yg kejam, ambisius en fragile kjiwaannya.
    battle Kenshin vs Aoshi mmg lyak dinobatin jd t’ best scene d movie ni, selain adegannya yg seru, sinematografinya jg cakep, ayunan sakabatou en Kodaichi kyk nari2 gtu#hehe…imajinasi sy jd lebay# ntahlah ni movie harus dipuji aplgi, semuanya keren2 en kykny akan masuk film pling bkesan dlm hidup sy bersanding ma sekuel Godfather dan LOTR

    • Novroz
      November 20, 2014

      Hahaha iya ini movie top bgt. Pgn punya DVD orinya d tp Indo ga ngeluarin sih…mudah2an nanti direlease juga disini

      • hira
        November 21, 2014

        amiin.smg^^
        bharap jg movie doc.Larc dputer dsni

  9. Pingback: I’m Back and Here’s My Top 5 Movie in 2014 | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads