Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mount Salak – 2211MDPL, Day 1 (Part 2): The Wonder of Kawah Ratu

Today, I will not write about my hiking but it’s still related to my hiking on Mount Salak, Bogor.

As I have said in my previous post ( Mount Salak – 2211MDPL, Day 1 (Part 1) ) I want to share 13 pictures of Kawah Ratu (Queen Crater) because I think the view here is the best during my hiking on Mount Salak. When I first arrived, I was awed by all the smog. But the sulfur smog didn’t smell as worst as in Mount Papandayan, maybe because at that time the wind was blowing the other direction.

Before reaching there, we found a yellow stream thick with sulfur residue

Jpeg

I like seeing this huge rock, right before we reached Kawah Ratu. Too bad there were some left over from stupid people who thought that gravity is cool.

Jpeg

The view when we reached Kawah Ratu. It’s in panoramic mode, you can click on the image to see it better.

P_20141025_074942_PN

The barren path we passed before reaching Kawah Ratu.

Jpeg

The stunning view of smog in Kawah Ratu. Click on the image to see it better (panoramic mode)

P_20141025_075730_PN

These pictures are not in panoramic mode, it can give you clearer view

Jpeg

Jpeg

Jpeg

The barren path we must take to continue our journey.

Jpeg

Another panoramic mode from another angle.

P_20141025_075953_PN

Leaving Kawah Ratu behind to continue our hiking on Mount Salak.

Jpeg

The sulfur smog had killed the tress around it. I like how the tress looked more like a fossil than just a dead tree.

Jpeg

Do excuse me for sharing my own pic as the last pic 😉

The writing on that green wood is: Welcome to Active Queen Crater (Kawah Ratu). Do Not camp here for any kind of activity. You are now in dangerous area!

Jpeg

I will continue my hiking on Mount Salak this Saturday 🙂

I think the post will end up with about 4 posts in total. It was a fun  hiking and I have so much to share.

Happy TT everyone.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “Mount Salak – 2211MDPL, Day 1 (Part 2): The Wonder of Kawah Ratu

  1. Binky
    October 30, 2014

    The landscape looks like something from an alien planet. In Indonesia I guess you’re pretty aware that the planet is alive, with all the volcanoes and thermal vents that dot the landscape and the earthquakes you have. Where I am we have none of that.

    • Novroz
      November 2, 2014

      I know. I have been to other craters but this one is the best, so much smog .. it makes it looks like an alien landscape.

      We live in the ring of fire, where the earth is most active.

  2. sandy
    October 30, 2014

    These photos are shockingly beautiful

  3. Genki Jason
    October 31, 2014

    Great photos! The place looks stunning (and slightly worrying). Looks like you walked into Mordor! Did you pass any Hobbits?

    • Novroz
      November 2, 2014

      Thank you Jason 🙂

      Hahaha I am the hobbit, considering my height 😉

  4. Alice Audrey
    November 2, 2014

    What a forbidding place. Did you really need the sign?

    • Novroz
      November 2, 2014

      Yes!! sometimes, people are ignorant when there’s no sign

      • Alice Audrey
        November 10, 2014

        That’s a sad commentary on the stat of human intelligence. Is it no real if an official doesn’t say it?

        • Novroz
          November 12, 2014

          There are always people who want to challenge themselves by doing silly things

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2014 by in Activity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads