Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Indonesia Banget #37: Dieng Culture Festival – Kids with Dreadlocks

Last Month (yup, it was that long) on my Post called Dieng Culture Festival Part 1, I promised to share about the main attraction of Dieng Culture Festival a week after that post was published…things came up and ended up writing it now.

This post is part of my Indonesia Banget post

Click the button to see more post on Indonesia Banget

Click the button to see more post on Indonesia Banget

The main reason I went to Dieng 2 months ago is to know more about this thing called Ruwatan or Purification procession or ritual on Kids with dreadlocks. I didn’t get a clear look on them but at least I know more now and have confident to write about it.

The procession was held on Candi Arjuna (Candi is old temple made of stone). When I got there, it was already so crowded and I couldn’t come closer because I didn’t have the VVIP or VIP card. The people with VIP card can sit right in front of the procession and took great pictures of that special moment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of my friends could get closer because she joined a more reliable travel agent than me (read: unpleasant Trip to Dieng), I borrowed some of her photos 😉

Ruwatan is a Javanese word for purification procession. Ruwatan is a tradition in Java which goes back through many generation even before Islam came to Indonesia. Ruwatan for kids with dreadlocks hair (we called such hair as Gimbal and in Javanese it is called Gembel) also has the same meaning which is a ritual to get rid of bad lucks on the kids and Dieng society.

Based on an article in DiengBackpacker.com, I learned more about the ritual.

These kids with dreadlocks is a unique phenomena in Dieng. Some kids (well, more like few) from the age of 40 days to 6 years suddenly have natural dreadlocks. No matter how many times the parents wash the hair, it will still look like Rastafarian hair…but of course not as solid as their dreadlocks.

Copyright: Matamaki.com

Copyright: Matamaki.com

The people of Dieng Highland believes that these kids are entrusted by Kyai Kolo Date. Kyai Kolo Date was an important officials from Mataram (on fifteenth century) who was placed in Dieng. When he arrived in Dieng, his wife, Nini Roro Rence had a vision from Ratu Pantai Selatan (the queen of south sea, a deity known as Ny Roro Kidul). This couple were trusted to give happiness and wealth toward the people in Dieng. Since that time, kids with dreadlocks were born in Dieng.

For people who live in Dieng, the number of kids with dreadlocks correlates the people’s wealth. More kids with dreadlocks means that the wealth of people in Dieng will be much better and vice verse.

The dreadlocks appear after high fever for few days. One morning, the kid’s temperature becomes normal and the hair has changed into dreadlocks. The kids are as normal as other kids but they are usually more active than other kids. Sometimes, they become so emotional and uncontrollable for no clear reason. This tendency disappears after the hair is cut.

Before the cutting, praying rituals are held in several places such as Candi Dwarawati, Candi Arjuna complex, Sendang Maerokoco, Candi Gatotkaca, Balaikambang lake, Candi Bima, Sikidang lake, Cave in Warna lake, Pepek river and Dieng burial. The next day, the kids are paraded to the cutting procession area which is in Candi Arjuna. These kids are guarded by the elders, important people in society and the people of Dieng.

Here’s the parade taken by my friend, Chi Chin.

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

IMG-20140908-WA0012

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

This year, there were 7 kids. Before their dreadlocks are cut, their parents must fulfill special wish from them but since they were just kids the wishes aren’t that much. I remembered how silly the wishes were. One of them made sense because he/she (I forgot) asked for a red bicycle, but the others had funny wishes or requests. One of them wanted one red apple, the other wanted es lilin (a kind of homemade ice cream) made by his/her neighbor, and another one wanted a bucket full of chocolate. They were still kids with pure heart. Those requests must be fulfilled or something bad will happen.

Once their hair is already cut, the dreadlocks will never appear again on their head. This might be hard to believe but that’s happen there for centuries.

Here are some pics before their hairs were cut

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

Photo belongs to Chi Chin

my camera could only get this close

my camera could only get this close

Here’s the Candi (old temple).

DSC02216The crowd.

IMG-20140908-WA0010

Even though I couldn’t see it clearly but it was a fun festival, one of Indonesian rich culture moments 🙂

Looking forward to be in another festival sometime in the future. Hope you enjoy the post 🙂

Ps. I included this in thirteen Thursday because there are 13 pictures here 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “Indonesia Banget #37: Dieng Culture Festival – Kids with Dreadlocks

  1. Colleen
    October 17, 2014

    Exotic. I’m intrigued by the firework -like tree-like structures.

    • Novroz
      October 17, 2014

      That was made of papers, we use it a lot here

  2. Binky
    October 17, 2014

    That was interesting, and something I have never heard of before.

    • Novroz
      October 18, 2014

      Asia has a lot of interesting culture 😉

      • Binky
        October 20, 2014

        That’s for sure! So many things to see and know and experience, and not nearly enough time.

        • Novroz
          October 20, 2014

          True!! and may I add not enough money too 😉

  3. sidekickreviews
    October 17, 2014

    This is a fascinating cultural tradition, I’ve never heard of it either. Those wishes are funny, I’d wish for chocolate ice cream too lol.

    • Novroz
      October 18, 2014

      I would asked for a trip around the world, if I am one of the children 😉 because if the parents can’t give what the children want, they can’t cut their hair

  4. Shelley Munro
    October 17, 2014

    How fascinating. I’ve never heard of this before.

    • Novroz
      October 18, 2014

      Thank you. My country has a lot of cultural event and it’s always a pleasure to share it

  5. Nekoneko
    October 17, 2014

    That’s so interesting. I’d never heard of this phenomenon either. I wonder if it occurs anywhere else in the world?

    It’s a shame you didn’t get a better look from your position, it sounds like something you’d really want to watch up close. I guess given how badly your tour went you were lucky to make it to the ceremony at all.

    • Novroz
      October 18, 2014

      I have never heard of it yet, I mean in other part of the world…but the world is big enough things that can’t be explained.

      Yeah, at least I was there and had seen it myself 🙂 Would love to see more festivals in the future

  6. Alice Audrey
    October 17, 2014

    What an interesting phenomena. I find myself looking for scientific explanations.

    • Novroz
      October 18, 2014

      Sometimes, things can’t be explained by science 😉

      • Alice Audrey
        November 2, 2014

        I keep telling my mother that. She agrees, but really she doesn’t believe me.

        • Novroz
          November 2, 2014

          Hahahaha…yeah as science teacher I can understand her feeling

  7. Caroline
    October 18, 2014

    Now this is special. Never heard of anything like it before.

    • Novroz
      October 20, 2014

      WE have a lot that never been heard but if I can, I want to write it after I see it.

  8. nadiafriza
    November 15, 2014

    Long time no visit. The blog layout changed very much ya mbaak

    Need to know the purpose on visiting Dieng. Whether for its scenery from the top, or for its culture from the festival. Mine will always be the scenery 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 15, 2014

      Hisashiburi 🙂

      Yeah I like this magazine/newspaper look, easier for people to read whatever they like to read without scrolling down.

      My purpose was to see the festival so that I can write this post 🙂
      As for the scenery, I have seen better scenery…it was good but others are better.

  9. Pingback: 13 Pictures From The Top of Mount Sikunir | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2014 by in Indonesia Banget, Things I Need to Say and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,524 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads