Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

(佐藤健) Satoh Takeru – My New Favorite Actor

It seems that my favorite actor list has grown again. I have written a post called Actors/Actress I always Watch No Matter How Crappy The Movie Is, ( I can’t believe it was three years ago)…my list now has grown because of one movie.

His name is Satou Takeru (佐藤健)…yup!! a Japanese. He is now in the same league as Cillian Murphy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Bettany, and Sandra Bullock.

Before I saw Rurouni Kenshin, I always thought that the most promising young actor from Japan was only Matsuyama Ken’ichi. He awed me so much after seeing him as L in Death Note. He then awed me again with his quirky character in Detroit Metal City. I like Matsuken but I don’t follow all his movies.

It’s a different thing with Satou Takeru. He makes me wants to see all his movies and TV series.

sato-takeru

This is not love at first sight (just like all my favorite actors, there’s always one specific moment that made me so into them and their movies, like Cillian with Breakfast on Pluto and Paul Bettany with DaVinci Code). Takeru-kun moment is with Rurouni Kenshin.

I first saw Takeru-kun (kun is a Japanese term for someone younger. Satou Takeru is still 25 years old, so I have the right to call him Takeru-kun 😉 ) in Kamen Rider Den-O. When I first knew that Takeru-kun is going to be Himura Kenshin I was like…”what? that overly boyish looking boy is going to be Kenshin?? seriously??“. Takeru-kun was too cute and too childish and has no aura to be cool at all (that was what I thought back then)

I saw him again later on Beck and Mr. Brain.

I liked Takeru-kun in Beck because he has this innocent face that makes you want to protect him from everything. But even so, I still didn’t consider him in my favorite actor list. He was just another young actor in Japanese Dorama.

In Mr. Brain, he acted as a young genius pianist who had short memory. He couldn’t remember what happened after several hours. He was okay there, but not that memorable.

And then…he became the famous Samurai X…Himura Kenshin. That’s when I started liking him more and eager to see more of his previous works.

takeru Kenshin

He was mesmerizing as the famous hitokiri. Anyone who loves anime surely has seen Samurai X and he embodied that character so well. I have to admit that he made a fan out me after seeing Kyoto Inferno. I like him in Rurouni Kenshin but I like him even more in this second movie.

Another reason that makes me a fan is because he is not just another pretty face in Japanese Idol industry. He really has talents. During the making of Rurouni Kensin, Takeru-kun practiced a lot, he did the stunt himself. He was as fast as you seen it in the movie.

Here’ Takeru-kun practicing his movement. There’s also another video where it shows him practicing on the set during break.

Here’s him with Kamiki Ryunosuke (the one playing Soujiro).

He’s not even using wire for this stunt.

After seeing those videos, I read more about him and it turned out he is good at b-boying…a dance like break-dance; No wonder he can keep up with Kenshin’s speed in the movie. (wait till 0:43)

He is also really good at playing Rubik cube

I have so much to catch up with his movies and TV series but right now I am eager to see him in Ryoma Den, his role in that series has brought him the role as Himura Kenshin.

ryomaden01-3 Sato in Ryoma

I am going to close this post with”

Welcome to the club Takeru-kun 🙂

.

Ps. In case you are wondering: no, he hasn’t taken Cillian Murphy’s place yet 😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

9 comments on “(佐藤健) Satoh Takeru – My New Favorite Actor

  1. Genki Jason
    September 23, 2014

    Hehe 😉

    I never took him too seriously until I watched Rurouni Kenshin. Give the man a round of applause for his performance!

    • Novroz
      September 23, 2014

      Same here! For me, before Kenshin he was just like most pretty boys in Japan entertainment industry. Kenshin changed it all and looking at him seriously practicing katana makes me admire him more.

      I saw an interview once, with my heta Japanese I could get that he wanted to give Kenshin a justice, he is such an iconic character and that’s why Takeru-kun is seriously training his sword play.

  2. Gray Dawster
    September 23, 2014

    This is great Miss. Novia 🙂
    Hey how many more actors
    will be joining your list? 😉

    Have fun today my sweet friend 🙂

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz
      September 25, 2014

      Thank you Andro 🙂
      Hopefully not many will join my list because I don’t have enough time to see them all 😉

      Have fun to you too Andro

      • Gray Dawster
        September 29, 2014

        That’s true, it is best to just pick out your favourites and keep the list short 🙂 Have fun today my sweet friend 🙂

        Andro xxxx

        • Novroz
          September 30, 2014

          Have fun to you too Andro 🙂

  3. Alice Audrey
    September 25, 2014

    The Back trailer had me smiling even though I don’t understand the words. But then, I loved the manga.

    • Novroz
      September 25, 2014

      I haven’t read the manga nor watched the anime. I quite enjoy the live action.

  4. Pingback: 佐藤健 マラソン : Q10, Bloody Monday, Bitter Blood | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2014 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads