Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Movies Lately: About a Boy, Grease, Swing Girls, Suspect X

This weekend (the only day I can enjoy myself writing blog) I prepared 2 posts at once, first was Independence Day special (Here) and finally a short review collection of short reviews of the things I watched Lately.

Movie_Reel_22

Lately I have been in the mood of watching movies I have watched before and one Dorama (Japanese Drama) after another. I always have this kind of tendency in watching. I actually watched others that are new to me and they are actually really good, but I haven’t got the energy to write a full impressive review about those movies. I am binding my time till I am ready to write a proper review for those great movies. Meanwhile, I am in the mood to write all my rewatches.

Here are the movies I watched lately, I will write my thoughts and copied the summaries from imdb.

About A Boy (2002)

About_a_boy_movie_posterDirector: Chris Weitz, Paul Weitz
Staring:
Hugh Grant, Nicholas Hoult, Toni Collette, Rachel Weisz
Rating: 4 stars

Summary (imdb):

Based on Nick Hornby’s best-selling novel, About A Boy is the story of a cynical, immature young man who is taught how to act like a grown-up by a little boy.

My Thought:

I rewatched this movie because when I was about to review Warm Bodies, I found out that R (Nicholas Hoult) used to be in About A Boy. I never would have thought that he grew to be such a hunk!! I decided to rewached this to remind me again of how good his acting was when he was a kid. My reaction toward the movie was the same as when I watched it the first time. I like the chemistry between Grant and Hoult. Will Freeman (Grant) is actually the kind of man I picture Grant would be in real life, so Grant is perfect as Freeman. What I like the most from this movie is how natural it is for Marcus to change Freeman, the boy isn’t intentionally trying to change him but somehow through their relationship the man learns a lot from the boy.

Grease (1978)

Grease_ver2Director: Randal Kleiser
Staring: John Travolta, Olivia Newton-John, Stockard Channing, Jeff Conaway
Rating: 3 stars

Summary (imdb):

Good girl Sandy and greaser Danny fell in love over the summer. But when they unexpectedly discover they’re now in the same high school, will they be able to rekindle their romance?

My Thoughts:

Grease, seen from the plot, is nothing special…BUT…it does have one of the best soundtracks a musical movie ever produced. I watched this ages ago…I think I was still in junior high. I enjoy the songs a lot (more than the story). Every time I decided to rewatch this,  it was always because of the music. When I first watched it, I thought THEY ARE TOO OLD to be teenangers, now that I have rewatched it…I STILL think they are too old to be teenagers.

Swing Girls (2004)

SwingGirlsPosterDirector: Shinobu Yaguchi
Staring: Juri Ueno, Yuta Hiraoka, Shihori Kanjiya, Yukari Toyoshima, Yuika Motokariya, Naoto Takenaka
Rating: 4 stars

Summary (imdb):

A tale of delinquent and lazy school girls. In their efforts to cut remedial summer math class, they end up poisoning and replacing the schools brass band.

My Thoughts:

I LOVE this movie!! I watched this years ago and still enjoy watching it again and again. It’s very funny, I laughed as much as I was when i first saw it. The story is basically like most Japanese high school movie/series, about never giving up on your passion (even though it’s a new found passion). These girls never been serious with anything, swing jazz brought them all together. I always love this kind of story, the never giving up kind of story. And I must say once it once again…it’s very funny.

Suspect X (2008)

Suspect xDirector: Hiroshi Nishitani
Staring:Masaharu Fukuyama, Kou Shibasaki, Shinichi Tsutsumi, Yasuko Matsuyuki
Rating: 4 stars

Summary (my previous review):

To him, the only unsolvable equation was love.

Unconditional love is when you do something for the one you love without expecting anything in return, even though the love is an unrequited love.

My Thoughts:

This isn’t a rewatch like the other movies but it’s sort of a rewatch, it’s the original of Yonguija X (Perfect Number). I was so impressed with Yonguija X and always wondering what’s the original movie like. In my opinion, Suspect X is lighter than Yonguija X…it feels a bit cheerful compared to the darker Yonguija X. To be honest I like Yonguija X more because it feels sadder and darker but I also enjoy Suspect X because of the relationship between two smart people, Tetsuya Ishigami and Manabu Yukawa.

The unfortunate part of watching this is of course because I already know the story so it lacks element of surprise like the first time I saw Yonguija X.

I also rewatched Inception…but I don’t feel like writing about it again😉

 

 

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “Movies Lately: About a Boy, Grease, Swing Girls, Suspect X

  1. Bikramjit
    August 19, 2014

    Only seen about a boy and grease in the list🙂 .. and both of them are exceptionally excellent🙂 well grease is a Cult movie

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2014

      You should also try watching Asian movies once in a while😉

  2. Gray Dawster
    August 19, 2014

    Nice posting Miss. Novia
    and I hope that you are very
    well my sweet friend🙂 xx

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2014

      Thank you Andro🙂
      I am well but very busy

  3. Binky
    August 20, 2014

    They like to do that a lot, use 25 year olds as teenagers, and hope no one notices! Grease is the only one I’ve seen, and that was probably 30 years ago.

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2014

      Not every actor looks young, I hope the movie makers realize that. It’s okay to have Micheal J Fox as a teenager in Back to the future because he has baby face but someone like John Travolta has no baby face at all.

  4. sidekickreviews
    August 20, 2014

    Let’s see, I’ve seen a total of …zero of these movies.><. Not even Grease, yikes I know, but I've heard some of the songs. I did finally see Dawn of the … Apes and it was really good, the CGI amazing and Ceasar is awesome!

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2014

      Hahaha don’t feel bad…not everyone has to watch grease. The first time I watched it, it was on TV.

      Yeaaa….looking forward o read your review, will you be reviewing it?

      • sidekickreviews
        August 26, 2014

        Probably won’t be reviewing it unless it’s part of a movie round up post.🙂

  5. TBM
    August 20, 2014

    I’ve only seen Grease from your list. It’s been years since I’ve seen it though.

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2014

      Me too…it’s been years since I saw it the first time.

  6. Alice Audrey
    August 21, 2014

    I totally agree on Grease. Not much of a story but the music will stick with you.

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2014

      Sometimes I listen to the music from youtube. The story is not a material that I can enjoy watching it over and over again.

  7. ruth
    August 21, 2014

    Glad you enjoyed About A Boy, Nov. I saw that a long while ago and I remember liking it. It’s crazy to see Nicholas Hoult grow up to be such a tall hunk now, ahah.

    • Novroz
      August 24, 2014

      This change in Nicholas Hoult makes me want to write about young actors turning handsome as they grow up😉 … but it has to wait till I have enough time to do that.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads