Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Happy 69th Independence Day

I am very busy lately and don’t even have time to update my blog regularly (all the free time I have, I give it to update my turtle’s blog) but no matter how busy I am, I can’t ignore this important day…the day when the heroes of my country proclaimed our independence. The day where we were no longer being colonized, the day where Indonesia became a free country.

I don’t have much to say because I have written the history of this special day back in 2011 in a post called The Day we Proclaimed Our Independence.

excerpt:

Before the Colonial Era, Indonesia used to be island upon island under different Kings. Some kingdoms were under Islamic law while others under Buddhism and Hinduism. The remnants of the Kingdoms can still be seen across Indonesia. One of the most famous ones is Candi Borobudur. (picture is borrowed from The Great Destinations)

Things started to changed in the beginning of 16th century, the Portuguese landed on the eastern part of Indonesia. They were the first who introduced Christianity to Indonesian people. Till this day, most eastern part of Indonesia is Christian. The Portuguese era in Indonesia was not something very important, at least we do not mention it much in school history text book.

In the beginning of 17th century, The Dutch arrived and the longest colonial era began. The Dutch East-Hindia Company (VOC) monopolized the trade in Java and exploited the small kingdoms in Java. From then on, they began their land-based colonial empire. It was one of the world’s richest colonial possessions.

People in Indonesia are now celebrating this day by doing a lot of fun competitions. I had shared about these competition in my first Indonesia Banget series>> here. My school will have the competition and the flag hoisting ceremony tomorrow.

On this special day, I prepared a special post on my turtle’s blog (Underneath The Shell), all my turtles are in red and white 🙂

All Red-White

A salute from the top of Mount Cikurai

DSC01977

From Google

August 17

Happy 69th Independence Day to all Indonesian across the world

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “Happy 69th Independence Day

  1. ruth
    August 19, 2014

    Wah lupa saya kalo kemarin ultah Tanah Air 😉 Ha..ha.. I still remember those weekly Upacara, can’t say I miss ’em tho, ahah.

    • Novroz
      August 19, 2014

      Hahaha…gimana nih Ruth 😉

      I don’t mind upacara 17 agustus, I just don’t like it when they do it every week…fortunately my school only do 3 upacara a year 🙂

  2. Binky
    August 19, 2014

    I hope you had fun celebrating your independence day.

    • Novroz
      August 19, 2014

      I did 🙂
      We had lots of fun competition in school…I wont second place in eating kerupuk race and my student (in my class) won many competitions.

  3. Alice Audrey
    August 21, 2014

    Happy Independence Day!

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2014 by in Indonesia Banget, Things I Need to Say and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,527 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads