Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Tiger and Dragon – An Introduction to Rakugo

Tiger_&_DragonI haven’t been reviewing dorama is ages…I actually saw this dorama in January but never had a chance to write it, there’s always something else to write.

Tiger and Dragon is an interesting dorama (Japanese TV Series), I learned new things from it. I have loved things Japanese since I was in junior high but there are still so many things I didn’t know about Japan…it’s a country with so much tradition.

This dorama is about Rakugo. I have never heard of Rakugo till I watched this series. Rakugo can be considered as sit-down comedy (while western has stand up comedy), but the comedy is not like stand up…it’s more like a story telling. The story is always comedy with the punchline at the end. From the dorama, it said that the stories are mostly a story which has been told so many times. The quality of the story depends on the the Rakugoka.

The story is mostly a kind of dialogue between two or many characters. Rakugoka has to have skills to change face expression and voice intonation to depict all the characters. Noriko Watanabe called it as a sitcom with only one person playing all the characters.

Rakugo is an old art created by monk in 9th/10th century as a way to make people interested with their religious lesson. It’s amazing how Japan managed to keep such old tradition/art going on for so long. It’s one of many things that makes me admire Japan. See this video to get a clearer meaning of Rakugo. The Rakugo is spoken in English (I enjoy many English Rakugo in Youtube), it starts at minute 5.40

Now, the story of Tiger and Dragon.

Toraji

Toraji

 A Yakuza member named Toraji (Tora means Tiger) is a person who couldn’t tell jokes at all. He had a very serious face. He had been adopted by Yakuza leader since he was a kid. One day, he saw a Rakugo performance and completely in love with the performance. He never laughed so hard like that. He was so impressed he kept chasing the Rakugoka to be his sensei. He wanted to learn to be a rakugoka. He even planned to quit being a yakuza and become a rakugoka.

His problem was not only he couldn’t tell joke, his expression was always the angry expression of a yakuza, he also couldn’t remember the story. He finally changed the classic story into a story that happened in real life but had the same outline as the classic story.

Ryuji

Ryuji

Meanwhile, his sensei had a son who happened to be a very talented Rakugoka. Ryuji (Ryu means Dragon) decided to abandon rakugo and opened a fashion shop but all his clothes was so lame. He didn’t profit much but he continued his work. Toraji asked his help to make him a better rakugoka.

The two of them became friends.

There are 11 episodes with one prequel (so, the total is 12 episode) and each episode has a funny rakugo story.

I really like this dorama. I laughed a lot when I watched. I like the way it shared about the art of rakugo, I love the warmth of sensei’s family, and of course I like their odd friendship. I know for sure I will rewatch this one day.

You can see the series in youtube. Here’s the prequel.

Tiger and Dragon

full series> here

Series Detail:

Title: Tiger and Dragon ( タイガー&ドラゴン)
Starring: Nagase Tomoya, Okada Junichi, Ito Misaki, Nishida Toshiyuki, Shoufukutei Tsurube, Tsukamoto Takashi, Takuma Takayuki, Gin Pun Chou, Abe Sadao, Nekoze Tsubaki, Shunputei Shota, Hoshino Gen, Fukami Motoki, Asari Yosuke, Aoi Yu, Kiritani Kenta.
Broadcast: Special: 2005-Jan-09; 2005-Apr-15 to Jun-24

Borrowed from Asianbeam.com

Borrowed from Asianbeam.com

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

9 comments on “Tiger and Dragon – An Introduction to Rakugo

  1. Genki Jason
    July 12, 2014

    Looks like a cool dorama. I’ll have to watch it at some point. My first encounter with Rakugo was in one of my old film trailer posts. There’s a series of films about the Rakugo masters.

    • Novroz
      July 14, 2014

      It’s a comedy and always like comedy drama 🙂

      Can you name one movie about Rakugo?

  2. Alice Audrey
    July 15, 2014

    It’s so fun to finally see Rakugo performed after having read references to it in manga so many times.

    • Novroz
      July 15, 2014

      Then I think you would like this dorama too 😉

  3. sungin
    July 16, 2014

    I started the prequel just for take a look and hooked up 🙂
    I like Nagase Tomoya’s works. I was looking forward to watch Unubore Deka too but after reading your post about it I had doubts about watching it. Now I’ll watch this one first.

    By the way, Ramadan Mubarek 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 16, 2014

      I think you should try Unubore Deka, you might like it…it’s not to my liking but maybe you’ll like it…give it one or two episodes first.

      Ramadan Mubarek to you too 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2014 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads