Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Happy 59th Birthday, Dearest Mom

The original card is borrowed from Old Design Shop

The original card is borrowed from Old Design Shop

Note: to see the writing clearly, you can click on the image.

Dearest Mama…Happy 59th birthday. It’s been 2,5 years now, but I can still see you vividly in my mind. I still cry every time the memory of you come to my mind. I hope you are sleeping peacefully there. You will always be in my prayer till the day I die.

********************************************

In this special day, I would love to share 5 things about her. There are so many I can share but there are still many years ahead to share more about her🙂

#1 She was always smiling and laughing.

My mom was very cheerful. Even when she was in pain, she could still smile in happiness. I remembered the last Idhul Fitri (few days after she survived from a very low Hb level in her blood), all my family gathered around her, she could still laugh at my nephews and nieces even though she could barely sit on her bed anymore.

My mom and my aunty

My aunty and mama

#2 She was a good barber

I never had my hair cut in a salon when my mom was still alive. She had been cutting my hair since I was little. She also cut my nephews and nieces’ hair. Because she always cut my hair, I often felt reluctant to go to a salon now.

Mom and my nephew

Mama and my nephew

#3 She was a great tailor

She took sewing class when she was still in junior high. She helped support our family by sewing. I rarely bought dress when she was still alive. I only bought fabrics, drew the design and she would sew it for me. Even my in-law asked her to sew her wedding dress (wedding dress and reception dress are often different in Indonesia)

My in-law in her wedding dress made by mama

My in-law in her wedding dress made by mama

#4 She was very strong

She was strong in everything. She could easily carry several heavy grocery bags, she could squeeze the water out of the laundry till it was almost dry (she often protested how my laundry still so wet when I put it on jemuran >> the image of jemuran is here)…fortunately she stopped complaining when we finally had washing machine😉

She worked all day long and never got sick…until that fatal tumor and cancer came to her. She fought her pain longer than anyone I ever known with the same illness. There was one moment where her Hb level was only 3, Doctor had predicted the worst… a woman in the same hospital room with the Hb level of 5 passed away while my mom got better and able to spend the last Idhul Fitri with us.

#5 She was a great cook

There were still so many recipes I haven’t learned from her yet. She was always trying new stuff. She would buy a cooking book and tried it. She opened a food counter once, but it was too tiring so it lasted only for few months. She could cook almost all Padang food (here).

She taught me some simple food, like this; Terong Balado (eggplant with chilli)…but my cooking is never as tasty as hers.

DSC09692

She never won any award for best mother in the world…but to me she will always be the best mother in the world. I miss her so much and I love her then, now and forever.

In Islam, when we die we don’t go to heaven. We go to Barzakh; the barrier between the physical and spiritual worlds, in which the soul awaits after death and before resurrection on Qiyamah (Judgement Day). Heaven and hell come after Judgement day. Even though Mama is not in heaven now, she is sleeping in Barzakh…BUT I really like this image from Shuker Nature:

Visiting Times In Heaven

copyright: Shuker Nature

There are so much I want to share with her.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

23 comments on “Happy 59th Birthday, Dearest Mom

  1. Kroten
    June 2, 2014

    Reblogged this on Underneath The Shell and commented:

    Today is a special day!

    Today is Grandma’s 59th birthday. We won’t post anything here because Mommy had posted it in her blog.

    Happy 59th Birthday, Dearest Grandma.

  2. Bikramjit
    June 2, 2014

    Mothers are always there looking at us ..

    I am sure grandma is looking too. Happy birthday to grandma

  3. le0pard13
    June 2, 2014

    Wonderful tribute, Novroz.

  4. Binky
    June 2, 2014

    That was very nicely written, Novia, and it was nice to be able meet your mother in a sense.

    • Novroz
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you Peter. I am glad you like meeting my mom (in a sense)

      • Binky
        June 4, 2014

        I would have liked to meet her for real. I’m sure we would’ve liked each other.

        • Novroz
          June 8, 2014

          I bet you too will like each other, she was easily welcome everyone…although I might have to sit between you two because she couldn’t speak English at all😉

  5. Gray Dawster
    June 2, 2014

    What a lovely posting Miss. Novia
    and your mom would be so proud
    of you, as always my dear friend🙂

    She will be forever
    in your heart and mind…

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you Andro🙂
      I know…she will never be forgotten.

      Ps. Why haven’t you updated your blog in ages?

  6. easyweimaraner
    June 2, 2014

    Happy Birthday to your grandma and many thanks for a great post, it was a pleasure to read :o)

    • Kroten
      June 2, 2014

      Thank you Weima🙂
      She was a wonderful grandma. I am going to share a story of me and her sometime this week🙂

  7. Nekoneko
    June 3, 2014

    My warmest thoughts for you dear Novia. I just know your Mom is happy in the certain knowledge that you will always love her so much and remember her always. I am glad you have all these happy memories to keep till the time you meet again in the hereafter.

    • Novroz
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you so much for your kind words Miyuki🙂
      Memories are the only thing we can treasure from out loved ones

  8. Mags Corner
    June 3, 2014

    What a beautiful, loving tribute to your lovely mom. Hugs, sweet friend!

  9. Alice Audrey
    June 5, 2014

    A mother who can laugh is pretty important. Well worth an award.

    Is that you as a baby? How cute! And what a beautiful wedding dress!

    • Novroz
      June 5, 2014

      No…that’s my nephew ( my little brother’s son, the mother is the one wearing the wedding dress). On weekend, My brother always brought him to our house when Mama was still alive. He told me that he wanted Mama to get a chance to play with him as long as she could.

      He does look more like me than his mother because he totally copies his father’s look😉

      • Alice Audrey
        June 10, 2014

        I like the brightness in his eyes. That was nice of him to bring him around often.

        • Novroz
          June 13, 2014

          He is the same boy I used for my Monday movies🙂
          Yes, he was so thoughtful

  10. Caroline
    June 6, 2014

    What a lovely post. And what a truly amazing lady she was. That wedding dress is stunning and her smile is so warm.

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2014

      Thank you Caroline🙂
      Yes she was the best….she wasn’t perfect (no one is perfect) but she was the best.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2014 by in Things I Need to Say and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads