Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Rom-Com Week : The Proposal, Return To Me, Warm Bodies

I always mention that I don’t like romantic movies because such movies often bored me. It’s true!! I haven’t yet found a romantic movies that can keep me awake or interested…unless my favorite actors are in it…but even with my favorite actors, such movies still bored me. I dislike The Edge of Love even with Cillian in it,  I fell asleep every time I tried to see Gone With The Wind, and there were many other movies I couldn’t finish.

HOWEVER, I have no problem at all when it comes to romantic comedy. I like a lot of them. I know for sure why I like this genre, it’s funny and the love story is not too complicated so it doesn’t make me bored.

Last week, I was still busy with my report card preparation and exam…so at time like that, I don’t want to watch anything serious…I am in the mood for something light, so I rewatched The Proposal and picked 2 new to me movies, Return To Me and Warm Bodies.

Here’s goes my thoughts on the movies:

The Proposal (2001)

Style: "9142_LA_Disney_The_Proposal_Light_Test_01"The Proposal is another Romantic Comedy by Sandra bullock…but unlike her other Romantic comedy where she plays as cheerful woman, in The Proposal she plays as bossy and irritating woman. She plays with a much younger man named Ryan Reynolds. (Sandra was 45 and Ryan was 32).

The Story

Margaret Tate (Sandra Bullock) is an editor in chief of a famous publishing company. She is a ruthless boss whom everyone tends to call her as either bitch or witch. She treats her employees cruelly. Her assistant, Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds), has been working for her for 3 years, and all she does is forcing him to work extra. One day, Margaret who is a Canadian is going to be deported because her visa is overdue. Out of desperation, she claims that she and Andrew are going to get married and therefore she doesn’t have to be deported. She blackmailed Andrew go along with her plan. But they have to face a persistence immigration interviewer. Margaret and Andrew decide to go to Andrew’s home town in Alaska for Andrew’s grandmother’s birthday. Things start to change while they are in Alaska.

In the beginning of the movie, I keep on laughing out loud. Ryan’s face is so comical. The chemistry between Sandy and Ryan is so great. I really like the part when Margaret suddenly tells her boss about her engagement with Andrew and Andrew’s face is priceless huahaha…very funny. And I also like the part when Margaret has to kneel before Andrew.

Somewhere in the middle, the movie becomes more serious and touchy. There are parts that almost bring tears to my eyes.

Too bad…the ending of this movie sort of similar with While You Are Sleeping.

Over all, I give this movie 4 stars out of 5 (I really like it)

Director: Anne Fletcher
Starring: Sandra Bullock, Ryan Reynolds, Betty White, Mary Steenburgen, Craig T. Nelson
Rating: 4 stars

Return To Me (2000)

ReturntomeposterI first heard about this movie from Ruth @ Flixchatter, she encouraged me to watch it. I thought it might be a good watch since it is played by David Duchovny (I love him as Mulder) and t’s a romantic comedy.

The Story:

Bob Rueland lost his wife in an accident. Her hearts is transplanted to a lively woman named Grace Briggs. The two meet by chance and fell in love without knowing about the heart.

Just like most rom-com, you can easily guess the story. What I like the most about this movie is the chemistry between Duchovny and Driver, they are so cute together. The way they love each other also comes natural…even though I couldn’t quite accept the reason why she hides her transplant.

It’s not quite memorable but it’s still a sweet and fun movie. I like it.

Director: Bonnie Hunt
Starring: David Duchovny, Minnie Driver, Carroll O’Connor, Robert Loggia, David Alan Grier, Bonnie Hunt, James Belushi, Joely Richardson
Rating: 3 stars

Warm Bodies (2013)

Warm_Bodies_Theatrical_Poster

This is definitely in my surprise list!! I mean I seriously don’t want to watch it when I saw the trailer…it looks as cheesy and useless as Twilight (no offense to the fans, it’s just how I feel about that movie). However, since I was in the mood for some romantic comedy and my neighbor (one of the teachers in the dorm) has Warm Bodies, I borrowed it from her…maybe I could laugh at the movies😉

Remarkably, I actually enjoy it more than I thought! It’s cheesy but it’s still fun and surprisingly enjoyable…very enjoyable. Graham Norton called it as Zom-Rom-Com and I agree with him.

The Story:

Set at eight years after zombie apocalypse, one zombie, R, is somehow different compared to the others. He feels bored being a zombie. Then, one day he fell in love with a human woman. The more they interact the warmer R becomes; the more he becomes less zombie.

I seriously think that the idea of the story is incredibly silly and makes no sense … but the execution is really well done. I really enjoy the voice over on R, R is a zombie and of course in capable of saying so much words but his thought keeps saying what he feels. I also like the awkward moments when R is trying to win Julie’s heart. I think the strength of this movie is on R, his character is the most interesting part of this movie. Nicholas Hoult failed to be the perfect R, the movie would be less enjoyable.

R: [voice-over] What am I doing with my life? I’m so pale. I should get out more. I should eat better. My posture is terrible. I should stand up straighter. People would respect me more if I stood up straighter. What’s wrong with me? I just want to connect. Why can’t I connect with people? Oh, right, it’s because I’m dead. I shouldn’t be so hard on myself. I mean, we’re all dead. This girl is dead. That guy is dead. That guy in the corner is definitely dead. Jesus these guys look awful.

I am now putting Warm Bodies in my guilty pleasure list…in fact, I might watch again soon. I already miss R. (and to my surprise, Nicholas Hoult (R) is the same boy who played in About a Boy…man, that boy sure grows to be a hot young man!)

Director: Jonathan Levine
Starring: Nicholas Hoult, Teresa Palmer, Rob Corddry, Dave Franco, Analeigh Tipton, Cory Hardrict, John Malkovich
Rating: 4 stars

Have you watched any of those movies? What do you think?

Ps. my rating is not based on the quality of the movies but more to how I felt when I was watching it.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

17 comments on “Rom-Com Week : The Proposal, Return To Me, Warm Bodies

  1. ruth
    May 20, 2014

    Hey Nov, glad you gave Return To Me a shot! I absolutely adore this movie as it’s not the typical silly rom-com, in fact both characters have dealt with sorrow and heartbreak before they found each other, so there’s a touch of poignancy that I love about it. I agree the chemistry between David and Minnie is lovely, it seems so effortless too which is always nice to see. Wish you had loved it more but hey, I’m glad you even saw it. That makes me so happy!!😀

    • Novroz
      May 21, 2014

      Thank you for recommending it…I like it and really enjoy it. Yup it’s not a silly rom-com…I don’t like silly rom-com (well, except Warm Bodies). I also like her family, so noisy and fun.

  2. Alice Audrey
    May 21, 2014

    Gone with the Wind has not held up well with time. At one point my dd wanted to see “classic” movies to improve her grasp on culture. I manged to get her through The Sound of Music and Singing in the Rain without a problem (both romances, by the way) but not only did she lose interest in Gone with the Wind early in the movie, I found myself fast forwarding through it. It’s simply not paced for modern sensibilities.

    • Novroz
      May 21, 2014

      I know Sound of Music, very famous but I haven’t seen it yet.
      Maybe one day someone will remake Gone With The Wind, Tho I know for sure I will not see it…unless Cillian plays in it, then I watch it for him…if not, I’ll definitely pass

      • Alice Audrey
        May 29, 2014

        I don’t see it happening, but who knows.

        ps. I’m so glad you mentioned Warm Bodies. It was on my watch list, but I had forgotten the title.

        • Novroz
          June 1, 2014

          Hope you’ll like it as much as I am🙂

          • Alice Audrey
            June 10, 2014

            Netflix doesn’t stream it. Looks like I’ll have to bury the hatchet with one or another of the local rental stores. *sigh*

          • Novroz
            June 13, 2014

            I thought the movie was quite famous, I am surprised netflix doesn’t have it.

  3. le0pard13
    May 21, 2014

    Fun reviews, Novroz. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed Warm Bodies. I’m already a big fan of The Proposal, and like Ruth, Return to Me.

    • Novroz
      May 21, 2014

      Me too!! I didn’t expect it, I thought it would just be another movie I regret ever watching it…but surprisingly I really like it.

  4. sidekickreviews
    May 21, 2014

    I’ve only seen Warm Bodies, I didn’t like it as much as most people but I like the nod to Romeo and Juliet. I’m not the hugest fan of rom coms, though I’d give The Proposal a chance.

    • Novroz
      May 21, 2014

      I didn’t know most people like it! Hahaha I watched it because it was there and to my surprise I like it. I usually don’t like such silly young adult romance…as I said I think the character makes like it more than I thought.

      I am not a huge rom-com fan either BUT I only can bear romance in a comedy form. Pure romantic movie bored me.

  5. Hey way to go on trying the genre you usually avoid😉 I love The Proposal, and turns out Bullock and Reynolds have been friends for so long. That’s the real reason about the chemistry.

    Glad you loved Warm Bodies. I loved it too, surprisingly. Love the soundtrack as well.

    • Novroz
      May 22, 2014

      Aha!! I avoid serious romance…but been enjoying rom-com for years…but not all of them because I don’t like the TOO silly rom-com.

      But…yes I did try a new genre, young adult romance😉 I get a feeling that Warm Bodies surprises a lot of people.

  6. marissagnwalker
    May 27, 2014

    I loved Warm Bodies, it’s been my obsession for the past week, and that was incredibly unexpected, much like you were saying. Loved reading your opinions on it! Well done, and thanks for sharing🙂 Feel free to check out my newest review on it, and see what you think of it.

    • Novroz
      May 28, 2014

      Hi Marissa🙂
      Me too…the movie really gets into me, I watched again few days after I published this post. If one day i make top 5 zombie movies, Warm Bodies will be in the list.

  7. Pingback: Monster Week: Godzilla (2014) and Jack The Giant Slayer | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads