Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Busy Me and Movies Lately: One New Movie and a Bunch of Rewatches

I can’t believe it’s been a week since my last post. I am currently near the end of school year which only means ONE THING…extreme level of being busy! Since today is Saturday, I steal a bit of my time to write a post (at least to let everyone knows that I am still here 😉 ).

This picture represents my current state: (as shared by Kurome in his blog post called Busy Mommy (Again) )

Borrowed from

In the past one and a half week, I have sooooo many paper work to do and I have to do it in between my classes. I have to prepare three kinds of exams, science for grade 8, Physics and Chemistry for grade 10…and at the same time I have to prepare comments for each students, these comments will be part of their report cards. I am also a class tutor and that’s another extra work to prepare my class’ report card. I haven’t finished all the comments yet because trying to transfers the behavior and learning process of over 100 students into words requires time and mind. The comments are still not finished and another work already waiting to take my time…after final exam comes the most important thing of all: grading those exam papers…plus grading summative assessments. I hope I can finish all of this next week.

Let’s forget all those paper works for a while!!

The more I become busy, the more I want to watch movies as a way to make me have some relax time. Blogging is a bit difficult as it involves thinking when writing it. Before I become this busy, I got a chance to see a new (to me) movie but when things got TOO busy I started watching nothing but movies I have watched before.

Mr Brooks (2007)

Mr BrooksSummary:

Mr Earl Brooks is a successful and respectful businessman…but no one knows that he has a deadly addiction, he is addicted to killing people. He is a serial killer known as the “Thumbprint Killer”. He has tried to stop but his alter ego keeps pushing him to kill again. Things get more complicated when a man who witnesses his act wants to become his prodigy.

My thought:

I freakin love this movie!!! I love how elegant Mr Brooks is. I have seen many serial killer movies and I think Mr Brooks is the most posh one. Mr Brooks has has many unexpected twist…a movie I couldn’t guess at all and I love this kind of stories. It doesn’t have that gore which usually accompanied serial killer movies. It reminds me of Se7en (I really want to watch it again) but in se7en it’s from the side of the police. Here in Mr Brooks we get to see both side. I also think that this is one of Costner’s best movies. He is brilliant as Mr Brooks, it’s as if the character was specifically written for him. Simply said, Mr Brooks is an amazing underrated movie.

Director: Bruce A. Evans
Starring: Kevin Costner, Demi Moore, Dane Cook, Marg Helgenberger, Danielle Panabaker, William Hurt
Rating: 4,5 stars

I didn’t watch any new (to me) movies after Mr Brooks because of my work…but it’s impossible to keep working without a bit of break, right? At time like this I prefer to watch something I know will cheer me up. Trying to watch something new could result in disappointing at the movie and I am currently not in the mood to feel disappointed.

Still in the mood of Transcendence (tho the movie was not good but it has two of my most fav actors) so for the past week I rewatched some Paul Bettany and Cillian Murphy’s movies 🙂

Since I haven’t reviewed these movie by Paul Bettany, so I am going to review it a bit…well, more like sharing my thought of the movie.

Wimbledon (2004)

Wimbledon_film_poster

Summary:

A washed-up tennis pro named Peter Colt (played by Paul Bettany) and an up-and-coming tennis star named Lizzie Bradbury (played by Kirsten Dunst) during the Wimbledon Championships. (wikipedia)

My thought:

Wimbledon is one of my guilty pleasure. The story is sooooo typical, almost all romantic comedy have the same theme,  but I like watching it…not only because of Paul Bettany but also because of the chemistry between Paul and Dunst. They are so believable as a couple and they look so cute together.

There’s really nothing much to see about Wimbledon but if you need a fun movie from a tired day, I’s say watch this movie 😉

I’d love to see Paul in another romantic comedy or just comedy again, he is actually a very funny man…but Paul said it was tiring to play a charming man like Peter Colt.

Director: Richard Loncraine
Starring: Paul Bettany, Kirsten Dunst, Sam Neill, Jon Favreau, Austin Nichols
Rating: 3 stars

A Knight’s Tale (2001)

AKnightsTaleSummary:

Told in an anachronistic style with many modern references, the film follows peasant faking to be a knight, along with his companions in the world of medieval jousting. William poses as a knight and competes in tournaments, winning accolades and acquiring friendships with such historical figures as Edward, the Black Prince of Wales and Geoffrey Chaucer. (wikipedia)

My Thought:

Another cliche movie where the peasant can rise to be a powerful man…and also another movie where someone who never play something rises above people who have been training it for years. However, A Knight’s Tale has a nice set up, a medieval story with modern music…I like it!! It’s a fun movie.

Unlike Wimbledon, I watched this movie before I fell for Paul Bettany and I remember that he had already stolen my attention away from the main star, Heath Ledger, but at that time I didn’t know who he was.

Director: Brian Helgeland
Starring: Heath Ledger, Mark Addy,Rufus Sewell, Paul Bettany, Alan Tudyk
Rating: 3 stars

Well…since I have reviewed most of Cillian’s movies…I don’t have to reviewed in anymore 😉

Red Eye (2005)

Cillian_Murphy_in_Red-Eye_Wallpaper_3_800

Although my statement stays like the first paragraph I wrote when reviewing Red Eye three years ago> Here’s the review

and here’s the statement:

I have been delaying my review on this movie because of 1 single important thing, the story SUCKS!!

BUT I couldn’t ignore the fact that Cillian was a charming terrorist 😉 …and it doesn’t hurt to have Cillian in close up most of the time ❤

Rewatching Red Eye is always simply for the pleasure of my eyes 😉

My opinion still remain the same, I love the first part of this movie…the chemistry between Rachel McAdam and Cillian Murphy was great (hope they can play together again one day) BUT the ending is still terrible…like I said so many times I HATE forced happy ending.

Cillian’s role in red Eye is the reason why my student said this: “Miss, how could you like Cillian? he is so creepy!” ….that only proves one thing, he is a great actor 😉

Creepy Cillian

I don’t feel like sharing the trailer, here’s the bloopers:

Inception (2010)

My previous review>> here

I know I should rewrite my review because my first review was written so fast and didn’t have all the good quality of the movie…but not now as I don’t have the time to come up with good and thorough review.

My opinion of Inception stays the same!

One of the best sci-fi movies ever made!

Great idea, great execution and a bunch of great actors.

Plus…I love seeing Cillian looking so rich like Robert Fischer 😉

 vlcsnap-2014-05-09-20h48m35s32 vlcsnap-2014-05-09-21h01m38s198vlcsnap-2014-05-09-21h48m47s86

Inception also has a great trailer, one that doesn’t tell all the story in 2 minutes

****************************************

Special note: Cillian’s birthday is coming soon…I sure hope I have the time to write something special…well maybe the right term is I WILL make a time to write something 😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

13 comments on “Busy Me and Movies Lately: One New Movie and a Bunch of Rewatches

  1. B. M.
    May 10, 2014

    A knights TALE is lovely , I have it on blue ray and watch it often.. especially when the song comes WE wiil We will ROCK you 🙂

    havenot seen anyof the other movies mentioned , I will try watching M.rBrooks 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 11, 2014

      I agree…A knight’s is lovely…I never get tired of seeing it. i like the idea of combining old and new.

      You haven’t watched Inception??? wow…you’re missing one great sci-fi movie.

  2. Alice Audrey
    May 11, 2014

    Thanks for the heads up on Mr. Brooks. I’ll look for it. You had me at Kevin Costner. 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 11, 2014

      Hope you’ll like it as much as me 🙂

  3. ruth
    May 12, 2014

    Sorry to hear you’re so busy Nov, hope you get a break soon. Oh I’m curious about Mr Brooks now, I quite like Costner, esp him playing against type. Haven’t seen Inception for ages, I like Cillian there but my fave character is definitely Eames 🙂

    • Novroz
      May 13, 2014

      Thank you Ruth 🙂
      Soon, I will have more time because my end of year’s break will be one full month 🙂

      Let me know if you have watched Mr Brooks. I really like it even though the rating is not that high in imdb.

      Hahaha…me too! I think that’s my favorite Tom Hardy’s character. Btw, he is going to play with Cillian again in Peaky Blinders 2.

  4. TBM
    May 12, 2014

    I need to add Mr. Brooks to my list. Sounds like one I would enjoy and for some reason I’m fascinated by serial killers and such. Criminal Minds if my favorite TV show. Best of luck with the end of the school year. I remember those days when I used to teach. I never realized how much teachers had to do until I was on the other side of the table.

    • Novroz
      May 13, 2014

      Me too!! I like a good serial killer movies…good because the killer has a purpose not some cheezy slasher movies with no real purpose…in other word I like a smart serial killer story.

      I haven’t watched that…maybe I will try to find it and watch it when i have more free time.

  5. Binky
    May 13, 2014

    I finally saw that Spirited Away movie you talked about. It was quite good!

    • Novroz
      May 13, 2014

      Yeaaaa \(^_^)/ glad you finally watch my fav anime.

  6. Ben
    June 8, 2014

    Some great movies here. Love Inception and Wimbledon is a guilty pleasure of mine too – Paul Bettany is great.

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2014

      Bettany is always great in all his movies, even though it was a nonsense movie.

  7. Pingback: I’m Back and Here’s My Top 5 Movie in 2014 | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads