Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

13 Pictures from Mount Papandayan: Graffiti and Edelweiss

I went hiking on Easter holiday🙂 I have shared 3 posts to cover my hiking experience:

  1. Heading to Mount Papandayan
  2. Mount Papandayan, Day 1- Heading to Pondok Saladah
  3. Mount Papandayan, Day 2 – Heading to Tegal Alun, Dead forest and Home.

Now, I am going to share bits that I haven’t shared in my previous posts.

*****************************************************

Let’s begin with the sad one 😦

1.

Papandayan is a beautiful place (you can click the links above to see her beauty) but some people sure had no respect toward her beauty😦 I saw so many of this meaningless graffiti on the rocks😦 so so sad

DSC01068

2.

I wish they could be as creative and not destructive like the people who left their mark like this (Arranging rocks to create their mark – name or initial)

DSC01095

Closer look

DSC01095

Now, let’s see the beautiful Javanese Edelweiss (Anaphalis Javanica).

Here in Indonesia, it is usually called as Bunga Abadi or Eternal Flower. Edelweiss are found mostly in mountainous regions of Java, southern Sumatra, southern Sulawesi and Lombok. They are protected because of their rarity. When I was much younger, I took some of it home and the dry flower still looks pretty even though it has lost its colour…now that I am much older, I know what’s best and not so I left the flower untouched except by my camera.  Its beauty should remain in the mountain.

Our Edelweiss is different from the one in Europe. The Europe Edelweiss looks like this> here

3.

The Edelweiss tree near my tent:

DSC01109

4.

The small flowers of Edelweiss

DSC01103

5.

Flower Bud in the morning with dew all around it

DSC01110

DSC01111

6.

Almost blossom flowers

DSC01112

7.

The leaves with morning dew

DSC01128

8.

Tegal Alun and its savannah of Edelweiss

DSC01149

9.

Field of Edelweiss in Tegal Alun

DSC01125

10.

I came on the wrong month, the flowers are not yet blossomed. People said that June or July is the right time to see this field of Edelweiss. I was fortunate to find a tree with so many blossom flowers

DSC01156

DSC01155

11.

I spotted a little spider on the beautiful flower. He was so busy he didn’t even run away when I got nearer.

DSC01151 DSC01150

12.

I saw a spiderweb near the field

DSC01129

13.

Me posing as if I am going to pick the eternal flower…I didn’t pick it tho, just an act😉 with the sun blinded my eyes.

DSC01154

*****************************************************

My series of posts on Papandayan has finally over 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

29 comments on “13 Pictures from Mount Papandayan: Graffiti and Edelweiss

  1. Alice Audrey
    May 1, 2014

    That’s pretty subtle with the rearranged rocks. Cool.

    I always wondered what Edelweiss looked like. I thought it only grew in Switzerland.

    • Novroz
      May 1, 2014

      Yeah i also think it was cool…and it was quite steep going down there.

      Well, our Edelweiss is different to the one in Switzerland. I haven’t seen the Switzerland’s one but ours is so small

  2. Binky
    May 1, 2014

    People always feel the need to paint everything. It is such a shame. I like the idea of arranging rocks as letters, though. It’s a much better idea.

    The Edelweiss tree almost looks as if it’s lit up with all the white stems, is it?

    • Novroz
      May 1, 2014

      Lit up with all the white stem? sorry Peter, I don’t quite follow you😦

      I know!! I hate it…why can’t they leave those rocks alone. Why do people want to change something that’s already looks great

      • Binky
        May 2, 2014

        The first picture you posted under “3.The Edelweiss tree near my tent:” looks as if the tree is lit up like a Christmas tree with lots of little white lights. I assume the bright white parts are the stem of the leaves reflecting the light back.

        • Novroz
          May 2, 2014

          Ah!! now I get it. Thank you for the explanation🙂
          I think it’s the dew effect. The water reflected the sunlight. They are the leaves, the stem was dark brown.

          • Binky
            May 3, 2014

            The dew effect made a very nice picture, then!

          • Novroz
            May 4, 2014

            Indeed😉
            I like how the dew looks like snow on the flower bud

  3. Shelley Munro
    May 1, 2014

    I didn’t know you had Edelweiss in Indonesia. Very pretty. I enjoyed sightseeing with you🙂

    • Novroz
      May 1, 2014

      thank you Shelley🙂
      It’s different to the Europe one, I think it is called Edelweiss because it’s from a high and cold place..like Europe

  4. B. M.
    May 1, 2014

    I dont know why people do that.. spoil the natural space.. I would personally like to find who does that and then go and graffiti their room where they live..

    lovely pictures🙂

    • Novroz
      May 6, 2014

      I will join you by doing graffiti on his/her face!!

      Thank you Bik🙂

  5. sandy
    May 1, 2014

    The budding is so lovely

  6. All I can think about is the song from The Sound of Music! My husband’s father from Germany gave as some pressed Eidelweiss under glass.

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2014

      You know…I have never seen the Sound of Music, I know I should…maybe one day

  7. PS I should say after he died we took the framed Edelweiss in memory of him.

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2014

      That’s very nice of you🙂
      I also keep memorabilia of my loved ones

  8. Heather L
    May 1, 2014

    Those are pretty flowers, and such a beautiful area — too bad some people have no respect for natural areas. My T13

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2014

      Yeah…I always wonder why some people did that😦
      Thank you Heather

  9. ruth
    May 2, 2014

    Oh geez, I hate it when people do graffiti on rocks like that, no respect for nature!

    WOW, the Javanese Eidelweiss is soooo pretty! Great pics here Nov, thanks so much for sharing!

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2014

      Hear hear!! It’s not like whoever did it will become famous after writing his/her name on they rocks. I wonder what were they thinking?

      Thank you for reading Ruth🙂 They are lovely and slightly different in each mountain

  10. CountryDew
    May 2, 2014

    What a lovely little flower. I don’t believe I’d ever seen it before. And it is too bad people feel the need to defile what is beautiful, isn’t it?

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2014

      They also grows in Indonesia and protected so I guess it’s hard to be seen by people who never hike on Indonesian mountain.

  11. Theresa
    May 4, 2014

    I, too, always think of the Sound of Music when I hear Edelweiss😀 Lovely images again and thanks for sharing them and your trip experience!

    I agree, it’s a shame to see graffiti in natural landscapes, the rocks are a much better idea!

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2014

      Thank you for continue reading it🙂

      I really wonder what’s going on in their head when they did that😦

  12. TBM
    May 7, 2014

    What a lovely spot and great photo of you. It’s such a shame that people feel the need to ruin things. I’ve seen it all over the world and each time it’s depressing.

    • Novroz
      May 10, 2014

      Thank you TBM🙂
      I guess it’s the bad part of human nature (or habit) no matter where you live. Shame but there’s no escaping it😦

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2014 by in Activity and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads