Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mount Papandayan, Day 1 – Heading to Pondok Saladah

A brief about Mount Papandayan from Smithsonian Institution:

Papandayan is a complex stratovolcano with four large summit craters, the youngest of which was breached to the NE by collapse during a brief eruption in 1772 and contains active fumarole fields. The broad 1.1-km-wide, flat-floored Alun-Alun crater truncates the summit of Papandayan, and Gunung Puntang to the north gives the volcano a twin-peaked appearance. Several episodes of collapse have given the volcano an irregular profile and produced debris avalanches that have impacted lowland areas beyond the volcano. A sulfur-encrusted fumarole field occupies historically active Kawah Mas (“Golden Crater”). After its first historical eruption in 1772, in which collapse of the NE flank produced a catastrophic debris avalanche that destroyed 40 villages and killed nearly 3000 persons, only small phreatic eruptions had occurred prior to an explosive eruption that began in November 2002.

As I have promised on my previous post (Heading to Mount Papandayan), I am now going to share you about my hiking to Mount Papandayan. There are two main posts in Papandayan, Pondok Saladah and Tegal Alun. People are not allowed to camp on Tegal Alun, the camping ground is Pondok Saladah. Pondok Saladah is not too far from Camp David and the hike is also not as challenging as to Tegal Alun. Today, I will share the hike to Pondok Saladah and on Friday it’ll be the hike to Tegal Alun.

We started our hiking around 8 am, the day was so bright but we could still see the moon on the sky. Hiking in Mount Papandayan was a unique experience because we could see the crater before heading to its summit. I would like to call this part of the journey as Barren Mountain because there was no tree all around the track. There were bushes but it got less and less as we got nearer to the center. We could see the smog from Camp David, it was sulfuric gas.

We were fortunate that day because the wind blew the other way around so we didn’t have to breath those gases. I got separated from my team because the rest of my team were busy taking pictures of themselves, I didn’t like long stop just to take pictures…the pictures I shared here only needed few second to take while selfie pictures took at least a minute. I left them with their camera and went along by my self. I walked together with other team from my traveling group. I enjoy hiking without much stopping for such things, a little rest is okay but not to go busy with selfie.

Once we passed the sulfuric gas sources, we could see greenery again.

Now, can you spot a small gap in this picture? We had to walk to that gap to get to the other side of the mountain. From there, we still had to walk at least one kilometre to Pondok Saladah. If you can’t spot the gap, click on the picture to see a closer look ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC01089

We had to go down before we could climb up again. There was a very small river to cross, it wasn’t hard at all but I didn’t want to wet my shoe so I had to choose my footing well. It was fun seeing people who were climbing the mountain using their bicycle. They had to carry their bike on their shoulder.

DSC01096

While waiting for all the cyclist to cross the river, I took my time taking pictures of the surrounding. This is my favorite, a landslide relic on the side of the mountain.

DSC01097

Across that river, we had to go through such a slippery steep. We had to hold on to the wall while climbing up. It was slippery because the soil was clay and it was wet from previous rain. We really had to set our footing carefully. My hand were all dirty with the wet clay. One of the cyclists couldn’t carry his bicycle while trying to stay firm on the slippery clay, fortunately his friend came to help him. The climb was paid when we saw the scenery from the above. The pic on the right showed the track we had passed through. It was taken from the gap (see previous pic)

We reached a post where we had to report who we were and how many people in the group. It was like a check point. At this point, I met more people from my group…at least ten of us. We waited for the rest of the group to show up but they were to slow and we decided to move on without them and wait for them in Pondok Saladah. Resting too long made us a bit reluctant to pick up our heavy bags again. Somehow it felt twice heavier ๐Ÿ˜‰

One kilometre later (I think it was one kilometre, maybe more…not quite sure) we finally reached our camping ground…Pondok Saladah!! The place was full with tents, many of them were preparing to leave because they had come yesterday. We waited for them to finish packing and took their spot.

Finally!!! We could set our tent and had a bit of rest…and of course, had a lunch ๐Ÿ™‚

When I visited Mount Papandayan more than 14 years ago, I only reached this place. Set a tent and went down again few hours later because there was nothing else to see…BUT on my second time, the plan was to stay in Pondok Saladah and went to the summit the next day.ย  I never been to the summit of Mount Papandayan, so I looked forward to that.

Meanwhile, we had a lot of free time to spend. That was the time when I got to know everyone in my team better than before. My team was full of crazy people. The tent seemed too small so when the rain fell down, we decided to had a simulation of how to sleep at night…you know trying to fit all five of us as comfy as possible. The simulation turned to real practice ๐Ÿ˜‰ we slept for hours!! When we woke up, we still didn’t have things to do…so we invented our own television program!

DSC01106

Our TV set

We opened the window on our tent, it was facing on a busy spot. People were moving back and forth to the water source. We OBSERVED people and DUBBED them. It was sooooo funny!! We couldn’t stop laughing. I think some of them heard our laugh and looked at our tent but they couldn’t figure out why we were laughing. I honestly think that our made up TV is more interesting than the real TV ๐Ÿ˜‰

We stopped watching as the sun set and everything turned dark. Nothing to do…so we slept till morning. Saving our energy for the day after.

I will have one more post to share and a Thirteen Thursday for the beautiful eternal flowers ๐Ÿ™‚

I will close this post with a picture of me and my new friends ๐Ÿ™‚ (can you guess which one is me? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

DSC01104

Hope you enjoy this post and eager to read the final post ๐Ÿ™‚

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

19 comments on “Mount Papandayan, Day 1 – Heading to Pondok Saladah

  1. Theresa
    April 23, 2014

    Ahh I was looking forward to reading your hike story! I enjoyed it a lot so far, and lovely images too. The area looks stunning. I laughed at the part where you were playing “TV” from your tent. Reminded me of when I was younger, me and my sister muted the real TV and did our own voiceovers for the actors. ๐Ÿ˜€
    In the last image, I haven’t seen many pictures of you but I thought maybe you are the one in green? Or if not, the one with glasses with the blue headdress? All look very nice anyway!
    Can’t wait for the second part!

    • Novroz
      April 24, 2014

      Thank you so much Theresa ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yeah..voiceover is a good way to spend time when we have nothing else to do. My friends and I sometimes did it in the mall while we were eating.

      You’re right ๐Ÿ™‚ I am the one in the green.

      I am currently reducing the size of the photos for the next post.

  2. Gray Dawster
    April 23, 2014

    This is awesome Miss. Novia I love the many views from your photographs and thank you for being so generous with them. Mount Papandayan looks an exciting location, and definitely worthy of this blog posting. Have a lovely rest of week my dear friend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      April 24, 2014

      Thank you so much Andro ๐Ÿ™‚
      I enjoyed the mountain a lot and wish to go to more mountain even though that means I will flooded my blog with more photos ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Have a nice week too Andro xx

      • Gray Dawster
        April 24, 2014

        I really like your photographs Miss. Novia ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

        Hope your week is a great one ๐Ÿ™‚

        Andro xxxx

  3. B. M.
    April 23, 2014

    wowowlook at those mountains .. awesome.. I want to go there tooooooooooo

    • Novroz
      April 24, 2014

      Come here Bik and I will be your guide ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Nekoneko
    April 24, 2014

    Hahaha!! So cute the way you and your new friends passed the time. I can only imagine the script of your “TV show”… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I hear you about the wet… here it is much the same way in the mountains especially now in the Spring with the melting snow at the higher elevations. We experienced much of that when we went on our trip to the mountains looking for wedding spots to have our ceremony. It is so odd for me to see you all so bundled up… is it really cold up on the volcano? Or is it warmer in Jakarta? I always think of you as living in the tropics. (Especially when I see you outside with Kroten, Kurome, and Papoe…. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    • Novroz
      April 24, 2014

      The script depends on the people we observe ๐Ÿ˜‰
      One of them, I still remember, there were two men one carrying lots of water bottles while the other didn’t carry anything and we dubbed them as two men who were arguing about why he had to carry the water. But of course the two men didn’t know each other ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I wish I can see your wedding pictures…it must nice to wed ourdoor like that.

      Huahaha the mountains are always cold…much colder than the city. Indonesia is a tropical country. In Jakarta, the temperature is about 24-35 with 27-33 as the most common temperature…but in the mountain it can be lower than 16 (all in degree Celsius). We, city people, are not used to such temperature. I have more tolerance toward cold then the other…as you can see I still hadn’t put on my jacket while my new friends all bundled up.

  5. Binky
    April 24, 2014

    That first part of the hike sure is barren. I suppose it’s because the sulfuric gas kills everything when it blows that way? Some very beautiful views along the hike. How far was it to Pondok Saladah from where you started?

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2014

      Yes the gas kills everything around it, the closer we are to the crater there’s no greenery present.

      I am not sure how far the distance but we left around 8 and arrived before 12.

  6. Caroline
    April 24, 2014

    What a hilarious idea – the TV idea. Funny.
    That really was a barren mountain. That yellow powder looks interesting. That’s from the sulfuric gas?

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2014

      Yup…that’s sulfur rock. When I went to Mount Ijen, the sulfur rock was more than here.

  7. Alice Audrey
    April 25, 2014

    You had me going for a minute there with the Camp David thing. We have a place called that near Washington DC.

    You’re rally lucky the wind blew the other way. I’m sure you weren’t close enough for it to be serious, but aren’t volcanic fumes deadly?

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2014

      It was really close! That’s why people never stayed long there.
      Yup, volcanic fume is deadly if we stand there too long. In 2011, the mountain was closed because the volcano released too much fume and might erupt.

  8. Pingback: Mount Papandayan, Day 2 – Heading to Tegal Alun, Dead Forrest and Home | Polychrome Interest

  9. ruth
    April 28, 2014

    These are awesome pics Nov, man you made me wish to go on a trek like this but I’m really not an outdoorsy person at all. That pic w/ you & your friends by the tent is lovely, you all look very happy! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Novroz
      April 28, 2014

      Thank you Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚
      Being an outdoor person is fun!! You should be one of us ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I am always happy in a tent…hehe

  10. Pingback: 13 Pictures from Mount Papandayan: Graffiti and Edelweiss | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2014 by in Activity, Indonesia Banget and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€œSaya menyimpan kepribadian saya di lockerโ€

COPYRIGHT

ยฉ Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads