Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Heading to Mount Papandayan

I’m BACK!!!

I have had my little rest and ready to share my second visit to Papandayan. The first time I went there was more than 14 years ago, I was still in college at that time. Things sure had changed a lot! From a memory of over 14 years ago to what I have just seen two days ago.

I always love mountains over beaches because there’s a lot of effort just to see the beauty of nature. When I found out that I had a midterm break from April 18 – April27 (April 18- April 20 was a long weekend, therefore a lot of employees were also having holiday) I immediately contacted my friend who loved traveling. She said that she was planning to go to Papandayan with Dntala Adventure, hence I joined in without thinking much even though the last time I visited Mount Papandayan, the mountain didn’t impress me much…I am glad that my opinion on Papandayan changed after my second visit ๐Ÿ™‚

My friend canceled her appointment and left me without anyone I know in that traveling group ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but I missed hiking too much so I went along and decided to make friend with anyone there. My hiking team consisted of 5 women…may I add, 5 hilarious women ๐Ÿ˜‰ Out of 5, thee of them already knew each other so well, only me and Ana were the people with no connection at all. The total people who joined the Papandayan Trip were 29 people (divided into 5 team for the participants and 1 team for the crew).

DSC01021Our meeting point was in Terminal Kampung Rambutan at 8-10 pm. We left Jakarta around 10 pm and reached Garut, West Java at 2 am. We waited for another participants from Bandung till around 3 am and then finally we went to mount Papandayan. We waited for the sun to rise before heading up because we had to do our morning pray first. We waited in the mosque and I saw that there were already sooo many hikers ready to go to Mount Papandayan. Everyone was thinking the same think: Long weekend is always the best time to go hiking.

While waiting, I captured some good photos of the sun peaking through Mount Cikurai (it is located across Mount Papandayan)

We rode on a pick up to head up, the hike would start when we reach Camp David. Riding the pick up was fun and scary at the same time because there were 13-15 people in one pick-up along with our carriers and the road was in terrible condition. It felt like we were riding on a roller coaster. We had to hold tight to the side of the pick-up if we didn’t want to end up falling from the pick-up. The view as we went up was stunning. I love seeing the town below hidden behind the fog. Too bad I couldn’t take a good picture of the scenery because I had to do it on a bumpy ride.

The crew hired two pick-ups, unfortunately the other pick-up had a little bad luck as the pick-up’s tire got stuck on the road. We drove past them and cheered them good luck. We arrived at Camp David somewhere around 8 am and the other came a bit later.

There were some ‘warung‘ where we could buy some food like nasi kuning (yellow rice) and gorengan.We all filled our stomach full and content before getting ready to start walking all the way up. People who used their private cars could leave their cars here till they got back from the mountain. Camp David was surrounded by mountains and hills. Our destination was that barren mountain…nothing but rocks till we reached the other side.

The last picture was my team + one from another team…but she had become attached to us from the beginning ๐Ÿ˜‰

Because I have so many photos I want to share…so I decided to divide my 2 day trip to Papandayan into several posts…I hope you can continue reading all the posts ๐Ÿ™‚

Next post is the hike.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

27 comments on “Heading to Mount Papandayan

  1. Theresa
    April 21, 2014

    Ah this looks like a lovely place to hike! I love walking, too.. I also went on a bit of a hike over Easter. Looking forward to your next post and more pictures! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      April 22, 2014

      It is ๐Ÿ™‚ because at the same time you can have a walk on rocks and between green trees. Papandayan has both.

      Will share pictures of your hiking?

      Next post will be tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Theresa
        April 22, 2014

        Yay ๐Ÿ™‚
        Yes, I shall write a blog post later about my walk and then I can share some images too! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Novroz
          April 22, 2014

          \(^_^)/ looking forward to read it

  2. B. M.
    April 21, 2014

    I am also back ๐Ÿ™‚
    lovely pictures and it seems you had a great time ๐Ÿ™‚
    I somehow have wasted my easter holidays and did nothing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Novroz
      April 22, 2014

      Yaaaaaiiiiii….welcome back Bikram!!!!
      You’ve been away so long. Good to hear from you again ๐Ÿ™‚

      I did have a great time ๐Ÿ™‚ I still have plenty to share…soon.

  3. Alice Audrey
    April 21, 2014

    Is that a road or a river bed? I love the under the fog picture. Can’t wait to see the rest of the pix.

    It’s a good thing you didn’t cancel just because your friend did. Even if it was crowded, sounds like you had fun.

    • Novroz
      April 22, 2014

      A road, I remember it was still good 14 years ago…I guess the goverment didn’t much to fix it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      I did have so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚ and it’s nice to get to know a lot of new people.

      • Alice Audrey
        April 25, 2014

        My grandfather had a ranch in Texas. Some of his roads literally ran inside river beds. Most of the time there was no water so it didn’t make much difference. One little patch of that road put me in mind of his.

        • Novroz
          April 26, 2014

          The rocks I had climbed (in the next post) were probably a river, not quite sure but the rocks are rounded like most rocks in a river.

  4. ruth
    April 22, 2014

    Oh cool! I’ve never been to this area before, how lovely!! Hey Nov, next time you post these would you take some pics of the street food? I so miss them so I’d like to live vicariously through your experience, ahah.

    • Novroz
      April 22, 2014

      Since this is a mountain hiking, I tend to shot more scenery than the food…plus we ate more intant noodle than other food during hiking ;p

      I have been planning to write about abang2 jajanan for Indonesia banget but haven’t got the right time yet, maybe next month ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Nekoneko
    April 22, 2014

    Nice to have you back safe and sound Novia! It’s great that you got to meet some new people especially if your friend couldn’t accompany you this time out.

    Very pretty place indeed. It makes me want to do some hiking again too. I’m thinking Carolyn and I might try a good long trip for our honeymoon and camping and hiking could be fun. Now I just have to convince her…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Novroz
      April 22, 2014

      Thank you Miyuki ๐Ÿ™‚
      Ah…you haven’t seen anything yet, this is only the surface, the real beauty lies in the next two posts ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I hope you can convince her ๐Ÿ˜‰ I would love to do such thing too when I finally find someone.

  6. Binky
    April 22, 2014

    Nice to see the beginning of your trip. It looks exciting. Not sure I would have liked that pickup ride, though!

    • Novroz
      April 22, 2014

      It was fun!!! Going down was even more fun…I know it was a bit dangerous but I love the thrill

      • Binky
        April 24, 2014

        You daredevil, you!

        • Novroz
          April 25, 2014

          Hehehe… I will share a video when we were ridong down later ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. TBM
    April 23, 2014

    Sorry to hear your friend cancelled but glad you went and met five new hilarious hikers. Looking forward to hearing more about it.

    • Novroz
      April 24, 2014

      More than five actually ๐Ÿ™‚
      There were 29 people in the group, I at least got to know half of them quite well.

  8. Pingback: Mount Papandayan, Day 1 – Heading to Pondok Saladah | Polychrome Interest

  9. Caroline
    April 24, 2014

    Wow. It looks as if you went to a stunning place. And how lucky you met five great women. It’s not easy in a group of foreigners, always nice to make some friends.

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2014

      True! I had doubt because I knew no one and being together for few days with total strangers was a bit uncomfortable…fortunately things went great ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Pingback: Mount Papandayan, Day 2 – Heading to Tegal Alun, Dead Forrest and Home | Polychrome Interest

  11. Pingback: 13 Pictures from Mount Papandayan: Graffiti and Edelweiss | Polychrome Interest

  12. jennifer a
    May 1, 2014

    you sound like you have a lot of energy (and curiosity)!

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2014

      I am ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I just love hiking and enjoying the nature

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2014 by in Activity, Indonesia Banget and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€œSaya menyimpan kepribadian saya di lockerโ€

COPYRIGHT

ยฉ Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads