Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

East Java Trip – Day 2 : Baluran National Park

It’s been a month since my last post on my East Java Trip…I didn’t even realize it has been that long, time goes so fast when you are busy. I guess it’s the story of my life now, busy with school. I’ll write about my work later because I am sure there’s a good story coming out of it😉 … but for now, let’s talk about my trip!

On the second day of my East Java Trip, we visited 2 places – The Ijen Crater (which I have shared a month ago) and Baluran National Park.

DSC00390

There’s nothing much to tell about Baluran National Park but I am glad we visited that place because I got great shots from that place. I am not saying that my photos are great but it’s more to the fact that Baluran offers great creatures, scenery and moments to catch.

The guide said that Baluran is famous for its EVERGREEN forest, it’s not actually a forest like rain forest but it is much denser and more untouched compared to Bogor Botanical Garden. It is called as evergreen because it’s still green even in dry season, however not far from that forest there’s a Savannah that looks like in Africa during dry season (I will talk about that a bit later). I didn’t take any shot of the forest because it doesn’t look great in picture. What’s interesting about the forest is that during rainy season, we can see a lot of Bunga Bangkai ( Corpse Flower). It is called as Corpse flower because it smells like dead animal. There are some corpse flower here in Indonesia, the one I saw was called Amorphophallus paeoniifolius (you can see it’s bigger version> here). the other known corpse flowers are: Amorphophallus titanum (here) and Rafflesia arnoldii (here)

It might smell bad (I didn’t smell anything at that time, maybe it was because the flower was still very young) but nature knows best because not far from that flower I saw this beautiful butterfly. It looks like it has tails…it’s actually its wings

We didn’t linger long near the flower because the place we were heading was still far. The Evergreen forest is quite vast because I fell asleep for few minutes when we were passing through it.

We finally arrived on the savannah…I love seeing that big open space. It was so green!! I love it!! But I am also curious to see it during dry season because the guide said that it looks exactly like in Africa (see the first photo). Maybe one day i can return there during dry season…nevertheless, I am still happy I got the chance to see such greenery.

Near the savannah, there are houses (I am not sure what those houses for, I forgot to ask because I was overwhelmed with the scenery). Around those houses, there were a lot of monkeys. The guide said that the monkeys are tricky, we had to guard our stuff well or they will steal it away from us.

The monkeys were great models😉

Those monkeys are lucky to be there…they don’t have to be chained to perform like the monkeys in Topeng Monyet (here).

The guide said that there are a lot of deers and bulls in that place but we have to be really lucky to be able to see them. I found the deer’s foot prints on the wet soil. They were just there, I guessed the rain made them go to other spot.

DSC00412

It won’t be Indonesia without a mountain😉

Mount Baluran

Mount Baluran

When we were about to leave the savannah, we got VERY lucky because we saw a huge group of deers resting not so far from the road. We tried to approach it a bit closer to get good shots but the leader made a shrill sound and that alerted the rest of the deers. They slowly got up and  prepared to run if we got any closer to them. It was a great experience to be so close to wild deers and to hear the leader’s alarm call.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We didn’t want to disturb them more that we already had…so we left them before they run away.

Our next destination was the beach. If we followed the coastline, we could actually reach Jakarta😉

I am not a beach person, for me they all look the same. I like mountains more because they always look different.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were more monkeys near the beach and these monkeys were trickier than the previous monkeys. They stayed near the cars and waited patiently to steal people’s food. A person in my travel group saw one of them attacked a woman carrying coke, it stole the coke and leisurely drank it. I almost got mobbed too, I held a cookie on my hand when I walked out of the car and one of them persistently chased me till someone pointed a catapult at it.

The people who lived them often scared them with a blank catapult. They (the monkeys) think that the catapult is loaded so they run away. Those monkeys are  hilarious to see. These are my two favorites:

"Mommy...mommy!!"

“Mommy…mommy!!”

"I love you"

“I love you”

I guess it’s time for me to close this post🙂

All I can say is that if you’re planning to come to Surabaya, do visit Baluran National Park. It’s a lovely place.

DSC00418

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

16 comments on “East Java Trip – Day 2 : Baluran National Park

  1. Alice Audrey
    February 12, 2014

    I have no desire to smell the corpse flower, but I’d love to go visit sometime.

    • Novroz
      February 16, 2014

      This one hasn’t smelt yet but I have smell the big one but different species once, and I am happy not to smell it again😉

      • Alice Audrey
        February 21, 2014

        The closest we get is skunk weed, which is bad enough.

        • Novroz
          February 24, 2014

          I am fortunate to haven’t smelt it yet😉

  2. Nekoneko
    February 12, 2014

    My goodness! It does look a lot like the African savanna there. It’s greener, but I understand Africa looks much like this in the wet season when everything is in bloom. Nice to see more of your trip… you certainly got to see lots of amazing places.

    Hahaha!! The monkeys are adorable!! Big secret… after watching a lot of old “Sheena, Queen of the Jungle” TV shows when I was a girl I always wanted a monkey for a pet, but never told my Mom or Dad because I thought they would laugh. The closest I came to seeing them was at the zoo on a school field trip, but those particular monkeys were mean and threw poop at us from inside their enclosure. I couldn’t believe how different they behaved from the adorable ones on TV.😉

    • Novroz
      February 16, 2014

      I have heard of that show but never seen one. Hahaha I think the adorable ones are Chimpanzee and Orang Utan, the rest are mean…in my case, they are tricky😉

      I think the closest I saw monkeys is during this trip…they were really close and walking here and there without being afraid of us Humans.

  3. Binky
    February 12, 2014

    I was wondering what happened to your next trip post!
    It’s really nice to be able to see some of the different places of your country. There’s some really beautiful areas, and I’m sure it was nice to get away from the big city.

    • Novroz
      February 16, 2014

      I have one more day to share🙂
      Soon…not sure when as I have so many to write but so little time to do it.

      Thank you Peter🙂 it’s always nice to get away from the city, tho I am not thinking of staying there but it’s nice to smell the fresh air and see beautiful landscape once in a while.

  4. ruth
    February 12, 2014

    Hi Nov! Look at you so happy in that pic, love it!! I’ve never been to Mount Baluran before, sounds like fun!

    • Novroz
      February 16, 2014

      It was a great trip…of course I looked so happy😉
      If you live here, I would have said do visit it but you are so far away in another country…I guess it’s going to be difficult for you to visit Baluran.

  5. JoV
    February 16, 2014

    Hi Novroz, It’s wonderful to see a travel post from you. Glad you enjoy it!

    • Novroz
      February 17, 2014

      Traveling outside the city is always fun🙂
      Thank you Joanna.

  6. Fariz
    February 17, 2014

    Great photos, Miss, and it seems like a great place too. Well.. I’ve been living in East Java almost 4 years now but I haven’t even been there haha

    • Novroz
      February 18, 2014

      Huahahahah…you should travel around, East Java has sooo many great scenery.

      Btw, I hope you don’t have ashes problem there.

  7. TBM
    February 18, 2014

    I love the shots of the baby monkey. How sweet! Great photos and it looks so green there.

    • Novroz
      February 18, 2014

      Me too!! From the pic, he looks adorable…but they are quite nasty so better to stay at distance😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2014 by in Activity and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads