Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Street Lawyer by John Grisham

The Street LawyerMy first book review in months \(^_^)/

How I miss reading. I don’t have much time to read anymore because I often use my commute time to read and now I live on my school which means I no longer need to commute. Ever since I moved in, I still tried to read something but never been able to finish any book. So, when the holiday started I randomly picked one of the books I haven’t read from my shelf…the book was The Street Lawyer by John Grisham (it’s my first Grisham in many years, the last time I read one of his was in college). I am so happy that I can finish the book in short time (short to me but I am sure it’s still long time for many fast readers).

The Street Lawyer is an interesting read just like other Grisham’s books. I won’t say I am a fan of his books but I do admit that I enjoy reading his books when I have one but not exactly craving to read one…that’s why it takes years for me to finally read his book again. What I like about Grisham’s books is his ability to share the knowledge or information related to law and justice in a very simple and witty way. It never bored me when the book starts talking all that law thingy (he is like Michael Crichton, able to share complicated stuff in an interesting way).

The blurb:

Michael Brock is billing the hours, making the money, rushing relentlessly to the top of Brake & Sweeney, a giant D.C. law firm. One step away from partnership, Michael has it all. Then, in an instant, it all comes undone.

A homeless man takes nine lawyers hostage in the firm’s plush offices. When it is all over, the man’s blood is splattered on Michael’s face– and suddenly Michael is willing to do the unthinkable. Rediscovering a conscience he lost long ago, Michael is leaving the big time for the streets where his attacker once lived– and where society’s powerless need an advocate for justice.

But there’s one break Michael can’t make: from a secret that has floated up from the depths of Drake & Sweeney, from a confidential file that is now in Michael’s hands, and from a conspiracy that has already taken lives. Now Michael’s former partners are about to become his bitter enemies. Because to them, Michael Brock is the most dangerous man on the streets.

The blurb was the reason why I bought the book, it sounds intriguing. I found more than reading an intriguing book. The book showed us what street lawyer is. It also showed us how different lawyers can be, the ones who care more about wealth will work so hard and only think about how to bill their client more and more while the street lawyers work as hard as they can to defend people who most likely will never pay because their clients are the homeless. Their salary comes from donation or once in while they can have something big.

I think The Street Lawyer is more to the homeless than the intrigue in court. Reading about the shelters for the homeless made me realize that I have never once heard that there’s a shelter for the homeless here in my country. What happened to the homeless also made me more grateful to God that I still have good home and good work.

The Street Lawyer is the less thrilling book by Grisham that I have ever read but what makes it a good read is description of the street lawyers…the lawyers who work for heart more than for money. Every bit of the book is interesting, all the details on the shelters and the homeless (even though they don’t connect to the main case) are not something to skim through.

In short, I really like this book and it makes me want to buy another Grisham book.

“At the age of thirty-two, I was freed from the shakles of corporate servitude, and the money. I was left to follow my conscience.”

Book Detail:

Title: The Street Lawyer
Author: John Grisham
Language: English
Pages: 550
Rating: 4 books

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

17 comments on “The Street Lawyer by John Grisham

  1. Alice Audrey
    January 30, 2014

    I’ll have to pick this up. I’ve never heard of street lawyer before. That and one of the books I’m writing has a lot of legal issues. But for that I better do some non-fiction research.

    • Novroz
      January 30, 2014

      Even Grisham did some research because street lawyer is not his territory (It was in the book).

      Is it the book that sets in Mongolia?

      • Alice Audrey
        February 3, 2014

        No, it’s Beautiful Spanish Hussy, which is where we learn about Drew’s addiction – how it came to be and where it took him and why he ended up like he is. I’ve covered it lightly in the blog, but go much deeper in the book.

        • Novroz
          February 3, 2014

          Ah…yes, I remember you want to turn Suzie’s house into a full book. Good luck 🙂

          • Alice Audrey
            February 12, 2014

            Set of books, actually. The series is already too long for a normal book.

          • Novroz
            February 16, 2014

            Because it covers so many characters 🙂

  2. Nekoneko
    January 30, 2014

    Ooohhh, Novia… I hear what you are saying. It’s been I while since I did any reading either. My last book was Paolo Bacigalupi’s “The Windup Girl” a near future biopunk science fiction novel set in Thailand from a few years back.

    I used to do most of my reading in the evenings before bedtime once I had showered and settled down for the evening. But having Carolyn around means I’m never alone at bedtime so I just got out of the habit… I should get back in the habit of finding some time free again for reading.

    • Novroz
      January 30, 2014

      First of all…I have watched Harakiri 🙂 I just haven’t had the time to write my review yet.

      A few years back? Wow…I don’t think I can do that. It’s not even a year for me and I am already trying to find a bit of time to read…I like reading as much as I like watching movies. I hope you will start reading again 😉

      • Nekoneko
        February 1, 2014

        Hahaha!! I meant that the book was published back in 2009… I actually read it last summer, but I had to squeeze it in here and there over a month when I had an hour or so off to myself in the afternoon now and again. That was hard… it always seemed that I should be doing something more important. I imagine you know just how that feels sometimes being the busy person that you are. 😉

        • Nekoneko
          February 1, 2014

          Oooooh!! And no worries about “Hara-Kiri”… just put it together in the next week or so and we’re still definitely good. 🙂

          • Novroz
            February 2, 2014

            Will do 🙂

        • Novroz
          February 2, 2014

          I know 😦
          I am trying hard to juggle my work and my need to have a relax time…and reading is one of my relax time.

  3. TBM
    January 31, 2014

    You know I haven’t read any of his books in ages. I used to love them when I was younger. Maybe it’s time to give him another chance.

    • Novroz
      February 1, 2014

      I haven’t read him in ages too…It’s nice to read his book again, he hasn’t disappointed me yet.

  4. Caroline
    February 1, 2014

    I’ve never read a Grisham because I always watch the movies based on his books, which I usually enjoy.
    We have shelters for homeless people. It’s fortunate really or they would have to be in the street in the coldest weather. But it’s a very sad topic.

    • Novroz
      February 1, 2014

      I think I have read his books more than watch movies based on his books…but I admit both A Time To Kill are great.

      The only thing we have here is an emergency shelter for natural disasters. I think there are some small shelters for homeless here but not like what you have.

  5. Lizzie Mcfarland
    February 12, 2014

    The book begins too abruptly (i.e. he converts to a “street lawyer” much too quickly), and ends with a bit of a fizzle.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2014 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,527 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads