Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Flood All Over Jakarta

At first, I wanted to share my top 5 movies and TV series of 2013, but something more urgent needs to be shared. It’s not something that might concern everyone out there but I live here…here in Jakarta, it concerns me a lot.

I am still lucky because both my living places (My house and my dorm) but things aren’t the same for some people😦

It’s not a surprise that there’s a  flood in Jakarta, it’s already become a regular thing but once in a while the flood become unbearable. It swallows most parts of the capitol city of Indonesia.

Copyright: News.detik.com

Copyright: Detiknews

Copyright: news.detik.com

Copyright: Detiknews

Copyright: Beritasatu

Copyright: Beritasatu

Copyright: Beritasatu

Copyright: Beritasatu

Copyright: Koran Sindo

Copyright: Koran Sindo

Many people are complaining about the new Governor, they criticized him and demanding his promises to handle the flood…for me, he is not even a year on the job…GIVE HIM A BREAK! He has done much better than the two previous governors. At least the flood area is less than last year (source: kompasiana).

It’s not the time to blame anyone…it’s time to look into ourselves because there are still so many people who think that it’s okay to throw garbage into the river. Change that behaviour then you can start complaining when the flood still comes.

I don’t know how long will this flood last, they say the worst will come this Wednesday (hopefully the prediction turns out wrong). All I can do here is pray and hope everyone can stay strong, especially those who can’t live in their house at the moment. Be Patience.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

35 comments on “Flood All Over Jakarta

  1. Iris
    January 19, 2014

    I cannot believe I hadn’t heard about this before. I hope things will quiet down now and that Wednesday won’t bring more trouble. Thinking of you.

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2014

      Today, there’s no rain (in my place) so hopefully things will get better in the next few days.

      Thank you Iris🙂

  2. Tim The Film Guy
    January 19, 2014

    Hope you keep safe and well dry.

  3. Nekoneko
    January 20, 2014

    Oh Novia… I so hope the water doesn’t rise too much more. Stay safe and have my biggest ((hug)) and best wishes for you and your city!!

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2014

      I hope so too. Seeing the flood through TV already sadden me, can’t imagine how bad it feels to be in the refuge camps…especially the babies.
      Thank you Miyuki🙂

  4. sidekickreviews
    January 20, 2014

    I haven’t heard of the flood until now, I hope you stay strong and safe.

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2014

      It’s not as bad as last year and hopefully it’ll get better soon.
      Thank you SKR🙂

  5. Binky
    January 20, 2014

    Natural events like this are so difficult to deal with and seem to be more and more frequent. I hope the waters soon recede and people can get back to their homes soon.

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2014

      Yes, it’s something we can’t avoid…nature is no longer like it used to be.
      Thank you, Peter…I hope so too

  6. Nostra
    January 20, 2014

    Wow, did not know about this. Hopefully it is an issue which will be solved, must be really frustrating.

    • Novroz
      January 20, 2014

      I hope so too, there’s actually some ways to fix this problem but it needs everyone cooperation to come true.

  7. Genki Jason
    January 20, 2014

    This hasn’t been on the news so it’s a bit of a shock. I hope things work themselves out. Stay safe!

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      It’s not as bad as last year so maybe that’s why it’s not on the news.
      I hope so too and I am glad I live in a safe place

  8. Gray Dawster
    January 20, 2014

    It is the same here in the UK lots of flooding
    and homes washed out, it is disheartening to
    see such weather ruining homes and lives😦

    You have added some brilliant photographs
    my sweet and dear friend🙂 I hope the water
    goes quickly and so everyone can start the
    big clean up🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      We can’t totally blame the weather, we -human- plays big part in creating this.

      I wish I have pictures taken by me but fortunately there are many pics in the net as it’s quite a big news here.

      Thank you Andro

  9. Theresa
    January 20, 2014

    Stay safe! I hope it calms down for the affected areas.
    UK has seen some bad storms and flooding this winter, especially coastal areas.
    I live inland so nothing bad here!

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      I didn’t hear much of UK, all I know is the extreme cold weather in US. I guess this time of year is not the best weather time.

  10. TBM
    January 21, 2014

    I hope you stay safe and dry. Thanks for showing the pictures so we can see how bad it is. Blogging helps keep me informed about what’s going on around the world.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      Thank you TBM, I am one of the fortunate ones, I don’t have to pass through the flood going to work and the school is saved from flood.
      I know what you mean, blogging and other social media gives me more news than on TV.

  11. ruth
    January 21, 2014

    Hi Nov! Glad to hear you’re safe but be careful girl, this is awful! My brother told me about this as well but then he had to go to Bandung for a few days. He said during the flood it took him 3 hours to drop off his kids to school!

    You’re right about not playing the blame game and take responsibility for ourselves. Wish more people understood that over there.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      Thank you Ruth🙂
      I hope your brother’s family is saved from the flood. Yesterday I ordered some chemical and just like your brother the order came more than 3 hours within such a close distance from school.

      It tired me down seeing everyone wanting something from the government…I wish they would change first that start complaining.

  12. Caroline
    January 21, 2014

    I hope you’re OK, I never watch the news and don’t read the papers regularly. I didn’t even know. The photos look scary, I hope it will stop soon.

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      I rarely read newspaper, my news often comes from the net and then I see it on TV.
      It is scary and I feel sorry for everyone trap in the flood. Today we have a heavy rain…I don’t have TV in my dorm so I haven’t got news of how bad it is now.

  13. Mel u
    January 21, 2014

    We have these same kind of city wide floods in Manila. I hope you and your family are safe and dry

    • Novroz
      January 21, 2014

      I know…one of the teachers in my school is a Filipino so I often got news from him. I hope you’re safe and dry there. I am fine here.

  14. Alice Audrey
    January 21, 2014

    Wow. My heart goes out to you. And I’m so glad you don’t have to try and commute through that every day.

    • Novroz
      January 22, 2014

      Thank you Audrey.
      I am so grateful for that…can’t imagine how hellish the traffic has become now.

      • Alice Audrey
        January 30, 2014

        You all need to switch to hovercraft. 🙂

        • Novroz
          January 30, 2014

          A helicopter is much better😉

  15. Xeristh
    January 22, 2014

    Benar mbak. Emang ini bukan salah Jokowi. Bencana emang ga bisa dihindari.
    Cuman stress juga mbak. Udah seminggu ga kuliah, tugas lg numpuk2nya lagi. Untung ada kura2 sama setidaknya masih ada internet ^^

    PS. Ini Donna, ganti nama ama email😀

    • Novroz
      January 23, 2014

      Wah ambil hikmahya aja…enak bisa nyanyai ga kuliah😉
      Hehehe ttp ga enak ya.

      Tapi kamu ga kebanjiran kan?

      • Xeristh
        January 23, 2014

        kebanjiran lah mbak. Kan banjir = ga bisa kuliah.
        Kalo nyatai, ga bakal bisa nyatai kalo tugas lagi numpuk. Itu aja udah kucoba cicil selama banjir. Parahnya emang harus ke kampus langsung buat ngerjainnya.
        Emang dormnya di mana mbak? Kok kayaknya jarang banget banjirnya?😀

        • Novroz
          January 24, 2014

          Oh! Kirain yg kebanjiran sekitarnya aja jadi ttp ga bisa kemana. Semoga sekarang dah surut🙂

          Di Pondok Labu, ga jauh dr sini sih banjir sepinggang katanya. Ini tanahnya aga tinggi

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2014 by in Things I Need to Say and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads