Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

East Java Trip- Day 2 : Ijen Crater

It took much longer than I plan to post day 2 of my East Java trip. I promised to share my visit to Ijen Crater on January 3 but many things got in the way 😉

First, I want to share a bit about Ijen Volcano from wikipedia.org

The Ijen volcano complex is a group of stratovolcanoes, in East Java, Indonesia. It is inside a larger caldera Ijen, which is about 20 kilometers wide. It has a one-kilometer-wide turquoise-colored acid crater lake. The lake is the site of a labor-intensive sulfur mining operation, in which sulfur-laden baskets are carried by hand from the crater floor. The work is low-paid and very onerous. In 2008, explorer George Kourounis took a small rubber boat out onto the acid lake to measure its acidity. The pH of the water in the crater was measured to be 0.5 due to sulfuric acid.

This is how the crater looks like from above (I think it was taken on helicopter) the photo belongs to Takemeholidays.com

Ijen-crater

I couldn’t see it like that but still it was an amazing view and how I wish I can visit it again somewhere in the future (Mount Bromo is more famous than Ijen volcano but for me Ijen is WAY more beautiful and memorable than Bromo) *my trip to Bromo can be read here> East Java Trip Day 1.

We arrived there somewhere in the middle of the night (I forgot what time it was). We waited there till 1 am before we started hiking. To reach the crater we have to walk/hike for about 3 hours. We hiked at that time because we wanted to see the blue flame of Ijen. We couldn’t see the flame again when the sun is about to rise. The hike started very easy on a quite plain track but less than half an hour later the track became much steeper. I hadn’t done mountain hiking for many many years (the last time was on college) and I honestly quite surprise that I was still in good shape. I was still able to control my breath while hiking up. I took a break here and there because the air was so cold and because of the steepness of the track. It was pitch black and almost everyone carry a torch to see the track.

We got there faster than we planned, it was around 4.30 am. We still had to walk closer to the crater to be able to see the flame. It was one scary moment…at least for someone who’s afraid of height like me. The spot where we can see the flame was already full with people. I wasn’t wearing the right shoes so I didn’t go down to the crater because the track was slippery with moving rocks. My friend went down there and told me how blue the flame was but fortunately I didn’t follow him because it was difficult to breath if we don’t have proper masker, the sulfur gases took all the oxygen away. I saw the flame from afar but luckily I still managed to take a picture (bad quality)

DSC00310

You can see a MUCH MUCH better photograph at Boston.com. Here’s one of the pictures> k04_00000024 According to that site: Flaming molten sulfur flows inside the volcanic crater. Sulfur will melt at just above 100 C (212 F), but the temperatures in the crater do not get high enough for spontaneous combustion – the fires are lit by the miner’s dripping torches.

I really need to buy a much better camera!!!

It was FREEZING up there! The wind was killing me and my friend. I put on my rain coat to block the wind passing through my jacket but it was a poor attempt. My friend and I finally moved to another spot looking for a way to cover ourselves from the wind. We didn’t want to get down because we wanted to see the crater when the sun rises. We found a gap between a big rock and the crater wall (when I said crater I meant the top crater not the area near the lake). We hid there and it helped block the wind a bit. Not long after that, few of our friends came joining in. He gathered together to keep warm.

DSC00317

Look at us looking like refuges 😉 It was so cold..FOR US!! but not far from where we sit, a couple of westerners were standing calmly wearing a thin sweater…WHAAATTTT??? Hahaha it showed how different we, people of the tropical islands, deal with cold 😉

The view at early dawn was quite scary. It looked so blue with a bit of white from the sulfur fume.

When the sun peaked from the other side of the mountain, we could finally see how the view around the crater look like. TRUST ME…the photographs I took didn’t do justice to how it really look like!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We decided to get down (after taking so many pictures of us there) as the day getting brighter. We found out that we went down too fast because half an hour later the green acid lake could be seen clearer. Because of this, I wish I could go there again to see it clearly. We went down because the smell of sulfur became thicker.

We finally could see the track that we took at night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The crater was NOT the only eyegasm we had that day!! The surrounding was breathtaking…I love seeing another mountain tried to peek through the white cloud. We we descended from the crater we never expected to see this!

DSC00381

I thought the view was other worldly. I live in the city and scenery like that is something I will never see in the place where I live. I am so happy I joined the trip…I love nature, always am, but I haven’t been able to spent time with her beauty for years. I surely wish I can do another trip on the next school holiday.

If you read the information above, it mentions about sulfur mining. The miners are people who live around the volcano. They came there ignoring the sulfur fume and took as many sulfur rocks they can carry down.

It was amazing to see these workers…we struggle on our way to descend from the volcano because it was steep and the small rocks made it slippery, if we didn’t put our foot the right way we would slide down…those workers while carrying the rocks, walked down easily and some of them only use flip-flop!!

Those mine workers learn to speak foreign language so that they can accompany foreign tourists and of course they will get extra cash for guiding them. Their English is not fluent but still able to understand. There were a lot of foreign tourist that day…but the most amazing one was a tourist from China who went to a volcano wearing wedges!!! I didn’t take picture because I didn’t want to be rude. It was the wrongest foot outwear I have ever seen! She struggled to get down and always leaned on her boyfriend.

Visiting Ijen crater is the highlight of my East Java trip!!

DSC00335

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

23 comments on “East Java Trip- Day 2 : Ijen Crater

  1. Nekoneko
    January 10, 2014

    Ooooohhh!! Novia!! I’ve seen this volcano on TV!! 🙂

    There was a TV show here in the US on the National Geographic Chanel called “World’s Deadliest Journeys” that did an entire episode about those sulfur miners. They showed the average workday for those men and how they would climb in and out of the volcano with the baskets of sulfur. I even got to see those blue flames…. I can’t believe this is where you were. The TV show made it look so dangerous and scary. I’d be terribly nervous the entire time waiting for it to erupt or something….

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2014

      I know that there’s a journalist focusing on the miners…someone even asked them is it worth the danger?
      My friend told me it is difficult to go down to the sulfur mining but the rest of the track is not scary at all. And if there’s sign of the possibility that the volcano will erupt I think the government will close the place till all is safe.

      I enjoyed it a lot and would love to go back one day. Someone told me that a westerner recently died there because he had asthma and the sulfur fume made him difficult to breath…more difficult than the healthy people.

  2. sidekickreviews
    January 10, 2014

    Incredible! I live in the city too but love natural wonders, i’m in awe of the blue flame. Great post!

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2014

      Thank you SKR 🙂

      The blue flame is amazing, I wish I could see it much closer one day.

  3. Gray Dawster
    January 10, 2014

    What an awesome posting Miss. Novia
    this is a real treat my sweet and great friend 🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      January 11, 2014

      Thank you Andro 🙂
      I am glad you like it.

      • Gray Dawster
        January 12, 2014

        🙂 Have a lovely weekend my dear friend 🙂

        Andro xxxx

  4. Kathleen Acebuche
    January 12, 2014

    Breathtaking!

  5. ruth
    January 14, 2014

    Great post Nov! Love the pic of the crater. Hmmm, you said it was freezing, I wonder how cold it was compared to our Polar Vortex when we got to -25˚ Celcius last week. Schools were closed for 2 days due to extreme temperatures.

    • Novroz
      January 14, 2014

      Huahua it was NOTHING compared to your temperature. I saw the news on TV, can’t believe it…I might die freezing there.
      How are you copping up out there? How things are well there.

      • ruth
        January 14, 2014

        Ahah yeah, that’s exactly what my brother said. He texted me constantly during the Polar Vortex days, even sent me clippings from Kompas that mentioned Minnesota, ahah. Well things are improving nicely here, today it’s ONLY -3˚C (27 F) so I actually walked to and from my car to the office (about 8 min walk), normally I would’ve frozen halfway through the parking lot, he..he..

        • Novroz
          January 14, 2014

          Improving? -3 is still not tolerable here 😉
          You know…my teacher office’s temp is 18˚C and even at that temp I am already freezing and often turn it up to 20 something.

          Hahahaha you are already cold tolerant! I would prefer staying home than working at that temperature 😉

          • ruth
            January 15, 2014

            Ahah! I’ll be in tank top and shorts when it’s 18˚ C!! Yes I’ve become more Minnesotan now, but then again I’ve lived here longer than I did in Jakarta so I guess that makes sense 😀

          • Novroz
            January 16, 2014

            Huahahaha…18 degrees and you’ll wear tank top and here I am wearing Jilbab and long sleeves and still feel 18 is too cold!

            Yup…that make perfect sense! When I went to Padang, it’s hotter than Jakarta and I kept complaining how hot it is while everyone in Padang said it’s normal.

  6. Binky
    January 14, 2014

    Those are some very beautiful places you visited. The crater lake with its blue flame is amazing. And so is the mountain in the clouds. I sure wouldn’t want to work there gathering sulfur, though. That must be quite dangerous.

    Just how cold was it up there on the mountain? Last week we had a real cold spell here, down to -25 C with a -40 C windchill at night.

    • Novroz
      January 14, 2014

      They were indeed 🙂 I am glad i got to visit those places.
      Me too Peter…seeing them lifting those heavy rocks and the fume…it saddens me to see them working in such dangerous environment.

      Ow…it was NOTHING compared to your situation, I was shocked seeing Niagara Fall froze like that. I would be too if I live there.

  7. TBM
    January 14, 2014

    How beautiful! Goodness all of you look so cold. We have some friends visiting and they are from the tropics. I’m worried they’re going to freeze in London.

    • Novroz
      January 14, 2014

      Your friends should prepare a good jacket that can keep the cold outside 😉

  8. Alice Audrey
    January 17, 2014

    What an interesting place. It’s like something out of a Science Fiction movie. I feel your frustration with you camera, having battled with variuous ones over the years. Still, you managed to get some great shots.

    • Novroz
      January 18, 2014

      Thank you Audrey 🙂
      The camera is still good for short distance shot, just look at my turtle’s pictures…but for scenery like this, it isn’t that good anymore.

  9. Pingback: East Java Trip – Day 2 : Baluran National Park | Polychrome Interest

  10. Pingback: Indonesia Banget #0 | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2014 by in Activity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,524 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads