Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

East Java Trip- Day 1 : Mount Bromo

Helloooooo…..I am back🙂

As I have said before, I was off to East Java and to make it simple, I had one of the most memorable vacations of my life. It was memorable because of the good and the bad part of the trip.

I have so many things to share here and it won’t fit in just one post, I will try to share the days of my East Java trip as a weekly posts. The good memory happened in East Java but something unpleasant happened when we stayed in Yogyakarta, we’ll get to that part later.

The trip was hosted by Jong Java, a group of young men living in Surabaya. The requirement to join the trip was very simple, we paid them the amount they had set up earlier and then we met at Taman Pelangi ( Rainbow Park)  in Surabaya at 11 pm. I have never been to Surabaya my whole life and to avoid being lost in a city I know nothing about, I decided to go with my roommate. We visited her hometown in Lasem (somewhere between Semarang and Tuban). We took the bus from Pulogadung – Jakarta at 11 am in December 20, 2013 and we arrived at her hometown at 3 am the next day. We stayed at her home for about 12 hours because we had to leave and head to Surabaya at 3 pm.

There were 7 people from my school who joined the trip, my roommate and I came with bus, (I forgot to asks my cowork whether they allowed me to share their name or not…so I will use initials) WY came with train and he arrived first in Taman Pelangi, EL, AS, MH and LL came with plane but their plane was delayed so we had to pick them up at the airport. There were 29 participants and Jong Java provided 2 elf cars (I really don’t know what you call this kind of vehicle in English, it’s Isuzu Elf so we always call this small bus as elf) It looks like this> here

We headed to Mount Bromo in the middle of the night. Almost everyone was asleep in the car, I guess everyone was tired. I didn’t sleep much because I am not a good in-car-sleeper. I saw how our small bus tried to maneuver through all the steep turns as we climb up to mount Bromo. We changed our vehicle with jeep because it was impossible for other vehicle to continue climbing up especially in the slippery sand. We used 5 jeeps in total with 6 people inside one jeep. It was a fun ride. The jeep driver is used to such dangerous road and easily steered the jeep through the narrow road. It was really dark but it wasn’t a problem for the driver.

We tried to catch sunrise on Mount Bromo but when we got there, there were already so many people waiting to see the sun showing he face off to us. It was so hard to find the right spot so that I could take a shot of the sun. Before the sun showed up, I walked around and captured the image of Mount Semeru. I came back to the sunrise spot and managed to capture it in between so many heads. They weren’t a great shot because my pocket camera badly needs an upgrade (planning to buy a new one before my next trip.

Before and after the sunrise, I could see the beauty around Mount Bromo…the beauty of my country. If you look carefully, you can see the the highest mount in the pictures (which is also the highest mount in Java)…that’s Mount Semeru, a mount I really want to hike one day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As the day grew brighter, we went down to the sea of sand. Before we reached the sand, we had a chance to take some pictures of Mount Batok. Both Mount Bromo and Mount Batok are in Tengger caldera (about 10 km in diameter) They are surrounded by sea of sand.

We were lucky that we took the trip on wet season because if we came to Bromo in dry season the sand will be everywhere and we MUST close our nose and mouth. The rain had made the sand looked like solid soil. It was still early in the morning. We could see cloud hanging around the mount. It was an amazing view…cloud, everywhere we turned our head.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To see the crater we have to climb up through a steep mount of sand and then there’s a stairway with 250 stairs. I was already tired by then and decided to skip climbing up the stairs . It was still the first day of our trip and I didn’t want to tired my self down on the first day. The stairway was full of people and I was really not in the mood to have a queue while climbing up.

People can ride on a horse to go to the stairway, the horse was rented for 5o thousands rupiah (about $5)…but it will only go as far as the stairway, you still need to climb the stairs by yourself😉

DSC00280

While waiting for the others to climb down and gather around our jeeps, I took the liberty to enjoy the surrounding. I took a picture of a statue and marveled at the fact that even though there was sand everywhere but grass can still grows on it.

Our next destination was to see the Teletubbies Savannah, it was called like that because it looked like the savannah in children series called teletubbies. It looked peaceful with its yellowish green color. The other side of the savannah was also beautiful, there was cliff that looks both threatening and peaceful at the same time.

Our last destination on our Mount Bromo trip was to visit Pasir Berbisik (whispering sand), the name was taken from a movie with the same title (here). The sand dunes looked silvery and shiny. My camera couldn’t capture the real beauty of their shine, but they truly shined…they looked more like silver dunes than sand dunes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mount Bromo and everything around it are very beautiful…BUT it wasn’t my favorite spot of our trip. If you think everything I have shared here is already beautiful, wait till I share DAY 2 next week😉 the destination of our second day was by far my favorite of all.

We were supposed to visit Madakaripura, it’s a place famous for it’s waterfall…BUT when we got there, the sky decided to send the rain down. We weren’t allowed to go see the waterfall because to go there we have to cross a river and there was a possible flood on the way. Someone told me (I don’t know whether it was true or not) that a group of college students died because of the flood and it happened quite recently. He might be telling the truth because at that time, there were some policemen telling everyone to back off and they also told the people who were already at the waterfall to come back.

We missed the waterfall but that didn’t quite ruin the day. We still enjoyed Bromo🙂

DSC00296

Some of people who joined JongJava trip

East Java Trip- Day 2 : Ijen Crater will be posted in January 3, 2014.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 comments on “East Java Trip- Day 1 : Mount Bromo

  1. thomasgable
    December 27, 2013

    Wow…an amazing collection of photographs! They are absolutely stunning shots! Your words go with the pictures very very nicely! Thanks much for sharing!

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      Thank you Thomas, you complimented me too much.
      I wishI can have better camera because it hardly represent the real beauty

  2. Pingback: Mommy’s Home!!! | Underneath The Shell

  3. Gray Dawster
    December 27, 2013

    Wow what a great adventure🙂
    I love your posting with so many
    generous photographs🙂

    Have a lovely Friday evening Miss. Novia🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      It was a really fun trip🙂
      Hahaha I couldn’t select the photographs well because I think all need to be shared, I shared almost all the photographs I have taken during the trip…that’s why I have to divide my writing about the trip into several posts😉

      Thank you Andro, hope you have great weekend🙂

      • Gray Dawster
        December 30, 2013

        They are brilliant photographs Miss. Novia, hey and you enjoy your weekend too my sweet and dear friend🙂🙂

        Andro xxxx

  4. Wow Nov! So exciting and very beautiful. The blue pic with people is my favorite😀

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      Hi Kelly ((hug)) long time no see and I haven’t seen update on your blog for months.
      My favorite is the photographs of Mount Batok🙂

  5. Binky
    December 28, 2013

    That was only the first day? There certainly is a lot of natural beauty to enjoy in East Java. It must have been a great trip.

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      Yup!🙂
      And even so, I haven’t covered half of East Java yet.
      It was certainly a memorable trip🙂

  6. sidekickreviews
    December 28, 2013

    I like the mist around the hills and mountains, it looks like something out of a movie. Sounds like a lot of fun!

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      If you like that one, wait till I post the next destination…for me it was breathtaking, that’s why I said the next place is by far my favorite.

  7. TBM
    December 28, 2013

    Great photos and what a wonderful experience. I’m excited to see more of your trip!

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      Thank you TBM🙂
      I wish I can share it faster but I am about to leave Jakarta again

  8. Caroline
    December 28, 2013

    I’m glad you had a great trip.
    Looks like such a spectacular landscape.

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      Thank you Caroline🙂
      It was indeed spectacular. Some of teachers went to Singapore, for me I enjoy nature trip more than city trip (unless if the city are in Japan or London😉 )

  9. Nekoneko
    December 29, 2013

    Oooohhh!! Volcanoes!

    We don’t have any of those here … well at least none near where I live. Nothings says “the tropics” to me more than a volcano. I’d so like to climb around on one, but it would be sort of scary too wondering about what was going on below the ground under my feet. Your national parks are just gorgeous!

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      Hahaha tropic equals volcanoes! I guess you’re right…and Indonesia is in the ring of fire, we are surrounded by active volcanoes.

      Thank you, but the best is next week😉

  10. Alice Audrey
    December 29, 2013

    Wow. Looks like you had to do some hard traveling, but it was worth it.

    I want an Elf.

    • Novroz
      December 31, 2013

      Yeah it was very tiring but worth every minute of it. Might do it again next school holiday.

      Most schools have an elf, it’s very handy for school activity. And all travel agents use it too.

      • Alice Audrey
        January 6, 2014

        Makes sense. It looks fuel efficient but able to carry a good payload. I’m thinking I might even be able to fit all my lumber in it. But if it has the same problem with replacement parts as my truck, I’m better off without.

        • Novroz
          January 7, 2014

          Have you ever seen one in the state?

          • Alice Audrey
            January 17, 2014

            The Elf? No. I did see a van similar to it once. It was driving around town.

  11. ruth
    December 30, 2013

    Fun post, Nov! Glad you had a ton of fun. This post took me back a couple of decades when I visited Mount Bromo with my mom and two brothers. The sunrise was so beautiful, it made the climb totally worthwhile!

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2014

      Thank you Ruth🙂
      Ah back then Bromo probably not as crowded as now. We didn’t do any climbing because we used jeep to everywhere.

  12. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    January 1, 2014

    This is just fantastic!! This is such an adventure. I’m truly happy for you – & you look happy lifting that cloud🙂

    The Teletubbies Savannah made me laugh! Oh, great photos. Loved it.

    • Novroz
      January 5, 2014

      Thank you Noeleen🙂
      It was a great vacation.

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        January 5, 2014

        Wonderful!🙂

  13. Pingback: East Java Trip- Day 2 : Ijen Crater | Polychrome Interest

  14. Pingback: Indonesia Banget #0 | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2013 by in Activity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads