Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Shingeki No Kyojin (Attack on Titan) – When Human is Nothing but a Cattle

shingekinokyojin

Over a century ago, mankind faced a new enemy. The difference of power between mankind and their new found enemy was overwhelming. Soon, mankind was driven to the brink of extinction. The surviving humans built three walls: the Maria, the Rose and the Sina. They lived the next century in peace, under their protection. However, ….

Not many of you might know that I used to be an anime addict…not so much now because it’s hard to find it now, but I will still be an anime addict if it’s still easy to find it. The latest anime I watched is Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan)…I have to thank Jason @ Genkina Hito’s Blog for introducing this anime to me. ありがとう ジェイソンさん.

I am not going to claim Shingeki no Kyojin as the best anime I have ever seen…but I can easily said that it is one of the best series I have seen this year. There are some parts of the series that make me questioning the plot but as a whole it is a brilliant anime.

As I have written in my first impression of the series (here) Shingeki no Kyojin mesmerized me since the first episode. The thing that makes me like it instantly is the fact that the series dares to show gruesome image. The story is supposed to be dark and gruesome and when the plot is like that I like to see it as it is without any toning down because it’s too inhuman. The gruesome makes the series feels real.

Somewhere in the future, titans have outnumbered human and forced human to live inside strong tall walls. The titans eat human and the can easily regenerate when part of their bodies are cut off. The only thing that can kill them is a big cut on their nape. To cut their nape, someone must train hard to be able to master the gear that can make them -sort of- fly toward the titans.

I freakin love all the fighting scene in Shingeki no Kyojin!!

The fighting scenes are very well choreographed! There’s not a single fight sequence that doesn’t awe me…both the human vs titan or the titan vs titans.

If you watched the video and read the subtitle carefully…that is also one of the reasons why I keep watching anime whenever I can find a good one. Japanese anime ALWAYS have great dialogue. Japan never forgets its philosophy even in an animation

One of my favorite quotes from the series is:

“Eren, I once told Jean that one unwilling to sacrifice what he holds most dear can never change this world. That a human must throw aside his humanity for the sake of fighting monsters! But in this battle, whoever sacrifice more will prevail! One unwilling to sacrifice what he holds most dear can never change this world!”

In order to survive from the titans, human build three layers of 50 meter high walls. They think they are safe behind those walls!! One faithful morning, a colossal titan (a huge titan taller than the wall)  broke the walls and create a huge hole. Smaller titans can easily walk through the hole and they start feeding on human. Human has turned into nothing but a cattle to feed the titans’ appetite.

The first wall has fallen!

vlcsnap-2013-05-17-20h47m28s218

The survivor move inside the next wall. Amongst the survivors, there are three teenagers, Eren Yeager, Mikasa Ackerman, and Armin Arlert. These young people are the focus of this series.

Eren, Mikasa and Armin join the army. Eren’s ambition is to annihilate all titans. He despise the titans because he saw one of them eating his mother alive. But Eren soon finds himself in a situation where his humanity is being questioned.

The story develops much deeper after this scene:

I am going to stop now because I don’t want to spoil it. Shingeki no Kyojin will give better impression if you know little about it when you begin to watch it.

I am just going to make it SO simple…Watching Shingeki no Kyojin worths every second you spend on it!

For a better review (but with spoilers) , you can read Jason’s review > http://genkinahito.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/attack-on-titan-final-thoughts/

Here’s the trailer

740951392_orig

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “Shingeki No Kyojin (Attack on Titan) – When Human is Nothing but a Cattle

  1. Tim The Film Guy
    December 11, 2013

    On the extreme side of violent anime, Love it😀

    • Novroz
      December 12, 2013

      Hahahaha…that’s a really good description, Tim!

      • Tim The Film Guy
        December 14, 2013

        Actually seen worst which says more about other anime and the amount of violent things I watch haha😀

        You know what this series reminded me of. Berserk, especially the last episode of Berserk😀

        • Novroz
          December 15, 2013

          Hahahaha!! Yeah I know what you meant! But the thing that I like about this is that the violent is inevitable, it’s not something they ‘force’ it to be something violent. I like stories like that.

          I haven’t seen Berserk yet tho I have heard so much about it.

          • Tim The Film Guy
            December 16, 2013

            Love the violence, they can get away with so much more in anime and in that sense adaptations can be more faithful😀

            Watch it, its good😀

  2. Genki Jason
    December 12, 2013

    Nice review! Thanks for the link. I’m glad you liked it.

    I agree with you about the fight sequences being fun. They are so exciting that I start bouncing around and shouting with them (when I’m not sat next to others). I also love the existential stuff going on.

    • Novroz
      December 12, 2013

      You are more than welcome!🙂
      The fighting sequence is the most brilliant thing on SnK, in my opinion. It’s simply amazing!

      Do you think they will make the next series? I mean it ends unfinished like that. I want to see Mikasa again…I really love her.

  3. otakudaydreams
    December 12, 2013

    SnK is the best anime I’ve watched this year. The fighting scenes are awesome and so is the music. They make me want to grab my 3D maneuver gear and join in the fight.😉

    • Novroz
      December 12, 2013

      It is also the best anime I have seen this year…well I didn’t watch much anime this year.
      Heheheh it would me great if such gear exist…we can easily avoid traffic😉

      • otakudaydreams
        December 13, 2013

        I want my own 3D maneuver gear. Too bad it doesn’t exist. But if we use it to travel we will damage buildings along the way.😛

        • Novroz
          December 15, 2013

          Yeah…people will be complaining all the time. There will be insurance for 3D Maneuver gear damage😉

  4. Alice Audrey
    December 13, 2013

    Great. Now I’m hooked. I’ll have to see if I can come up with it.

    • Novroz
      December 15, 2013

      It’s quite popular, but I am not sure that DVD is already out.

  5. TBM
    December 13, 2013

    I haven’t watched much anime, but you’ve piqued my curiosity with this one.

    • Novroz
      December 15, 2013

      There are a lot of cool anime out there (both series and featured) you should try to watch more😉

  6. Caroline
    December 28, 2013

    I don’t watch a lot of anime but this sounds not bad at all. May be difficult to find here.

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2013

      It’s quite famous, maybe it isn’t as difficult as it seem.

  7. Pingback: Battle of Surabaya & Attack on Titans | Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: Attack On Titans Part 2 – Worst Adaptation I Have Seen So Far | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads