Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Back to back Sandra Bullock – The Heat and While You Were Sleeping

Sandra-Bullock

After seeing gravity, I am in the mood to see more of Sandy’s movies. I watched her latest movie (before Gravity) and the second movie that made me fell in love with her (yes, Sandy is my woman-crush, she is so beautiful. She is one of my top 5 most beautiful actresses). Although I haven’t seen all her movies (yet) but she is still one out seven actress/actors I will always watch the movie not matter how crappy it is.

I first saw Sandra in Speed, that movie made me a fan of both Keanu and Sandra. I was full of joy when she won the Oscar (tho I never watch Academy Award anymore).

Anyway, here are the movies I watched recently. (Sorry if the review is not good, lately I lost my mood to write a movie review)

The Heat (2013)

The_Heat_posterWhen I first saw the trailer, I am not really into the movie because it reminds me a bit of Ms. Congeniality 2. But I still watch it because it’s Sandra Bullock’s movie. After watching it, I wasn’t that impressed…nothing really special about it. I have seen a lot of good cop bad cop movies and The Heat doesn’t give something new to it.

FBI Agent Sarah Ashburn (Sandra Bullock) is a very skilled agent but other agents dislike her because she is arrogant. She is sent to Boston to deal with drug supplier named Larkin. On the process, she met Shannon Mullins (Melissa McCarthy) from Boston PD. Mullins is a trash mouth, rude, violence police, she doesn’t follow the rule. Mullins is a good cop but not that easy to like. They are forced to work together. Along the way, they (as we all have expected) become friends.

For me, none of the characters is likeable. Both Ashburn and Mullins are played brilliantly by Bullock and McCarthy, the problem for me is just those two characters don’t make me want to know about them. I feel that both the characters are faking too much, Ashburn with her by the book action and Mullins with her hell with the book action…they just don’t come natural.

However, I still think that the Heat is a nice watch but I know I will not rewatch it. I have known the drug dealer and the story, so there’s nothing else I want to see.

Director: Paul Feig
Producers: Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping
Scriptwriter: Katie Dippold
Starring: Sandra Bullock, Melissa McCarthy, Demián Bichir, Marlon Wayans, Michael Rapaport, Jane Curtin, Dan Bakkedahl, Taran Killam, Michael McDonald, Tom Wilson
Rating: 2 stars

While You Were Sleeping (1995)

2-24 While You Were SleepingCompared to The Heat…While You Were Sleeping is far better. Simple story but it really gets in to my heart. I can easily say that While You Were Sleeping is in my top 5 romantic comedy. It doesn’t have that over the top love story where Cinderella meets rich Prince Charming (like Pretty Woman and Maid in Manhattan), it’s so simple and can actually happen in real life. Unlike The Heat that I have just reviewed above, WYWS have likeable characters…it’s so easy to fall in love with Lucy and Jake.

Lucy Moderatz (Sandra Bullock) works in train station, the kind of work that easily makes you bored and lonely. Lucy once had a loving father, she has been alone and lonely since her father’s death. She has a secret crush on one of the commuters named Peter Callaghan (Peter Gallagher). He falls to the train track and Lucy saves him. One of the nurses thinks that she is his fiancé and tells the family about it. Lucy is trapped in a loving family she can’t escape. She has to play along as their son’s future wife. But things get complicated when Jack (Bill Pullman), Peter’s brother, shows up.

I love love love this movie!! I have watched it more than five times and still finding it fun and enjoyable. It hasn’t made me bored yet. I love how simple their love is. What makes this movie is better than most romantic comedy is the way it involves family loves, it’s not merely about the couple. Both Lucy and Jack are so adorable and Sandra is so darn beautiful.

Before I write this post, I have watched the movie once again😉

Director: Jon Turteltaub
Producer: Roger Birnbaum, Joe Roth
Scriptwriter: Daniel G. Sullivan, Fredric LeBow
Starring: Sandra Bullock, Bill Pullman, Peter Gallagher, Peter Boyle, Glynis Johns, Jack Warden
Rating: 4 stars

Have you watched these movies?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “Back to back Sandra Bullock – The Heat and While You Were Sleeping

  1. felis catus
    November 5, 2013

    I love Sandra Bullock’s acting most when she is in romcom flm. Too bad nowadays romcom is not popular anymore.

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2013

      i like her in anything! One of my favorite is Premonition and she was great there.
      I am not a fan of romcom.

  2. TBM
    November 5, 2013

    I haven’t seen The Heat, but I do like her. She also seems like a genuine person off-screen and that helps.

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2013

      Yup!! I can see that she is a very nice person and very likeable.

  3. ruth
    November 7, 2013

    No interest in seeing The HEAT at all but I love While You’re Sleeping because of Sandy. If it were another actress it may not be as charming.

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2013

      I wouldn’t even watch The Heat if sandy is not in it😉
      YEah I agree with you!! She was perfect for the role.

  4. Alice Audrey
    November 8, 2013

    I missed The Heat. I’ll have to snag it when I get the chance. While You Were Sleeping is the movie that turned me into a fan.

    • Novroz
      November 8, 2013

      You don’t miss much, IMO…you can catch it on DVD. Nothing special there…at least for me.

      Me too!! I liked her since Speed but I became a fan after WYWS🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        November 12, 2013

        Criminy, I can’t believable I forgot about Speed! That movie really should have been a dud. There wasn’t that much to it. Yet it all came together so well.

        • Novroz
          November 14, 2013

          Totally agree with you!!! Speed is so simple but so right. I never get bored with that movie

          • Alice Audrey
            November 16, 2013

            You know, then I think of it, Gravity also has that simplicity. It’s a straight forward, life threatening problem.

          • Novroz
            November 16, 2013

            Ah…you’re right!! I didn’t realize that till you point it out. Gravity is a lot simpler because it only has 2 actors in it😉

          • Alice Audrey
            November 24, 2013

            Well, technically three and a couple of voice actors, but who’s counting. For over half the movie, it’s just her.

  5. Gray Dawster
    November 8, 2013

    I have not seen either of these two films but Sandra Bullock is definitely a beautiful woman, that i do know🙂 I will have to see if I can find those dvd’s and watch them my great friend. As always you have presented a well researched posting and I have enjoyed this one a lot Miss. Novia🙂

    Have a lovely weekend my sweet and dear friend🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      November 11, 2013

      You should see While You were sleeping…it’s such a sweet and heart-warm story. It’s not goth and dark but I bet you will like it nevertheless😉

      have a lovely week Andro🙂

      • Gray Dawster
        November 11, 2013

        I will make a note of that film and make sure that I get a chance to see it, afterwards I will let you know what I thought of it🙂 I hope your weekend has been fun🙂

        Andro xxxx

  6. I looove While You Were Sleeping, it’s so heartwarming. Bullock’s best performance might be in her first ever movie, Speed. But I also recommend The Proposal, I really enjoy that one, very funny too. Nice you checking out romance movies🙂 Not too bad, right?

    • Novroz
      November 11, 2013

      I like the Proposal🙂
      I have watched most of Sandy’s movies.
      I like romantic comedy because it can be really funny sometimes, what I don’t like is pure romance which most of the time ended up in boredom.

  7. Caroline
    November 12, 2013

    I love her but she’s made a few movies I wasn’t so keen on. The Haet seems to be one of those. I need to watch Gravity soon.
    I like While You Were Sleeping a lot too. I’ve seen it twice so far but could easily re-watch it.

    • Novroz
      November 14, 2013

      I agree with you…she does have movies I am not keen on but I still enjoy her presence, sort of like with Cillian.

      I don’t think there’s someone who dislike While you were sleeping😉

  8. Pingback: Movie Monday – Ender’s Game, The Heat | The Journey of Two

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,507 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads