Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Charm of Atomic Bomb

Trust me, the title is totally misleading! ๐Ÿ˜‰

My student told me something about a week ago and I think it’s good to share it here.

Before I was accepted in my new school, I have to go through interview and micro teaching. I was fortunate because everything happened in one day. I came for the interview, had a micro teaching and had a salary deal…all in one day! This happened in May 2013. After I got accepted, I didn’t join in immediately because I had to finish my teaching in my previous school. I couldn’t just leave my students before the school year is over. Fortunately my new principal understood that and agreed to accept me as the new teacher on June (school year always start late June or early July).

What I am going to share is about my micro teaching.

I didn’t expect to have micro teaching at the same day as the interview. The princi8pal allowed me to teach them any lesson I like. They gathered all the boys in one class…YES the boys!! the noisy boys not the calm girls! The girls were having swimming lesson at that time.

I came up with Atomic Bomb. I thought the knowledge of how atomic bomb can create such explosion would be an interesting topic.

I went to the classroom ready for any tricks they will lay upon me. Kids can be naughty to new teachers.

I told them that I am going to share about atomic bomb and asked them what they have already known about it. Then I explained about how the energy came from the loss of mass in a certain atom, how the formula created by Einstein applied in creating such energy. Pretty much like this image below!

fission_supercritical

Boys will always be boys! they were so in to it, they hardly made sounds…unless for asking questions. They also asked about nuclear plant and things related to this matter.

I guessed I got accepted as science teacher in this school because of atomic bomb ๐Ÿ˜‰

*******************

Moving forward to last week, I found out that the bomb did charm the boys! One of my students said that they were ready to play tricks on me, making me uncomfortable. Their first reaction when they were told about micro teaching was “hey guys, there is going to be another micro teaching. Let’s make her do something to her!” They were going to make me having a hellish teaching moment. But when I begun my teaching with “What do you know about Atomic Bomb?” … they forgot their plan ๐Ÿ˜‰

He told me that at that time he was thinking “hey, this is an interesting topic!”

…and now, he is happy to have me as his teacher ๐Ÿ™‚

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “The Charm of Atomic Bomb

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    October 13, 2013

    Love your tactics, I dare say – you escaped that just fine!

    I bet you’re a great teacher. I can imagine you are ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      October 14, 2013

      Atomic bomb always makes everyone interested ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Ah…I can’t say anything about that, the students arr the ones who can judge that…but I am glad I still keep in touch with my former students ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Theresa
    October 13, 2013

    Well you sound like a fantastic teacher! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Novroz
      October 14, 2013

      Thank you Theresa ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Binky
    October 14, 2013

    Haha! You outsmarted the little devils. You get an A+++ from me!
    They may also be thinking “I’d better not get her mad, she might have an atomic bomb!”

    • Novroz
      October 14, 2013

      Hahahaha yeah they might think like that….better not mess up with her or she’ll blow us to pieces ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Alice Audrey
    October 17, 2013

    So if it weren’t for the bomb, your lesson would have bombed? ๐Ÿ˜‰ It really does help to be able to pick your topics.

    • Novroz
      October 20, 2013

      Hahaha that’s a nice sentence..I love it ๐Ÿ™‚
      Indeed!! Especially if we understand it well.

      • Alice Audrey
        October 24, 2013

        But that alone isn’t enough. You have to be a good teacher to be able to keep their attention once you’ve captured it.

  5. TBM
    October 21, 2013

    That’s funny you chose that as your subject. Great way to get boys interested in science.

  6. Caroline
    October 23, 2013

    That was a cunning plan and it worked.
    Well done. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz
      October 23, 2013

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
      Being a teacher for many years helps a lot ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Gray Dawster
    November 8, 2013

    I am pleased that you chose such an explosive topic otherwise those naughty boys might have given you a fright ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I think that you chose very well and yes, the Atomic Bomb is definitely a worthy subject to discuss, and was well liked by all ๐Ÿ™‚ This is good because they forgot to play their wicked tricks on you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      November 11, 2013

      A fright from students? hahaha that will never happen (hopefully) . Students are wonderful no matter how tricky they are…it’s a bliss to be a teacher. You got to know new faces every year and when they graduated and still remember you, then all the hard work is paid off ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Gray Dawster
        November 11, 2013

        I agree, even now I can remember some very inspiring teachers that I had and that is many years ago now my sweet and great friend ๐Ÿ™‚

        Have a wonderful start to your week Miss. Novia and I hope that you enjoyed your birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

        Andro xxxx

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2013 by in Things I Need to Say and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€œSaya menyimpan kepribadian saya di lockerโ€

COPYRIGHT

ยฉ Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads