Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Stand Miniseries (1994)

Stephen-king-the-stand-mini-series

As you’ve already known, I felt VERY disappointed with Under The Dome series because of the changes…not that I am against changes but the changes are just too awful to see. The series has turned a good book to look so simple. Because of that disappointment, I tried to find The Stand. The Stand and Under The Dome are two of King’s thickest books, both are more than 1000 pages. The Stand Miniseries only had 4 episode and each episode was 1,5 hours. Before you continue reading, I want to say that I REALLY LIKE THIS MINISERIES!! This is how King’s book should be made into visual…STAY TRUE TO THE STORY!!

Let’s begin this post with an open letter to the great Mr. Stephen King:

Dear Mr. King,

I love your works…you are my number one author and I want to be a writer like you someday. However, if ANYONE…I mean ANYONE (that includes yourself) wants to turn your book into a movie or miniseries, can you please make sure that that person DOES NOT change the story. Changing the details is okay but not the basic story. I had hard time enjoying The Shining and Under The Dome is a total failure, the two took TOO much liberty to your story. On contrary, I love Shawshank Redemption, Green Mile, and The Stand…and we both know very well that those three stay true to your books. In case you have forgotten who you are…let me refresh your memory, YOU ARE A GREAT STORYTELLER and let it be shown in both movies and series.

Hope you’ll have long life and keep writing more books,

Love,

Your fan from Indonesia.

Now, let’s talk about The Stand 😉

I read the book in 2010. The story is about a new strand of virus that had symptoms like normal flu. The virus was created by US government and it got loose to the society by accident. Within weeks, the virus spread had wiped out almost everyone in United State and maybe the world, but there is no news about the world because the government was covering it up. Some people weren’t infected by the virus…somehow they were immune. The immune forms two groups, one followed Mother Abagail and her believe toward God while the other followed Flagg who happened to had very dark heart.

To know more about The Stand, you can read my review > Here.

The miniseries, although felt a bit slow, doesn’t stray from the book. It has some missing characters and minor changes but as a whole it’s still the same. The major characters like my crush Nick Andros, Stu, Fran, Tom, etc are still in the story, basically all the characters that matter much toward the story are still playing big part of the series. And I like the fact how they aren’t being rewritten to have new personality (like in Under The Dome). Fran is a bit unlike the book but it’s not a major disappointment for me. The Stand covers many characters and each has their own characteristic and we can see that in the miniseries, almost everyone is written as good as the book.

Nick and Tom

Nick and Tom

I enjoyed every minute watching The Stand Miniseries. I have to admit that I had my worried when I saw the name of Rob Lowe as Nick Andros. Nick Andros is my only book crush (I am not sure how you call it, it’s the only character from a book that I fell in love with). There was once a thread in goodreads.com asking which book character you want to date with…and my answer is Nick Andros (I don’t even give second option…it’s only Nick)

Here’s a quote from an old post called They who Have Captured My attention:

Nick is my latest favorite character. He is deaf and mute but he is the kind of person that people look up to and wouldn’t mind trusting their life on his hand. Nick’s character is so strong and lightens everyone with his charisma. I love reading every word about him…even at the very boring part of the book, if he is in it, I read it happily. I wonder how the movie version of Nick, I hope who ever played as him will portray him really good.

I have never imagined him to be played by Rob Lowe because it’s not how I imagine him to look like, however Lowe surprised me. Lowe is perfect as Nick, he has that innocent and determined look and I can also see how warm he is toward Tom.  Simply said, he plays Nick Andros perfectly. Well done Lowe!

I am now re-reading the book (more like re-reading with a lot of skimming) because I miss Nick. I am only reading chapters where Nick is the central character 🙂

Gary Sinise also played Stu Redman brilliantly. I think he is the best choice to play Stu. The only problem I have is on Molly Ringwald as Fran, I am sure it’s not her fault it’s more to how her character was changed. She was written as strong woman in the book but in the miniseries she was more like a damsel in distress, clinging on to Stu without really doing anything. But overall, I enjoyed most of the characters. Jamey Sheridan was also great as Flagg, he had that annoying smile that worked well for his character.

I also like the cinematography. The emptiness and the death are well shown in the miniseries. There are a lot of dead bodies but they don’t overdo it. The feeling of emptiness because so many people died is so transparent.

I think one of the reasons that make the series is good is the fact that King himself wrote the screenplay, therefore the story can stay true to the book even though some changes had to be done.

There are rumours of it being made into a movie and Ben Affleck is going to direct it…but Ben has left the project to be Batman. I am not sure that a book that thick can be turned into a good 2-3 hour movie.

Miniseries details:

Director: Mick Garris
Producers: Stephen King, Mitchell Galin
Screenwriter: Stephen King
Starring: Gary Sinise, Molly Ringwald, Jamey Sheridan, Rob Lowe, Laura San Giacomo, Rob Lowe, Miguel Ferrer, Ruby Dee, Bill Fagerbakke, Corin Nemec, Adam Storke, Ray Walston, Matt Frewer, Ossie Davis
Rating: 5 stars

Interesting stuff from the miniseries:

Meet Mr. King the actor 😉

King of The Stand

An obvious blooper – the microphone

Mic

I always enjoy seeing the master in his adaptation. I have seen him in Thinner and Tales From The Crypts.

The mic is a minor error but very visible…they should have edited that 😉

Anyway….this is for my R.I.P VIII – Peril on The Screen hosted by Stainless Stell Dropping.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 comments on “The Stand Miniseries (1994)

  1. le0pard13
    September 11, 2013

    Yep, they did a solid job with this. It’s not as good as the book, but at 1100+ pages and never once failing to enthrall the reader, that would be quite an adaptation. Fine look at this, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      September 12, 2013

      Thank you Michael 🙂
      I totally agree with you, not as good as the book but still satisfying.

  2. Tim The Film Guy
    September 11, 2013

    I’ll watch anything based on the kingmister 😀

    • Novroz
      September 12, 2013

      Hahahha me too!!! But I am not always happy with it….but I am happy with The Stand 🙂

  3. Alice Audrey
    September 12, 2013

    I caught bits and pieces of The Stand when it first aired. It’s really not something you should try to watch in bits and pieces.

    • Novroz
      September 13, 2013

      Hahahaha agree!
      You’ll get confused if you don’t watch it in the right order and as a whole.

      • Alice Audrey
        September 16, 2013

        Yep. I spent a lot of time saying, “Why did he do that?” and “What’s going on?” People got annoyed with me and sent me from the room.

        • Novroz
          September 16, 2013

          Lol. That is quite annoying. I ussualy said ‘just watch it!’ To answer such questions when watching something.

  4. ruth
    September 12, 2013

    Great letter to Mr. King Nov! I think I might’ve seen parts of the miniseries (Rob Lowe is gorgeous!), but I might give it a look again. Too bad Under The Dome was such a disappointment to you.

    • Novroz
      September 13, 2013

      Thank you Ruth 🙂
      It’s from the bottom of my heart 😉

      For the first time, I can say Rob Lowe is gorgeous because he played a good Nick Andros. I am hard on characters I love…the actors have to be really good to play any of my fav characters.

      Yeah…I don’t even care with Under The Dome, it’s just a story with same situation…it’s not King

  5. Jay
    September 12, 2013

    Yes! That truly was a great mini-series adaptation wasn’t it? Great use of music too, as I recall. Wasn’t Blue Oyster Cult played over the camera panning the death and destruction at one point? And I agree Lowe and Sinese were excellent in their roles. Great post!

    -Jay

    • Novroz
      September 13, 2013

      Ah!! I forgot mentioning the music. The Stand has fabulous music/scoring.

      I think excellent actors here, Lowe, Sinise and the one who became Flagg.

      Thank you Jay 🙂

  6. Jay
    September 13, 2013

    I guess if I were really on the ball I would’ve ended that last comment with “M-O-O-N, that spells great post!” 🙂

    • Novroz
      September 13, 2013

      Hahahahaha M-O-O-N that spells Thank you 🙂

      I am rereading The Stand and I still love the way Nick treated Tom.

  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    September 13, 2013

    I’ve never heard of The Stand so I can’t even comment! I like the way you write, though 🙂

    • Novroz
      September 13, 2013

      Thank you Noeleen. I assume you don’t like Stephen King 😉

  8. sidekickreviews
    September 15, 2013

    I didn’t know there was a miniseries on this book. At first I got it mixed up with Stand by Me haha. I’m a couple of episodes behind on Under The Dome, but I’m interested in what the mini-dome egg is … maybe it’s not even in the book??

    • Novroz
      September 15, 2013

      If you can find it, do watch it…it’s a great series 🙂

      There’s a box not an egg.

      Btw I have just posted my Peaky Blinders review (if you are still interested 🙂 )

  9. Caroline
    September 15, 2013

    I absolutely need to find this. if it gets your approval, I’m sure it must be good. 🙂
    I liked your letter to Stephen King.
    Sometimes I mind changes more than at other times. It depends.

    • Novroz
      September 15, 2013

      I think most King’s fans enjoy this one. It’s not exactly a horror book.

      It depends for me too…but somehow, the movies with a lot of changes always makes me dislike the movies. If they could make it better, that’s great but mostly they made it worst.

  10. TBM
    September 19, 2013

    I need to read this book. It’s been on my shelf for so long now. Maybe this winter I’ll finally do it!

    • Novroz
      September 21, 2013

      Do read it TBM 🙂
      I have just finished my re-read and ready to write about Nick (when I have the time to do it)

  11. adityahadi
    September 25, 2013

    Just read a Stephen King’s book, and i need some ‘relax time’ after reading his book before read his other book 😀

    Maybe later i can read (and watch) this one … don’t know that he ever become an actor, hahaa

    • Novroz
      September 29, 2013

      Yeaaaa \(^_^)/ congrats on tackling his thick book 🙂

      Well…he only played in his book adaptation 😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads