Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

All Around Animations: Bolt, Toy Story 3, Monsters Vs Aliens, Brave, Blood C and Brave Story

Monday Movies

It’s been a while since I put my Monday Movies icon (with my nephew as the model😉 ). I think today is the perfect day to share his smile on my blog again😉

Anyway, I have been watching a lot of animations lately and I tried to be more open toward western animations, as you can see there are 4 western animation and only 2 Japanese animations. I always like Japanese animation more than western animation because the Japanese one has more depth than the western one, however once in a while I found a gem amongst western animations, one of them is Coraline. From now on, I am adding Brave to one of my favorite western animations🙂

So, here are all the animations I watched lately🙂.

Bolt (2008)

BoltI saw this on TV. Many said it was good, so I watched it.

Bolt was a famous dog, a movie star. He thought he was a real superhero. When he got lost, he learned from a stray cat that he was just a dognot a superhero.

Typical and predictable animation. Not much to offer, kids might like it…but it was just okay for me. I have seen this kind of theme so often. It does have good moral message for children, that much I admit.

Rating: 2 stars

Toy Story 3 (2010)

Toy_Story_3_posterI remember that many people think that Toy Story trilogy as one of their favorite trilogies. I guess there’s something wrong with me because even after I saw all three of them, I still think Toy Story as a fun animation but not even in my top 10 list of favorite animations. I like the theme about toys and children, it is very creative and it’s really good for children, I would definitely show it to my child if I ever have one in the future but it doesn’t appeal me that much as a grown up.

Toy Story 3 has a nice end about separation. The beginning and the ending of Toy Story three is the best of all, the journey of the toys going back to Andy’s house is a bit similar to previous series, so it feels a bit flat. Thank God for the beginning and ending, it shows more emotion than the rest of the movie, the feeling of being abandoned and wanting to be needed again.

Rating: 2,5 stars

Monsters Vs Aliens (2009)

Monsters-vs-aliens-posterA friend gave me the file and since it’s a free movie, what harm can I have?😉

I watched this last week. I didn’t have any expectation and knew nothing about the story. I watched it blindly. The story is about a girl who got hit by a meteor on her wedding day. She became a strong giant and captured by the military. It turned out that there were 4 other monsters in that base. When alien came to earth, the military used these monsters to fight the alien.

I actually like the friendship theme that this animation trying to deliver to the audience HOWEVER there are TOO many forced comedy and instead of making the animation funny…it bored me so much. One of the examples is when the military man explained about the monsters, one woman kept screaming at the sight of the monster and when the woman had been taken out, the president became the screaming one. Seriously…it’s not funny!!

Rating: 1,5 stars

Blood C – The Last Dark (2012)

Blood-C_dvd_cover

I love Blood- The Last Vampire because it was a dark animation with stunning martial art. I like Saya, she is a much better slayer than Buffy. She has the right attitude, simply said she is a bad ass samurai.

HOWEVER…

Blood C – The last Dark totally sucks!! I first heard about this from Jason, my fellow Japanese cinephile. I searched for it and felt incredible disappointed. I didn’t even finish the movie. I only managed to see it for 30 minutes and then I turned it off.

CLAMP (a group of Mangaka) really ruined the image of Saya. I found out later that CLAMP’s version of Blood is a bit like another universe to the Saya I love. The story is completely different, I wonder why they didn’t just make new character instead of borrowing Saya from Blood-The last Vampire.

Rating: 1 star (- 1 if such rate exist)

Brave (2012)

Brave_Poster

I often got recommendation of certain animations, they said that this animation or that animation is great …but it always turned out into a fun movie but not great enough to be in the list of my favorite animation. And the one no one recommended to me turned out to be the awesome one…yes, I am talking about Coraline. Brave is the first recommended animation that I finally love 🙂

Finally…a princess story which isn’t about finding prince charming!! A princess who is so independent and tomboyish. Simply said, the kind of princess I like. Merida is not a damsel in distress who needs man to rescue her. She is her own rescuer! For the first time EVER, I enjoy Disney’s princess movie.

Brave is set on Scotland (love hearing all that Scottish accent). Merida, the princess, is a girl who enjoys riding a horse and archery. Her mother wants her to be like a real princess. She teaches Merida to be elegant and ready to be a wife. But Merida doesn’t want an arrange marriage, she wants to determine her own life. Her decision makes her mother furious. Her refusal makes her relationship with her mother heats up.

This is one of my favorite quotes from Merida as she refuses her fate to be forcedly married.

“I am Merida, first descendent of clan Dunbroch, and I’ll be shooting for my own hand!”

Merida meets a witch and asks her whether she has a spell to change her mother. What Merida means is to change her mother’s feeling or decision but the witch changes her mother into a bear. And that’s when the bond between mother and daughter becomes stronger than ever.

I always like the mix of beautiful green scenery and impossible magic and Brave has a lot of that. The thing I like the most about Brave is the fact that it’s about the love between mother and daughter and no handsome prince needed. Merida is also so normal, a princess unlike other Disney’s princess. I also like the accent (I know I have said it before😉 ) and the scoring.

Rating: 4,5 stars

Brave Story (2006)

brave-story-bt3I love the way Japanese writer’s imagination! They can imagine things beyond believe and not over the top. Brave Story is one of those cool imaginations…another world so different to this world. If you ever read my serial (Aqeela and Me), it is heavily inspired by Japanese manga and anime.

Brave Story is based on book by one of my favorite writers, Miyuki Miyabe (but I haven’t read this one yet). The book has been turned into Manga, film and video games. The story is about a boy names Wataru. He meets an unusual boy with magical power. Mitsuru, his new friend, tells him that there’s a door that can change everything. When Wataru’s mom decides to commit suicide after the divorce, Wataru follows Mitsuru to the other world to save his mother. Wataru must find 5 gems so that he can meet God of Fortune that will grant him one wish. Wataru remains pure while Mitsuru changes into an awful witch who will try anything to get that one wish.

Unfortunately none of the characters is interesting. What I like about this anime is the imagination. The world that Miyabe has created is interesting. As always, there’s no real baddies in Japanese anime, everyone has his/her own good and bad side.

It’s a fun animation but not as strong as other Japanese animation. It also lacks of that awed factor that Ghibli often delivers in their movies…a fantasy with depth like Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke.

Rating: 3 stars

Have you watched any of those animations? What do you think?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

28 comments on “All Around Animations: Bolt, Toy Story 3, Monsters Vs Aliens, Brave, Blood C and Brave Story

  1. filmplicity
    September 2, 2013

    Novia!!! How can you say Bolt was just ok!?! I love this film, it is my favourite animation, with the possible exception of Pixar’s very best. It has everything, a smart, funny, believable script, warm, relatable and likeable characters, a nice moral, a catchy soundtrack and some of the best action sequences in CGI ever! Plus it has some hilarious one-liners. And Rhino the hamster!! I didn’t like Brave, I saw it in Russian so didn’t get most of the dialogue but I think if it had been up there with Pixar’s best I would have enjoyed it whatever the language. Surprised you only gave TS3 two and a half out of five. I think you are being quite controversial here Novia!😉 I agree with you about Ghibli though. I’d also like to see Coraline as I’ve heard good things about it.

    • Novroz
      September 2, 2013

      Hahahaha … I am sorry, since my rating is always about how I feel toward a movie (unlike proffesional rating), so it shows how I feel about the animations.
      I grew up with anime where so many stories are unpredictable…it’s just hard to like animations which I can predict what will happen next. I admit that I am a hard case when it comes to animations. Everyone seems to like Shrek and I end up saying “it’s okay”. Everyone says Cars is great and I said”really?”

      Controversial? Hehehe I guess I am when it comes to animation😉 … but you are also being controversial by saying that Brave is not good😉 For me Brave is out of the ordinary (althought Not as out of the ordinary as Coraline).

      Glad we agree on Ghibli😉 if I to make a top 5 list of fav animations, the list will be full of Ghibli. They have the element of unpredictable and amazing imagination. Do watch Coraline, Ronan…love to know what you think🙂

    • le0pard13
      September 2, 2013

      Here’s your second for Coraline, Ronan. A splendid, unexpected tale, that.

      • Novroz
        September 2, 2013

        Hear hear! And that’s why I love Coraline. Amazing imagination.

  2. le0pard13
    September 2, 2013

    I really loved Brave and agreed with your rating, Novia. I’m with Ronan for Bolt and TS3, though.

    • Novroz
      September 2, 2013

      Thank you Micheal…for Brave🙂
      Although Brave is a bot predictable (as most Disney’s) but I like Merida a lot.

      Hehehe I can’t say anything about Bolt and TS3 because the two just don’t impress me much.

  3. Binky
    September 2, 2013

    I saw Bolt which I thought was at least okay ( I can’t actually remember much about it!), and I think I saw Monsters vs Aliens, but I can’t remember it, either! I must be getting old. Have you seen Wall-E? I didn’t think it had much potential, but when I watched it I thought it was very good.

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2013

      Same with me then😉 Bolt is okay.
      Yeah I have seen Wall E, quite good…I like it but still wont call it as one of my fav animated movies

  4. ruth
    September 3, 2013

    YAY! I’m glad you love BRAVE too, Nov. I love that one and it was funnier than I thought. Merida is awesome indeed!

    I’m a big fan of Western animated features, I grew up w/ Disney princess movies and as an adult I also love Pixar & Dreamworks stuff. Bolt was quite fun but not exactly my favorite. I actually have only seen a few Japanese animations, need to see more by Studio Ghibli.

    • ruth
      September 3, 2013

      Btw, today’s Keanu’s b’day. Pop by later on my tribute to him😉

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2013

      Yeah it was funny…but what I like the most is the way it breaks the usual trend. No prince charming🙂

      Funny how we both had our childhood in Indonesia but have different animated feature to grow to with😉 Since I have never been a fan of romance, Disney princess never appeal me.

  5. Caroline
    September 3, 2013

    I don’t watch a lot of animated movies but I was tempted to watch Brave. I’m glad it’s good. It’s nice to see a Princess story without the Prince Charming theme. I agree.

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2013

      I think the world, especially little girls need this kind of model…not always about beautiful girl looking for beautiful man.
      You should watch more animated movies, especially the one from Japan…they are often really good.

  6. Nekoneko
    September 4, 2013

    I’m happy you finally got to see “Brave” and that you liked it as much as I do. Merida rules!🙂

    I only wish they’d have had movies like that back when I was a wee lil’ Catgirl. I can picture myself running around like a crazy girl pretending I was shooting arrows all over my neighborhood… as if I wasn’t wild enough as a kid.😉

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2013

      All girls should be like Merida!! in term of being so independent and not weak😉

      Hahaha I imagine your neighbours would go nuts and turned into bears😉

      • Nekoneko
        September 5, 2013

        Hahaha!! I can still remember my grandma chasing me around when I was all excited and being far to much of a tomboy to suit her sensibilities, telling me “Miyuki-chan… good little Japanese girls shouldn’t act so loud and crazy.”.

        All I can say… it’s probably a good thing my favorite Anime movie of all time, “Princess Mononoke”, hadn’t come out yet back then. I’m thinking lil’ Miyuki would have loved the whole idea of San the Wolf Princess faaaar too much to keep my granny happy….😉

        • Novroz
          September 8, 2013

          Hahahaha you’ll be riding a wolf instead of horse😉
          Mononoke Hime is still my most fav princess story. Superb in everything.

          You know, we are alike when we were kids😉 but no one screamed at me because I have two brothers, so everyone sort of understand why I am so tomboyish.

  7. I love “Bolt” the most, and “The Brave”^^

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2013

      Good to know Bolt has a lot of fans🙂

  8. Gray Dawster
    September 8, 2013

    I didn’t reckon much to Toy Story either but there is another one all about Robots that is brilliant, if only I could think of the title for you😦 While we are talking about animation have you ever seen Wallace and Grommet?

    If you haven’t then do have a look at one of those, I recommend ‘The Wrong Trousers’ as that is really funny but there are others equally exciting to watch so I hope that you will take a look at some of those my great friend. I too like Japanese animations and have watched some before, again I forget the titles but I do enjoy them.

    I hope that you are enjoying your weekend my sweet and great friend🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2013

      Thanks for the recommendation Andro🙂
      I haven’t seen any of those. I will see if I can find it. Finding a not famous animation can be really tough…same as finding Japanese animation.

      • Gray Dawster
        September 10, 2013

        You will easily find this one as they are famous🙂 I hope you enjoy them when you do🙂 Have a deliciously sweet Tuesday Miss. Novia🙂

        Andro xxxx

        • Novroz
          September 10, 2013

          You’ll know when I finally find it😉
          Have a nice rest of the week Andro🙂

          • Gray Dawster
            September 11, 2013

            Maybe there will
            be some on Youtube?🙂

            Have a lovely
            Wednesday Miss. Novia😉

            Andro xxxx

  9. Alice Audrey
    September 8, 2013

    I love Brave, too. The mother-daughter relationship is great and the laugh lines fantastic.

    Such a bummer on Dark 3. I like Dark, too.

    As to the rest, I’m just as glad my kids are old enough now that I don’t have to watch them if I don’t feel like it. They gave me enough flack for renting Brave.

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2013

      Glad you like Brave too🙂
      It’s wonderful that Disney uses mother and daughter relationship instead of the usual theme they have been using for years. They should expand their story like this.

      Tho I don’t have a kid yet, but I still enjoy good animated feature but I understand what you’re saying…it’s nice to watch something not because our kids are watching it😉

  10. Alice Audrey
    September 16, 2013

    If Brave does well enough, they probably will.

  11. Pingback: Animation Week: ParaNorman, Frozen and The Secret of Kells | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads