Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Celebrating Indonesian Independence Day – Lots of Fun at School

Beware…a lot of photos🙂

On August 17, we celebrated our Independence Day. Unlike some countries who celebrate it by using fireworks…we Indonesian celebrate it with a fun tournament.

I have shared about what we used to call as Tujuh Belas Agustusan (Seventeen August Thningy) three years ago> here. For the past three years, August 17 fell on Ramadhan month where most muslims are fasting, so there weren’t many tournaments held. This year, August 17 is no longer on Ramdhan month. My school held two tournaments, one for teacher (last week) and one for students ( this week’s Tuesday)

This kind of tournament is always fun, we shout together, we cheer our friend, we laugh at funny things that happen, and most of all…we bond as one, we are a team.

Here are a glimpse of the fun on my school during our celebration of Independence Day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are the students🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are more games I couldn’t take picture of because I was quite busy. I was one of the committees.

The games were:

For Pre-K and Kindergarten: Take one flag at a time and put it in a bottle; Bring a marble on a spoon (special spoon for little kids), and arranging wooden block as tall as possible.

For lower elementary: Bring a marble on a spoon (normal spoon), Putting a pencil inside a bottle (the pencil is strapped behind their back), eating kerupuk (Indonesian cracker), Balap karung (racing in a sack)

For Grade 6 – Grade 8: Moving a glass of water using a kind of tablecloth, stabilizing a tennis ball with a pipe and rope (highly require cooperation); Flying carpet, Bakiak race (there’s a kind of sandal for four people, they have to walk together at the same time or they all will fall), Eating Kerupuk (Indonesian cracker), Tarik tambang (pulling a rope in group)

For Grade 9 – Grade 10: Moving a glass of water using a kind of tablecloth, stabilizing a tennis ball with a pipe and rope (highly require cooperation); Flying carpet, Eating Kerupuk (Indonesian cracker), Tarik tambang (pulling a rope in group)

The games were all fun and most of my students enjoyed the games. 17 Agustusan is NEVER about winning, it’s more about the fun…tho it would be extra fun to win🙂

My class (I am their homeroom teacher) won 3 games \(^_^)/

Me and my class

Me and my class

That was a very tiring day but also very fun🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 comments on “Celebrating Indonesian Independence Day – Lots of Fun at School

  1. Beth Ann
    August 29, 2013

    What a great post to get a glimpse into this celebration! Thanks for sharing and good for your class on the 3 wins!!

    • Novroz
      August 30, 2013

      Thank you Beth🙂
      Celebration is always fun and I am glad that tho the students are mostly from very rich family and the prize was not expensive…they still did the games wholeheartedly. It showed that they enjoy the celebration🙂

  2. Alice Audrey
    August 29, 2013

    It looks like a lot of fun, tiring or not. It’s been years and years since I’ve done tug-o-war, and last time I did a spoon race it was with an egg.

    • Novroz
      August 31, 2013

      Ah yes!! I kept thinking what was the word for tarik tambang…it’s tug-a-war🙂 I will edit my post soon. Thank you Audrey🙂

      We avoid egg because it would get very messy. And yes it was really fun🙂

      • Alice Audrey
        September 16, 2013

        I want to try eating something dangling like that. It looks fun.

        • Novroz
          September 16, 2013

          It’s difficult. The English teacher who is an American said that it looks fun at first, but it’s actually very hard.

  3. Nekoneko
    August 29, 2013

    I can see that you had lots of fun with your new kids… way to go Novia!

    It is great that this year lets you celebrate this festival together as their new teacher. It will give them all the chance to bond with you even closer knowing that you can enjoy play with them as well as instruct them at lessons. “All work and no play”…. 😉

    • Novroz
      September 1, 2013

      Thank you Miyuki🙂
      Yes, it was a great moment to have fun with my students and fun always made people bond closer🙂

  4. Tim The Film Guy
    August 30, 2013

    Looks fun😀

  5. Theresa
    August 31, 2013

    Looks and sounds like you had a great day! Happy belated Independence Day🙂

    • Novroz
      September 1, 2013

      Thank you Theresa🙂
      Yes we all had a great day that day🙂

  6. ruth
    August 31, 2013

    Ohhh, sooo much fun Nov! I miss those upacara, ahah, no not really😀 I LOVE LOVE krupuk, I’d probably win that competition in a heart beat, ahahaha

    • Novroz
      September 1, 2013

      Hahaha…I haven’t had tat Upacara since I started teaching in private schools🙂

      Hahahaha the winner is not just about loving kerupuk but also ability to eat kerupuk without using hands😉

  7. Binky
    August 31, 2013

    Nice to see what you did to celebrate your independence day!

  8. snoopys@snoopysdogblog
    September 3, 2013

    A fun tournament beats fireworks for me any day! I hope you had a fab time!

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2013

      We had amazing time, Snoop🙂

  9. Caroline
    September 3, 2013

    This looks like a lot of fun. I was a bit stunned by one picture. I thought those students look a bit old then I realised they were teachers. The cracker eating looks difficult.🙂

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2013

      Whuahaha…old looking students😉

      The foreigner teacher said that it was really difficult, he thought it was going to be easy. I never won this game even when I was a kid.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads