Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Five Favorite Fictional Biopic

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

Last week, my fellow movie blogger Ruth @ Flixchatter posted a very interesting post…so interesting that I decided to make it into my top-5 post. I was actually preparing another top-5 post but that one can wait. Ruth posted Favorite Fictional Biopic

First, the description of biopic (Wikipedia)

A biographical film, or biopic (abbreviation for biographical motion picture), is a film that dramatizes the life of an actual person or people. Such films show the life of a historical person and the central character’s real name is used.They differ from films “based on a true story” or “historical films” in that they attempt to comprehensively tell a person’s life story or at least the most historically important years of their lives.

The description belongs to real people…however I haven’t seen enough real biopic to come up with five favorite biopic. Fortunately, I have seen many fictional biopic and I have some that I love so much 🙂

Here are my top 5 favorite fictional biopic.

#5 Carrie

Carrie is an interesting character because she is actually NOT a monster. People around her turn her into a monster. The movie is interesting because we get to see the changes in Carrie. Although the movie doesn’t include little Carrie but the book explains how the torment from her mother shapes who she becomes. I hope the new Carrie can portray Carrie from the book like what Sissy Spacek did.

Carrie

#4 Iguchi Seibei from Twilight Samurai

Seibei is the most humble samurai in cinema I have ever seen. When I watch the movie, I can’t help feeling that Seibei really exist in real life. Seibei’s love for his family is heartwarming. There’s simply nothing to dislike about Seibei.

Seibei

#5 Billy Eliot

The life of little Billy Eliot is so wonderful. I love seeing how awkward he is toward ballet (at first) and then loving it with all his heart. Billy is an adorable character. I love watching every minute of his life and his love for dancing.

billy-elliot-

#2 Patrick/Patricia “Kitten” Braden from Breakfast on Pluto

I have seen many transvestite characters in movie but Patricia ‘Kitten’ Braden is the one I love the most. I love the life of Kitten so much and the love for her character and her life has made me a die-hard fan of Cillian Murphy. I love the movie so much, I have seen it more than 10 times since the first time I saw it back in 2010. It’s interesting to see little Patrick turns into beautiful Kitten.

Kitten

#1 Forest Gump

Forest Gump is the most phenomenal fictional character ever! It’s so enjoyable seeing his life unfold in front of us. He might be slow but he has incredibly warm heart. A movie focusing on one particular character can be bored, but that’s never been the case with Forest Gump. I love both the book and the movie.

Forest Gump

Those five are my favorite biopic because the characters are so interesting and the movies are very well done.

Do you have favorite FICTIONAL biopic too? Do share it in the comment if you do 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 comments on “Five Favorite Fictional Biopic

  1. le0pard13
    August 22, 2013

    Seen all of these, except for Breakfast on Pluto. I need to check that out. Thanks, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      August 22, 2013

      I love Breakfast on Pluto, this movie makes me love Cillian as an actor. It’s funny and Kitten is a lovely character

  2. Gray Dawster
    August 22, 2013

    I am pleased that Forest Gump made it into your top five, and actually I quite enjoyed Billy Elliot too, oh and Carrie… Hey you have a wicked taste in movies Miss, Novia but two others that should be in there, in my humble opinion is Shaun of the Dead I I know that you enjoyed that zombie film 🙂 ) and The Big Lebowski, both equally brilliant but for different reasons 🙂 I f you haven’t seen The Big Lebowski then it is one movie that I recommend, if you enjoy comedy and I know that you do, then this film will have you laughing more than once I can tell you 🙂

    Oh yes and you asked me what the Orient Express is…
    Well it is a nostalgic steam train full of romance, try to
    Google it and you will soon see what I mean 🙂 🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Novroz
      August 22, 2013

      As much as I love Shaun of The Dead but I don’t think it’s a fictional biopic becauae it doesn’t focus on Shaun’s life. It focuses on the zombie apocalypse.

      I never heard of Big Lebowski before…thank you for the recommendation, I will look it up later 🙂

      Thank you for explaining that here 🙂 I was just about to check my ‘comment I’ve made’ to check have you answer it or not 🙂

      • Gray Dawster
        August 23, 2013

        You’re right about the films, I forgot, sort of got carried away and over enthusiastic on letting you know the films that I like 😦 Sorry about that Miss. Novia. I hope that your day and evening has been lovely today 🙂

        Andro xxxx

        • Novroz
          August 24, 2013

          No problem Andro 🙂
          I guess this one is a very tough made up genre 😉

  3. Fenny
    August 22, 2013

    What a list you got here :)) OK, Forest Gump and Billy Eliot are definitely on my list too 🙂

    The other movies, let’s see…
    -August Rush (for obvious reason). I know this movie is not a biopic per se but I always love a story about a prodigy especially if the character is a music prodigy (I’m so tempted to put Nodame Cantabile here for the same reason only it’s not a movie). The way August tried to find his parents using his music, never lost hope was just great. Good acting with great score and songs, I could not ask for more.

    -The Terminal (which ironically was loosely based on a true story). Who wouldn’t love Viktor? The character is so beautifully written and as usual Tom Hank’s acting was brilliant. Plus the bittersweet ending..

    -The Shawshank Redemption (I’m pretty sure you know this story as it was based on Stephen King’s novella). This is one of the best movies I’ve ever watched. It was amazing to see how Andy could still keep his integrity despite living in a prison (wrongly accused).. and the way he escaped from the prison, it was just too awesome.

    -Life Is Beautiful. Guido is one the most amazing characters that I’ve ever watched in movies. The way he protected his son during their stay in a concentration camp using games and humors, I learnt a lot from his character.

    -An American Tail. I know, I know this is a movie about a mouse, but it was very interesting to watch Fievel’s journey from Russia to US, when he was separated from his family and had to learn to be strong and independent but still maintained the innocence of a little (mouse) child, plus the songs were just outstanding.

    That’s my list, I know these movies are not really “fictional biopic” but I still wanted to share this :)))

    • Novroz
      August 24, 2013

      The only one I haven’t seen in your list is an American Tail.

      I love the other four as well, they will be in my top-10 (unfortunately this is a top-5) especially Life is Beautiful and Shawshank.

      Thank you for sharing your list Fenny 🙂

  4. ruth
    August 23, 2013

    Hey thanks for the link, Nov! Well you already know my picks but I’m curious about Twilight Samurai, I like Hiroyuki Sanada in The Wolverine, though he’s grossly underused. Even though I haven’t seen him in anything I somehow knew he must’ve been a pretty well-known actor in Japan.

    • Novroz
      August 24, 2013

      Thank you giving the idea Ruth 😉
      I think you have seen him more than The Wolverine … he is in The Last Samurai (the main reason why I watch the movie in cinema). He is one of my favorite Japanese actors. He is a bit like Jackie Chan, he came from a martial art family. He is a master in Kendo.

  5. Alice Audrey
    August 25, 2013

    I thought Carrie was pure fiction.

    The film that impressed me the most recently is the movie about Abraham Lincoln that came out about a year ago. It made the man more real to me.

    • Novroz
      August 25, 2013

      Those five are all fiction, that’s why it is called Fictional biopic 😉
      I haven’t seen Abraham yet…Real biopic is a tough movie for me, there’s a time when I don’t feel like watching the history of a person I barely know but sometimes I feel like watching one. I can say that watching real biopic is a seasonal thing for me.

      • Alice Audrey
        August 29, 2013

        Doy *clunking self on the head* I saw “biopic” and totally missed “fictional”. My apologies.

  6. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    August 26, 2013

    I really enjoyed Billy Elliott – that’s a favourite of mine.

    Loved all these.

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2013

      Thank you Noeleen 🙂

      I love Billy too…such simple story but its simplicity makes it an loveable movie

  7. Caroline
    August 26, 2013

    I wouldn’t call any of these biopics, I’m a purist that way but I understand why you reinterpreted it. I love Billy Elliott as well.
    I’ve seen quite a few as it’s one of my favorite genres.Some I liked a lot
    Capote, Enid and Miss Potter, all biopics of writers.

    • Novroz
      August 27, 2013

      Well I did mention that they are fictional biopics 😉 Those movies are about ine particuler characters just like real biopics. I haven’t seen enough real biopics to make a list…tho I can easily mention my number one biopic is The Messager ( a story about Prophet Muhammad) I’ve seen more than five times and still enjoy it)

  8. Andina
    August 27, 2013

    Who could hate Forrest Gump? They play on TV and everyone will gather and watch it! I really need to see Carrie. And I kind of ignored Billy Elliot since my friend said it was boring (maybe I should just see it!)

    • Novroz
      August 28, 2013

      What??? Oh my God something is wrong with your friend 😉 Billy Elliot is amazing, I really love that movie. Simple life but very warm. I think you will like it.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,524 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads